We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel is located seconds from the centre of Begur, with every restaurant you could wish for. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was wonderful. I would go back and I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    46
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
153
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here.. Drove into the heart of begur , climbing the hill gently to the mid point where signs take you to Sa Calma, tucked behind the main square and church of the beautiful town of begur. First things first.. Was greeted with the warmest welcome from Virginia who took me to my room, ses negres (all names) which had a terrace looking over the street and the perfect view of the fortress. Room was adequate in size, tastefully decorated, good comfortable bed, and a lovely bathroom.

Hotel has roof terrace and upstairs small restaurant, with cute sun lounger and plunge pool to cool off.

Ultimately though you're paying for the location. 2 mins stroll around the corner to all the best bars and restaurants of the town, without any of the hustle and bustle.

Weather was mixed during my stay, so didn't have the opportunity for sunbathing but during a thunderstorm and downpour last night , the place had such a gorgeous sense of calm and serenity to it, I could really understand why Sa Calma has such a great reputation in this town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations! We were looking for a romantic hotel for our 10 year anniversary and stumbled upon this hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside and is located in an awesome small village which is lively and yet sleepy enough to get rest. The rooms are tastefully decorated and even the small room is perfect. The breakfast was amazing, I still dream about it. It is not an American breakfast, but rather European with great Spanish meats, cheeses and breads. The people who work there are very nice and helpful. This place is truly a perfect getaway! I suggest going here if you need a break from the fast paced life. Lastly, the beaches are under a 10 minute drive and I am guessing during high season there are buses that take you down. Sa Riera is the least rocky of the beaches; most beaches there are rocky.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can spring for the high end rooms with a balcony, gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookefromBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Both the Sa Calma and the town of Begur get the highest marks from us. The staff was attentive to every detail, the rooms were charming, the public areas were absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the town was a fabulous way to start the day. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GriswoldFamily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at sa calma the first time was just after it opened.It still has the"wow"factor when you walk in.But like the 1st visit we had a few issues.We obtained a quote for 3 nights which we received by e-mail no mention of tax but a total cost price.When we paid the bill we were hit with 45 euros tax.Also they are now charging for overnight parking at 12 euros a night.I know a lot of hotels charge for parking but there was no mention of this when we booked.This is a 4 star hotel and i expect them to be on the ball on things like pricing.So the bill came to 90 euros more than we expected which took the shine off the whole experience.If it had not been for these needless niggles the hotel would have had a five start rating for presentation,rooms,breakfast,service would have the 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Drove into Begur without a reservation. When we walked into Sa Calma we knew we found our home in Begur. Meticulous detail to decoration and style. Very clean and comfortable. Right next to main plaza with restaurants and bars. Great view of the castle and bell tower from terrace (with sauna and breakfast cafe).

Claudia, the proprietor, was very hospitable and helpful. She was able to recommend the best restaurants and bars in Begur. We were very pleased with every meal. (you must try Cafe Juanita and its brick oven fish). In the morning, they prepared a traditional local breakfast with great variety and freshness. I cannot say enough how great this hotel is..And the rate was very reasonable for all this!

I am not sure why this hotel does not have more raving reviews, but I hope you will trust me when I say you will be very happy with this hotel.( we are experienced travelers with high expectations). You have to see it. Check out a few pictures attached.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Everything about this hotel was fabulous. Sa Calma is located on a very small one lane road near the center of the town. From the outside, it is very unpretentious. A small sandstone entrance with a gold name plaque. I found out that the hotel was completely renovated just under a year ago. It has all the modern amenities. Very nice artwork all throughout the hotel. There is a comfortable seating area around the fireplace (with an actual fire) with shelves full of books, and at the other end of the reception area is a unique sauna-hot tub area which looks like a cave. The rooms are not numbered but have names on the doors. Our room was very comfortable, good bed with very fine linens. Complimentary breakfast was served on the top floor, no menu but we were able to order eggs. We were given a variety of cheeses and a plate of thinly sliced meat, along with freshly squeezed orange juice and cafe con leche. Carmen the manager came up and brought me a Hearld Tribune to read. Everything was great, we came in the off season (lots of shops and restaurants still closed) but I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Property: Sa Calma Hotel
Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing