We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It is an amazing hotel with an amazing view from all the rooms on either sides of the hotel!!!the hotel is situated on a cliff..located a little on the outskirts of the province begun,costa brava!it was worth staying here....rooms are excellent...service is very good!!!one of the best places of costa brava..I must say

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dagaruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    216
    75
    29
    10
See reviews for
106
390
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having previously stayed in other paradors and pousadas, my husband and I decided to celebrate my birthday (this year was a major milestone!) quietly but in style, at the lovely Parador de Aiguablava, on our way from the Pyrenees and Southern France to Barcelona. We could hardly have chosen a more appropriate and romantic setting to mark this momentous occasion! Our two-day stay in this lovely sea-side parador — a veritable haven, perched on a spur overlooking the Mediterranean, pink granite cliffs, lush vegetation and a small cove with a white sandy beach and multicoloured, turquoise-to-emerald water — was a dream come true. Our large room, with ceiling-to-floor windows and a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean, was peaceful and beautiful, and the food, a real delight. We wish we could go to the Parador de Aiguablava more often!

Room Tip: We loved our sea-side room (and would choose that side again!), but others may prefer rooms that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlena-3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I remembered the Parador at Aiguablava from trips to the beach opposite in the mid-70s and always wanted to stay there. I was not disappointed in any way. It retains much of the 70s style, whilst having been brought up to current standards.

The room was large and comfortable, with a balcony with stunning views of the Costa Brava facing Fornells. I believe from the location of the hotel all rooms should have sea views, but do check this in advance.

We had half-board, so ate dinner according to the daily menu in the main restaurant (the sea side Mar y Vent (?) was not yet open for the summer season) which provided choice of starters, main course and deserts. All was delicious and fresh produce. Breakfast was also a large buffet with some information on food intolerances such as "gluten-free" and nice coffee.

I would recommend this hotel with half board to all.

Room Tip: See comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deez60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been coming to the Parador for over 20 years. It is always a breathtaking experience.
The building is well maintained, the views from every room are beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are spotless and comfortable.

We found the staff very accommodating, both at the reception and room service.

Breakfast is wonderful, and, contrary to other comments, our dinner was very good.

The decor has changed over the years, from more of a local flavour to what I would call, functional, but that doesn't detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOppenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay in this fantastic parador set on a rocky peninsular overlooking the Mediterranean this hotel provide the perfect calm and tranquil break away from the hectic weeks work in France. We returned revived and restored and will hope to visit again soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Aiguabrava Parador must have picked one of the most perfect locations on the Costa Brava, and perhaps in Europe, overlooking a dramatic rocky drop to the churning blue sea on one side and a more tranquil bay on the other. We turned up without booking (early April) and were offered Room 230; although more than we had intended to spend we recognised that we had got good value from the moment we opened the door. Spacious and comfortable with picture windows and large balcony with a sea view framed by pine trees. A touch of luxury in the twin Jacuzzi bath and mini gym. Overall it could scarcely have been more peaceful, relaxing and therapeutic. We tend to avoid hotel dinners and try to seek out local restaurants but midweek in early April is not a good time for this on the Costa Brava, with most restaurants if open at all only offering lunch and evening meals at the weekend; so after a long fruitless internet search we decided to stay with the hotel. It turned out to be a good decision: a welcoming ambience and food of a quality, taste and appearance, well above average hotel fare, served faultlessly. The only complaint about breakfast next morning being that the amazing selection of food made choice, and commitment to healthy eating, very taxing. Oh, and the coffee – there has to be a down side and that was the tepid hotel style beverage that was sadly out of keeping with everything else. Overall this Parador is not plush but stylish and comfortable with a good feel from check in to departure. This is one of those few hotels that we really look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel facing the sea would certainly be our choice Room 230 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeNoudeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for nautical enthusiasts! In a great location, just minutes from the waterfront. The hotel is simple but offers good food and is very charming. The staff are lovely and very accommodating. A little expensive for what it is but worth it for its location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
10.4 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Property: Parador de Aiguablava
Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing