We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful boutique in Begur.... BUT...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique in Begur.... BUT...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel was, and is, a privately owned property that was restored and turned into a hotel five years ago. Not a chain and proud to be independent. What sets it apart is the fantastic first floor relaxation area: three or four zoned areas - including games area, two lots of sofas and chairs, library area - with all sorts of interesting artefacts, paintings and design features. It has definitely been done with love and in every corner there is something interesting to look at. And as you walk up through this area, you are filled with warmth (literally - they light the fire in winter!) and calmness as you approach your room. It's really a lovely introduction to your stay.

And the room doesn't disappoint either. It's a good size and, in the case of our room, has its own balcony with table and chairs and sun loungers. Ours overlooked houses on the steep slope looking up to the castle and the view was incredible. The bed was a good sized double, crisp cotton linen, huge comfy pillows and floor mats so your feet don't get cold on the wood floor. There's an antique chest of drawers and wardrobe in the room, plus a tv and airconditioning/heating controls.

On to the bathroom and - first glance - wow, it's really big. Lots of storage space and room for your things. A good sized bath (not always the case in Spain) and a separate shower with glass panels and an overhead shower rose as well as a handheld attachment. It turns out the bath is a chromotherapy bath as well so when you're relaxing with your rubber duck you can pretend you're in Barcelona at the Montjuic fountain.

So where's the catch? There are two of them, in my opinion. First, and I'll never be converted to this one, there is NO DOOR on the bathroom so you cannot use the bathroom with any kind of privacy if you are sharing a room. Nothing, not even a curtain. This is not ideal for sharers or couples on their first romantic weekend together, or even for an old married woman such as myself. I'm afraid I just want to know that I can have my privacy in the bathroom and that's that.

Second thing they could improve upon: it would be lovely to have some tea and coffee facilities in the room. There is a mini bar there and there's also space for a little kettle and some tea and coffee.

Honestly, Mr Owner, we prefer these to things to be there rather than having colours in the bath that we get bored with after five minutes. It's so nice to relax with a cup of tea on your own terrace!

So on to food. The evening menu here is pricey. We didn't try the dinner, as there are a multitude of options in Begur itself. (Be careful out of season - it gets very busy). Breakfast is ok, just ok. The service staff are lovely (as are the staff in the whole hotel) and most accommodating. But I was slightly disappointed to see only croissants - no bread, no toast, nor rolls - they prefer to provide a more traditional Spanish breakfast of ham and tomato bread (wonderful, but we don't all want that kind of thing first thing in the morning).

There's a Jacuzzi and sauna (and steam room, which was not working) in a cellar with the most intimate lighting, it's so relaxing. We didn't try the hot tub on the roof, but would guess it's pretty good too.

So, in summary, we had the most wonderful stay at the Sa Calma. We would highly recommend it. Would I stay here again? Yes, if they bought a door for the bathroom...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    38
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
123
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
French Riviera
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Begur is a worthwhile stop often ignored by tourists heading further south. To visit the town and beautiful seashore we chose to stay at Sa Calma hotel. This hotel is in the middle of the old town right by a historical stone tower built to keep an eye on unwanted pirate visitors. Walking through town you will discover some large 19th century homes built by some locals who went to make a fortune in Cuba in trading.
Driving there is through narrow streets and parking is meant for small cars. There are 2 parking lots by the hotel requiring 90° turns with the garage access down a 45° drive way. Yes I did burn some rubber getting up the hill !.
The hotel pictures are real but don't convey the sheer luxury of the inside. The outside stone walls indicate this is a beautiful mansion but the interior decoration makes it tempting to turn it back in to a private home ! A nice touch is the top floor where
breakfast is served (as well as simple dinner dishes) in a closed in veranda overlooking the town. There is also access to the terrace when the warm weather permits with tables and swimming pool. Smokers have year round access ;>).
Service is kind and impeccable ensuring guests feel at home. Rooms are european size with an intimate decoration and the bathroom very nice and modern.
I would recommend staying there but do reserve as there is a limited number of rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Begur is an ancient atmospheric hilltop village close to some of the most wonderful coastal scenery in Spain. We spent 2 nights at this lovely old restored town house close to the village centre in November. Room was beautifully furnished with a terrace and fabulous bathroom. This is really a very upmarket B&B rather than a hotel - there is a lovely breakfast room and terrace on the roof. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection.

As we there were on a Sunday and Monday in November most of the restaurants in town were closed and, as Sa Calma doesn't have a restaurant, we ate both nights at the exceptional Turandot Restaurant, which was pretty much the only place open.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We Loved everything about this hotel. Pricey but we'll worth the experience. Beautiful village, colourful and pleasant, will definitely go back. Nicer experience than a city break. We were lucky that someone suggested begur to us otherwise we would have missed out on a great experience. Sauna was brilliant, Jacuzzi cold but also brilliant. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had superior rooms and didn't see any others. Our rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a splendid hotel this is.

It only has twelve rooms and all seem to be well appointed. We had a "Superior Double" - it had a huge bed and a spacious bathroom at the other end of a short corridor. The only fault was the close (too close) proximity of the shower to the toilet.

The first floor is given over to a series of open plan public rooms which are exquisitly furnished.

In the "cave" basement there is a heated jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room.

The wonderful breakfast is taken on the roof terrace. (In or out according to the weather). Dinner is also offered but during the two weeks we stayed there we only saw one couple eating.

The terrace also has an unheated jacuzzi and some sunbeds.

The whole place is very stylish. Visitors might like to view the outside north east wall - it looks as though it has been constructed by a Dahli-influenced architect/mason on LSD!

We love the place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. We only spent one night in Begur but would love to return, and soon! Nice sized room, comfortable beds, and nice bathroom amenities. The roof is just lovely on a nice night with views of the ocean and the castle up the hill. The jacuzzi is not warm however. Breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carabe520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau-Saverdera, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great little hotel ideally located in the center of Begur. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The spa / Jacuzzi is excellent located in a 'cave'! The bar and restaurant situated on a roof terrace has a great outlook with an outdoor jaquzzi. Well appointed and comfortable room and most important dog friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Property: Sa Calma Hotel
Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing