We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gataway”
Review of Hotel Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aiguablava
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Gataway”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Perched on the edge of a stunning bay, everything you desire for a relaxing weekend , stunning veiws from the restaurant ,lovely quaint rooms and four star service. a little awkward to get there but well worth it.....

Room Tip: all different and individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 742millet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    133
    52
    26
    8
See reviews for
138
313
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in September 2011 and found the location excellent. The staff are exceptionally friendly and try to sit at a table supervised by Pepe for the evening meal . He is a riot. I can't agree with some of the comments made by Winnersrevenge. I would be interested to know whether or not he complained to the management.

The breakfast was superb and very varied. The evening meal offered a good choice and was excellent with some imaginatively cooked dishes. We stayed in the block at the end of the car park which was less than 100 yards from the main building. The air conditioning was extreme efficiently, the beds were very comfortable and the room size was adequate for two people. The room was very clean with towels changed daily. We never witnessed screaming kids everywhere. What I would say is that in my opinion the hotel doesn't cater for families with young children and it would be wrong to expect them to do so, as there is apart from the pool nothing their to entertain them. Also the location which is peaceful and relaxed is miles from anywhere. Over 90% of the guests were mature couples and it seemed that many keep returning, as they were enthusiastically greeted by the staff. Indeed many couples knew each other from previous stays. There was always sufficient car parking space and while I would admit that you have to keep a careful eye open not to hit the railings that mark out the parking places, but it is not beyond the whit of a careful driver to avoid them.

It is an ideal place to get away from the maddening crowd, but as I have said perhaps more suited to mature couples although younger couples who just want to relax should find the hotel ideal. What it is not is a beach holiday or a hotel with loud music blearing from a disco.

A car is essential to enable you to explore the stunning coast line and pretty villages.

My wife and I are definitely going to return.

My wife and I are independent travellers and have travelled extensively by car over mainland Europe during the last 15 years and have no connection with this hotel or any other. I am happy for Tripadviser to pass my email address on to would be guests.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, then book one in the block at the end of the car park overlooking the tenn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the best hotel in Spain that I have ever stayed in. Family run and very professional.
The staff are like members of the family and remember you from year to year.
Great Food. Excellent rooms (go for a junior suite+). Wonderful pool. and Snorkelling and diving off the rocks by the little harbour. One can swim across the bay to the little beach below the Parador (Which is very sad and institutionalised.)
We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandebosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Hotel Aigua Blava is in a beutiful location in the heart of the Costa Brava. It is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday or for exploring the nearby golf courses most of which can be organised directly through the hotel. The pool is excellent as are the other facilities and the staff are extremely friendly. The restaurant provides excellent food and specialises, not surprisingly, on Catalan cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Let me start with a few facts:

The food is atrocious, the menu to my knowledge hasn't changed significantly for 15 years and even if you eat off the A la carte, some of the dishes are bordering on the inedible.

The rooms are expensive for a hotel with so much wrong with it, £400 ish per night for a Junior Suite with a put-you-up bed for our son leaving little space to move around and you can't even open the mini fridge because his bed is in the way.

Most of the staff are very friendly indeed but the bad ones (and I'm talking about senior members of staff here) are nothing short of out-and-out rude.

The last time there was a major room refurbishment was about 6 years ago and the older rooms are showing their age. There is no way to run our shower without flooding the bathroom floor and soaking the loo roll and toilet seat - no matter what you do with the shower curtain. The air conditioning unit cools the room but smells strongly of urine for the first 30minutes it's operating. My son's fold out bed is looking ancient and unless you put your weight in just the right place you'll fall through the frame onto the floor.

There are screaming kids running around EVERYWHERE, at meal times, by the pool, all over the place, late into the night.

There is little by way of entertainment laid on by the hotel. You have two ping-pong tables which are just smaller than the regulation size and covered in pits and bumps, the paddle covers are peeling off and full of holes where kids have chewed the foam, the nets are always saggy and sometimes falling off. There is a tiny volleyball court which is used for badminton if you don't mind the saggy net with tennis ball size holes. There is a good salt water swimming pool and a hard tennis court, usually booked up by families and their kids.

If you're lucky enough to get a room with a sea view you may be just above the terrace where meals drinks and breakfast are served, there will be noise from here between 7am and 3am, so you'll need to keep your windows shut if you like peace and quiet. You may be unlucky enough to get a room in the block at the end of the car park, these are tiny and a fair walk from the main hotel.

Parking is sometimes impossible, the spaces are cramped and if you're not careful you'll dent your car on the knee-high iron railings which delinieate them.

Some of the outdoor furniture dates back to the 60's which is great if you like that retro look.

The glasses in the poolside bar are plastic, crazed and past their best, the coffee served in those plastic cups is almost un-drinkable.

I could go on and on listing these faults, but they ALL miss the point. The location and views are spectacular, the staff are the friendliest I've had the pleasure of meeting, this hotel LOVES families, LOVES kids and you will be made to feel more welcome than any other place on earth, the dinner and lunch is just poor, but breakfast is great (get up early to grab the last sugary custard filled croissants). Overlook the crumbly little failings and have the family holiday of your life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Winnersrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel exceeded our expectations, perched in setting far more lovely than any photo can capture. Our Jr Suite was large, clean and decorated very tastefully, with a fabulous view. The internet connection worked flawlessly, and the bathroom was clean, modern and actually luxurious. Our balcony gave us the ideal view of ocean and hotel property; and although it ALSO was directly over the dining terrace, we slept soundlessly and never heard any late night or early morning noise from other guests/activities. It was a peaceful and tranquil accomodation. This location is best for a relaxing family stay, or a romantic get a way. Come here to nap, read and gaze the the ocean. The beach cove on the property IS very small, and not very convenient - so if you have never been here before do not think you will be able to go for a walk on the beach or even get a beach chair. The pool area IS very nice and accomodating, with a full beach bar right there. We only had one dinner and one breakfast here, and the food was very good. The service and atmosphere are excellent, and made the occassions special.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarratt
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

If there is a more Family friendly hotel than this, we would be surprised.

We first visited in 1977 with 3 children aged 13, 10 and 6 and now they are returning with their own children.

We have just returned and there were 15 of us, with our 3 children ( now 34 years older ), their husbands/wives and 7 grandchildren. Enough said but we do not want it to change as the Management and staff are so welcoming.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea or the rooms under the terrace, formerly kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuirSSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
10.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
446 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiguablava

Property: Hotel Aiguablava
Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel with amazing sea views, located in one of the best beaches of the Costa Brava, Aiguablava, in Begur. Surrounded by beaches with crystal clear water and golden sand, and beautiful towns like Pals or Tamariu, the hotel offers its guests a charm that is hard to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing