We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Pleasure”
Review of Hotel Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aiguablava
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is exceptional. The staff are second to none the food is amazing and the accommodation is superb. The views to die for. My parents stayed here for their honeymoon 43 years and it's still as good as it's ever been. I love Chez Henri, the pool but my favourite thing is sitting on the terrace and watching the world go by in and out of the bay, from fishing boats to 50ft yachts. Worth a visit but please treat it with care as it's worth looking after.

Room Tip: The views are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

A wonderful spot on the Costa Brava. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with all of my questions and particularly when one member of the party had to leave quickly to respond to an emergency at home. I loved the breakfast although preferred the lattes from the waiter rather than the machine. Dinner was OK. Very accessible to walking trails and beaches. Many guests were from England.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the ocean in the main building are spectacular especially during a full moon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ssor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've have been fortunate enough to be coming to this hotel for over 30 years and it is Costa Brava's best kept secret! I can't say enough good things about the hotel, location, staff and atmosphere - at the same time I don't want too many people to know about this place as it's very, very special just the way it is. Thank you for some very fond memories AB!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susannah1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in early May on a half board basis with friends for a short golfing break. We had not been here since 2010 and the welcome and service were as good as ever. Food was even better and nothing could be too much for the staff. Special mention for Luis who just keeps on going looking after everyone. Breakfast on the terrace was a bonus but having to carry coffee and tea to the table irritates me.
Our bedroom had a balcony overlooking the main hotel , gardens and cliff walk and was spacious and always clean.
Aigua Blava is a great family hotel with a large swimming pool.
A cracking hotel to which we will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose a bedroom with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrankyNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is around 10 years since we last visited AB and the standards have remained as high as ever.

A high quality hotel, set in delightful gardens with excellent pool, very comfortable rooms, with stunning views, and most important, top level friendly service, lead in the restaurants by Luis, top man!

With very interesting menus, and a good sensibly price wine list, who could ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been visiting Aigua Blava since the early 1960s. Needless to say we love it! This is a very special hotel with a unique location; the service is unsurpassed and we visit whenever we can. The pool is gorgeous and you can swim in the sea so easily too, either off the tiny beach just beneath the hotel or off the "slab" - where you can dive into deep water safely. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the views stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed here in april 10 days - to be honest we were not quite sure what to expect - but starting the decent from the main road gave us hope - what a breathtaking view.
- arriving at the hotel told us this would be a vacation to remember - getting the room - top floor with the most amazing view added even more good karma.
amazing place - friendly staff and overall just great.
*****

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smussencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
10.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,220 reviews
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#11 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiguablava

Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Begur
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $32 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel with amazing sea views, located in one of the best beaches of the Costa Brava, Aiguablava, in Begur. Surrounded by beaches with crystal clear water and golden sand, and beautiful towns like Pals or Tamariu, the hotel offers its guests a charm that is hard to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing