We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel ? yes, and home of my dreams ...”
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Begur is a worthwhile stop often ignored by tourists heading further south. To visit the town and beautiful seashore we chose to stay at Sa Calma hotel. This hotel is in the middle of the old town right by a historical stone tower built to keep an eye on unwanted pirate visitors. Walking through town you will discover some large 19th century homes built by some locals who went to make a fortune in Cuba in trading.
Driving there is through narrow streets and parking is meant for small cars. There are 2 parking lots by the hotel requiring 90° turns with the garage access down a 45° drive way. Yes I did burn some rubber getting up the hill !.
The hotel pictures are real but don't convey the sheer luxury of the inside. The outside stone walls indicate this is a beautiful mansion but the interior decoration makes it tempting to turn it back in to a private home ! A nice touch is the top floor where
breakfast is served (as well as simple dinner dishes) in a closed in veranda overlooking the town. There is also access to the terrace when the warm weather permits with tables and swimming pool. Smokers have year round access ;>).
Service is kind and impeccable ensuring guests feel at home. Rooms are european size with an intimate decoration and the bathroom very nice and modern.
I would recommend staying there but do reserve as there is a limited number of rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Sa Calma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Begur is an ancient atmospheric hilltop village close to some of the most wonderful coastal scenery in Spain. We spent 2 nights at this lovely old restored town house close to the village centre in November. Room was beautifully furnished with a terrace and fabulous bathroom. This is really a very upmarket B&B rather than a hotel - there is a lovely breakfast room and terrace on the roof. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection.

As we there were on a Sunday and Monday in November most of the restaurants in town were closed and, as Sa Calma doesn't have a restaurant, we ate both nights at the exceptional Turandot Restaurant, which was pretty much the only place open.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We Loved everything about this hotel. Pricey but we'll worth the experience. Beautiful village, colourful and pleasant, will definitely go back. Nicer experience than a city break. We were lucky that someone suggested begur to us otherwise we would have missed out on a great experience. Sauna was brilliant, Jacuzzi cold but also brilliant. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had superior rooms and didn't see any others. Our rooms were beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a splendid hotel this is.

It only has twelve rooms and all seem to be well appointed. We had a "Superior Double" - it had a huge bed and a spacious bathroom at the other end of a short corridor. The only fault was the close (too close) proximity of the shower to the toilet.

The first floor is given over to a series of open plan public rooms which are exquisitly furnished.

In the "cave" basement there is a heated jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room.

The wonderful breakfast is taken on the roof terrace. (In or out according to the weather). Dinner is also offered but during the two weeks we stayed there we only saw one couple eating.

The terrace also has an unheated jacuzzi and some sunbeds.

The whole place is very stylish. Visitors might like to view the outside north east wall - it looks as though it has been constructed by a Dahli-influenced architect/mason on LSD!

We love the place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. We only spent one night in Begur but would love to return, and soon! Nice sized room, comfortable beds, and nice bathroom amenities. The roof is just lovely on a nice night with views of the ocean and the castle up the hill. The jacuzzi is not warm however. Breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carabe520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great little hotel ideally located in the center of Begur. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The spa / Jacuzzi is excellent located in a 'cave'! The bar and restaurant situated on a roof terrace has a great outlook with an outdoor jaquzzi. Well appointed and comfortable room and most important dog friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very, very good for a small boutique hotel in a sleepy mountain town. Rooms are a touch on the small side, bathrooms are a decent size with nice new fittings. Hotel itself is lovely: right in the centre of town, well appointed with an indoor library and games sitting area and a room terrace with tables, loungers and a dip pool. There's also a small basement spa that must be reserved on an hourly basis. Staff are perfectly friendly and attentive.

For this town, the hotel is excellent, but on a global standard falls just short of the full 5 stars. I would definitely stay here again in Begur and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try to get on that doesn't face the square if you want to go to bed early.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#5 of 14 in Begur
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing