We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best possible location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Grossostheim, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best possible location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Keep returning to this place despite some issues it certainly has. However, the location is unbeatable, on a rock in the sea. Access and parking is troublefree, internet works throughout the hotel without the need to logon in any funny way - perfect!

The staff is usually very friendly, you may find some exceptions, but that is maybe because of language difficulties.

The rooms are a bit dated but clean and kept in good condition. One of the "issues" is noise insulation, to hear the sea is fine, but to hear literally everything from the next room can be painful if you have noisy neighbours. The beds are comfortable, although I would prefer duvets instead of this sheet that covers a woolen blanke....but it is tradition in Spain, I know. The rooms are heated in the winter and the temperature throughout the hotel is comfortable.

All rooms have a small, but nice balcony, you can either have the side with sunrise or sunset view, could not figure out which one I prefer, bot sides of the building are somehow nice.

There is a private path to the beach, on this beach the hotel also operates an additional restaurant which has a very nice location. Unfortunately it is closed most of the time, only opens in high season. The best place for eating lunch is the nearby beach village Tamariu.

To have an afternoon drink on the terrace of the Parador de Aiguablava is a nice experience, high above the sea with a really nice view.

All over all I recommend the hotel to improve the noise insulation between rooms and to renovate the bathrooms in the not so far future. I am happy to return to this place again and again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    237
    82
    33
    12
See reviews for
115
426
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This parador, while impersonal as many paradores are, is rather unique in its setting. Located atop a large hill, it overlooks the Sea and surrounding cliffs in virtually all directions. Very quiet in the off season, it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery for a few days. It hasn't changed all that much in the 30 years since my first visit, and could do with a bit of refurbishing, but, again, the location makes up for the deficiencies. The rooms are good sized and comfortable and, while we didn't eat at the parador, it appeared to be typical parador fare -- higher priced and less charmingly served than local establishments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enough has been said in other reviews about the location and views....spectacular.

Reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

Bar food was fine, and the bar staff excellent.

However, dinner was a disaster. The wine was the only really enjoyable aspect of it. Perhaps it was because it was late November, but the Parador at Lorca was so much better a few nights earlier.

The area is beautiful, but we will not be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOURMET4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic position overlooking an azure blue bay. All rooms are comfortable - choose to look out to sea or over the bay. Service and excellent food of the high standard you would expect from a top end Parador. Great for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There can hardly be any better location for a hotel - almost like an ocean liner perched on the edge of a cliff on the rugged Costa Brava. We chose to stay at the Parador because my wife is a coeliac and must have a gluten free diet. All Paradors have specified gluten free options on their menu for dinner and the buffet breakfast offers an almost limitless range of excellent food for all. Hotels in Spain generally have this cracked and are streets ahead of those in France. The staff here were exceptional during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent room with a magnificent view of the bay. All rooms have this or a view out to see and its difficult to decide which is best. I recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an unusual location for a Parador as it quite remote, located on a rocky peninsular in a step sided bay. It is modern with generous sized rooms all of which appear to have balcolnies with sea views. It has a small outdoor pool. There are games rooms and a pool table.

The restaurant was good and featured a fixed price menu for about €32. Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of hot and cold food.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a modern Parador so it should come as no surprise that it lacks some of the ambience of others located in historic buildings, but I thought that the 1960s vibe was appealing. The restaurant is not well reviewed on Trip Advisor but when we were there I thought the food was very decent and, though more expensive that options in town, not unreasonably priced. We had one of the rooms which appeared to be in some sort of annex which seemed a bit odd but it was clean, newly fitted and large. The pool is pleasant but not huge for peak season. Overall this is a really good value option for this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_UKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
10.4 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Property: Parador de Aiguablava
Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing