We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on the Costa Brava”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Reviewed December 26, 2013

You can't imagine a more scenic spot for this hotel nestled on a peninsula near Begur. We stayed two nights, eat breakfast and dinner at the hotel each day and was quite happy with the food and accommodations. I recommend asking for a room with the view of Begur as opposed to the ocean view as Begur is more interesting to look at. The beach at the bottom of the cliffs in a little bay is great for swimming too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Aiguablava
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is one of Paradores iconic hotel located on a ridge next to the Mediterranean see - Costa Brava. Rooms feature views either to the open sea or in the bay of Aiguablava, a small village. The Hotel waas built in the 60ies hence the style is quite typical for the area with wide structures in concrete and glass. Hotel lobby is wide open, large corridors are characteristic. The Restaurant's menus provides typical dishes from the region, but variation is limited. AC in the restaurant was out of service. The service is in general very friendly, restaurant service is sleepy. Lovely beach access in the bay of Aiguablava. WIFI access often week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wulf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved the views. We didn't have a car so it cost us to go in and out of begur and ended up quite expensive. Hotel was ok. Didn't have breakfast. What we paid for one night was expensive but enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Isolated but views are unbelievable. Don't go unless you have a car.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fabulous location, but that's it. Had fixed priced menu at 34 euro a head. What a disappointment and a rip off. Don't believe all the great reviews. Hotel is dated and way overpriced. Because of it's location you are forced to eat in the restaurant. What a let down!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 330Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this Parador three times, the last one being this September. We are also great fans of Paradors in general and have stayed in around 20 over the years.
The Parador at Aiguablava is in a stunning location and as far as I can see, all rooms have a sea view and are spacious and well equipped. They also have balconies. As a place for dinner, it is OK, but there are lots of very good restaurants in the area and the breakfasts are excellent and offer a massive choice.
There is also a very good pool and a bar area over-looking the sea. The staff have always seemed very helpful and efficient.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was large and clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location... HEAVENLY. Costa Brava is a gem! And this is the perfect place to discover it. One note: I am not a breakfast person, but the breakfast here was superb! Expensive but superb! If you are staying, try it at least once.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoltersfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 weeks in Spain. At the end of the trip we planned to rent a car and drive the Costa Brava. Our initial plan was to spend one night in one part of the area and the second night in another section. However on our first day, we arrived in Begur and stopped by the local Ti (5 minutes before they closed!) and the attendant was so helpful. She recommended several hotels in the area - including the Hotel Parador. This hotel was fantastic! It is situated on a rock outcropping, so every room appeared to have a view. The service was incredible and it was right above a beautiful little beach. We were so in love with the hotel and area that we decided to spend both nights here.
The hotel was clean, the rooms were a very decent size (the bathroom was huge by European standards), and local area had a ton of activities (hiking, scuba diving, swimming, sunbathing, window shopping) - that it was the perfect location. It was also perfectly situation to check out the local towns - such as Cadeques and Tamariu.
It was the perfect ending to a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
1.9 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $307 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing