We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is an amazing hotel with an amazing view from all the rooms on either sides of the hotel!!!the hotel is situated on a cliff..located a little on the outskirts of the province begun,costa brava!it was worth staying here....rooms are excellent...service is very good!!!one of the best places of costa brava..I must say

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dagaruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 650 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having previously stayed in other paradors and pousadas, my husband and I decided to celebrate my birthday (this year was a major milestone!) quietly but in style, at the lovely Parador de Aiguablava, on our way from the Pyrenees and Southern France to Barcelona. We could hardly have chosen a more appropriate and romantic setting to mark this momentous occasion! Our two-day stay in this lovely sea-side parador — a veritable haven, perched on a spur overlooking the Mediterranean, pink granite cliffs, lush vegetation and a small cove with a white sandy beach and multicoloured, turquoise-to-emerald water — was a dream come true. Our large room, with ceiling-to-floor windows and a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean, was peaceful and beautiful, and the food, a real delight. We wish we could go to the Parador de Aiguablava more often!

Room Tip: We loved our sea-side room (and would choose that side again!), but others may prefer rooms that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlena-3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I remembered the Parador at Aiguablava from trips to the beach opposite in the mid-70s and always wanted to stay there. I was not disappointed in any way. It retains much of the 70s style, whilst having been brought up to current standards.

The room was large and comfortable, with a balcony with stunning views of the Costa Brava facing Fornells. I believe from the location of the hotel all rooms should have sea views, but do check this in advance.

We had half-board, so ate dinner according to the daily menu in the main restaurant (the sea side Mar y Vent (?) was not yet open for the summer season) which provided choice of starters, main course and deserts. All was delicious and fresh produce. Breakfast was also a large buffet with some information on food intolerances such as "gluten-free" and nice coffee.

I would recommend this hotel with half board to all.

Room Tip: See comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deez60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been coming to the Parador for over 20 years. It is always a breathtaking experience.
The building is well maintained, the views from every room are beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are spotless and comfortable.

We found the staff very accommodating, both at the reception and room service.

Breakfast is wonderful, and, contrary to other comments, our dinner was very good.

The decor has changed over the years, from more of a local flavour to what I would call, functional, but that doesn't detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOppenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful stay in this fantastic parador set on a rocky peninsular overlooking the Mediterranean this hotel provide the perfect calm and tranquil break away from the hectic weeks work in France. We returned revived and restored and will hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Aiguabrava Parador must have picked one of the most perfect locations on the Costa Brava, and perhaps in Europe, overlooking a dramatic rocky drop to the churning blue sea on one side and a more tranquil bay on the other. We turned up without booking (early April) and were offered Room 230; although more than we had intended to spend we recognised that we had got good value from the moment we opened the door. Spacious and comfortable with picture windows and large balcony with a sea view framed by pine trees. A touch of luxury in the twin Jacuzzi bath and mini gym. Overall it could scarcely have been more peaceful, relaxing and therapeutic. We tend to avoid hotel dinners and try to seek out local restaurants but midweek in early April is not a good time for this on the Costa Brava, with most restaurants if open at all only offering lunch and evening meals at the weekend; so after a long fruitless internet search we decided to stay with the hotel. It turned out to be a good decision: a welcoming ambience and food of a quality, taste and appearance, well above average hotel fare, served faultlessly. The only complaint about breakfast next morning being that the amazing selection of food made choice, and commitment to healthy eating, very taxing. Oh, and the coffee – there has to be a down side and that was the tepid hotel style beverage that was sadly out of keeping with everything else. Overall this Parador is not plush but stylish and comfortable with a good feel from check in to departure. This is one of those few hotels that we really look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel facing the sea would certainly be our choice Room 230 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeNoudeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for nautical enthusiasts! In a great location, just minutes from the waterfront. The hotel is simple but offers good food and is very charming. The staff are lovely and very accommodating. A little expensive for what it is but worth it for its location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#11 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $271 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing