We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel inside and out”
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at sa calma the first time was just after it opened.It still has the"wow"factor when you walk in.But like the 1st visit we had a few issues.We obtained a quote for 3 nights which we received by e-mail no mention of tax but a total cost price.When we paid the bill we were hit with 45 euros tax.Also they are now charging for overnight parking at 12 euros a night.I know a lot of hotels charge for parking but there was no mention of this when we booked.This is a 4 star hotel and i expect them to be on the ball on things like pricing.So the bill came to 90 euros more than we expected which took the shine off the whole experience.If it had not been for these needless niggles the hotel would have had a five start rating for presentation,rooms,breakfast,service would have the 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Sa Calma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

Drove into Begur without a reservation. When we walked into Sa Calma we knew we found our home in Begur. Meticulous detail to decoration and style. Very clean and comfortable. Right next to main plaza with restaurants and bars. Great view of the castle and bell tower from terrace (with sauna and breakfast cafe).

Claudia, the proprietor, was very hospitable and helpful. She was able to recommend the best restaurants and bars in Begur. We were very pleased with every meal. (you must try Cafe Juanita and its brick oven fish). In the morning, they prepared a traditional local breakfast with great variety and freshness. I cannot say enough how great this hotel is..And the rate was very reasonable for all this!

I am not sure why this hotel does not have more raving reviews, but I hope you will trust me when I say you will be very happy with this hotel.( we are experienced travelers with high expectations). You have to see it. Check out a few pictures attached.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Everything about this hotel was fabulous. Sa Calma is located on a very small one lane road near the center of the town. From the outside, it is very unpretentious. A small sandstone entrance with a gold name plaque. I found out that the hotel was completely renovated just under a year ago. It has all the modern amenities. Very nice artwork all throughout the hotel. There is a comfortable seating area around the fireplace (with an actual fire) with shelves full of books, and at the other end of the reception area is a unique sauna-hot tub area which looks like a cave. The rooms are not numbered but have names on the doors. Our room was very comfortable, good bed with very fine linens. Complimentary breakfast was served on the top floor, no menu but we were able to order eggs. We were given a variety of cheeses and a plate of thinly sliced meat, along with freshly squeezed orange juice and cafe con leche. Carmen the manager came up and brought me a Hearld Tribune to read. Everything was great, we came in the off season (lots of shops and restaurants still closed) but I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Montse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaolaMireia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep D, Propietario at Sa Calma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gérard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reservar parking con antelación
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pablo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep D, Propietario at Sa Calma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#5 of 14 in Begur
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing