We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming time machine”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2011

After being greeted with great enthusiasm by host Clara, she showed us the premises: hotel bar where you just take what you want and make a note of it, book exchange where you can borrow books in lots of languages, cosy restaurant, chill out area with lots of DVDs, CDs and magazines, not o mention the rooms themselves: like entering a time machine to a time when things were not so fast: old travel suitcases and trunks, the bathroom design, which in our case had an amazing second to none new-but-antique-looking shower head. Free wifi in the rooms. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersKryger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Begur is a much nicer place than we had expected - quaint, prosperous, good restaurants and shops, and some excellent coastal walks and beaches a short drive away. The hotel was as good as previous reviewers suggested. A lovely old building, nicely fitted out, and run by nice people who seemed keen to please. Our only reservation is that it turned rather cold while we were there, and our room was a little chilly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for only one night to break a journey but would love to go back and stay longer. This is a lovely Spanish colonial feel property with style and comfort but not so modernised as to remove the feeling of staying in a lovely old property. The owners have thought of so many nice details - newspapers in the bar of all languages, beach towels and beach equipment (flippers/snorkels) available for guests to use for the day, free internet and WiFi, Honesty Bar available 24 hours - all at no extra cost. The location is both an advantage and a slight disadvantage - it is a few hundred yards walk to the historic centre of the town with all the bars/restaurants. However this also means that it can (depending I guess on your room) result in some noise from the church bells which chime every 15 mins throughout the night, and unluckily in our case, from early morning noise in the street below which can echo (on the night we stayed the refuse bins were collected at 04:00 !) However I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary/belated honeymoon trip. We spent three beautiful days and nights at the Aiguaclara Hotel and only have great things to say. I don't usually write reviews online - however this place is so unique and welcoming that I wanted to add to the chorus of excellent reviews. Clara and Joan go out of their way to make you feel at home in their beautiful hotel - it's a relaxing and elegant experience all in one. The atmosphere is welcoming and warm, the food is great - breakfasts are very good, the dinner at their restaurant was delicious and made for a wonderful night. We also loved the town and the nearby beaches - Begur is a wonderful place to visit and this hotel should be your first stop!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSH718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Had a two night stay in this lovely, homey and a bit funky hotel. The owners are hands on and make your stay comfortable and effortless. The rooms are large and well equipped. They have a large section of dvd's available as well as beach mats and chairs if you are planning to do the beaches. One of the highlights is the restaurant - don't let appearances fool you - it was probably the best meal we had on our month long trip. Fridays nights are music nights with a DJ spinning old blues and jazz - we were mesmorised by the variety of music - and apparently it turns into dancing but we didn't stay up long enough to see that. All in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goombaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have gone with our baby of two months and it has been a good experience. In my opinion the hotel is 'lovely'.... ;)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navarritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a 35 year Leeds University reunion in Begur, with some of us based at the Aiguaclara, where we found the rooms, decor and ambiance quite charming. Clara has an amazing eye for antiques, bric-a-brac and unusual collections, which complement the old, shuttered and elegant building perfectly. Breakfasts are good, with plenty of fresh fruit from the all-you-can eat buffet. The restaurant did a fine meal for 16 of us. We can also recommend the generous G and Ts. And we all enjoyed vinyl night afterwards, with the DJ playing a nostalgic range of our favourite tracks from the 70s. A special place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigChiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
729 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing