We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time dining room- good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Bonay

Can Bonay
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Peratallada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
PARIS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old time dining room- good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been especially attracted by the atmosphere of the dining room, which brings the diner back in time (at least) one hundred years.
Apart from the shock of being sent back in the past, the food was delicious.
Ask to visit the cellar, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZILLION8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    65
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for Catalan fare, and we loved it.

The service was prompt and friendly, the ambience delightful and the food simple, local and delicious. We had the menu of the day (5 courses), which was incredible value for 50 euro (for two).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were referred to the restaurant by the front desk person at the hotel we stayed. The food was great, the place is fantastic and the owners and the service was marvelous. Great ambiance, food, service, defiantly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Faith725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Royaume-uni
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have visited this restaurant for over 30 years. We have never had a bad meal, quite the opposite in fact. Josep's signature dish is Goose and Turnips, and in the game season he has pigeon, venison, wild boar etc. The tasting menu comprises around 7 different plates and is very good indeed. This costs 35 euros each for a minimum of two people. The variety of wine is extremely good and there is a wine museum and cellar which you can visit on request. Josep's brother Enric runs the front of house while Josep cooks, along with his mother. Their father also works there. Thoroughly recommended. Need to reserve for Sunday lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tramontana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Can't help ourselves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Okay, so we've been back to this very special spot at least 6 times now and there is no hope of our being objective! And, admittedly, this review is biased regarding other establishments in this very special medieval village because we LOVE this place. We LOVED it the first time we entered and we LOVE it still, 6 times later - over, now, a year!
What's to "LOVE"? Well, probably first the "place" itself - so simple yet so elegant and really beautiful. We used up lots of pixels photographing the room upstairs because the light was so perfect (and we were so delighted to be there)!
The food? Well, it was mostly all new to us. Wild mushrooms presented in a basket before their sweet sautee? (They are not psychodellic, though you might feel a bit otherwordly after you have eaten them!) Rabbit carpaccio? (YUM!) Rabbit ribs sauteed in lots of garlic and olive oil?? (Can't get enough of those little morsels!) Eggplant and langoustine casserole? (Yummy, yummy!) We were there the first times durig the wild game season and so there were all kinds of gamey offerings that were really good - wild boar, partridge, and other wild things (thank you wild things!) that were so satisfying!
Certianly central to our experience is the family who have been "running" this mecca for 75 years as of last year! We hope that their talent, corazon, hospitality and virtuosity continue for many more generations!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Bonay also viewed

Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Bonay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing