We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing lunchtime find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Coques del Pss - CLOSED

Les Coques del Pss
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing lunchtime find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Having been recommended another restaurant which we found to be closed on arrival we opted as a group of 10 to eat in Les Coques and to a man none of us were disappointed. 8 of us had the set-menu at €13 which was simply stunning for that price. Superb presentation, delicious well portioned food, and no surprise to any of us when we discovered afterwards that it was ranked no1 in Peratallada. Faultless, delicious, and a must if visiting the town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmart70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    128
    35
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Spa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A refuge on a wet night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We ate here twice and were delighted to find it open on a miserable night. Their onion "pie" - more like a soufflé - is very special. Their meat was very tender and full of flavour so I didn't feel guilty about twice having a rib-eye steak in spite of normally being more adventurous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea, ESSEX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italo-Catalan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been several times in this little town and tried few restaurants. This place had a good quality price food in it's menu. Staff really helpful, great service! Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank metge92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not very good Italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Unfortunately, we did not realise that this was not spanish cuisine, and so were always likely to be disappointed.

The food itself was not that good, and portions were somewhat small for Spain.

service was friendly and efficient.

Would not return, nor recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kmc1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xevill, Propietario at Les Coques del Pss, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

I would like to thank you for your opinión of our restaurant. All opinions, good or bad, are welcome as we continuously try to improveourselves and our restaurant.

Secondly I I would like to comment that our cuisine is not Spanish nor Italian as you mention as the title of your opinion. We have not promoted our restaurant as Italian cooking anyware. Our establishment has a personal and Meditarranean cuisine, includind Catalan, Spanish, French, Italian…

One of our specialities are the Catalan pizzas, made from the typical Catalan “coca” bread (in plural “Les Coques”, hence the name of the restaurant), with home made toppings. This type of bread is made especially and exclusively for us. We were the first in the province of Girona to “invent” these type of pizzas or “cocas” more than 20 years ago. We call them Catalan pizzas but the final product has n othing to do with the Italian ones.

The other speciality we added to our menu a few years ago is the barbeque with a selection of meats from diferent countries, like the Iberian pork from Spain, rib-eye steak from USA or the duck´s breast from France.

As I understand, unfortunately perhaps you thought that our restaurant was Italian os Spanish.

If you would like to eat a typical Catalan or Spanish meal I can recommend two restaurants, which I think are the best around this area, La Riera in Peratallada or Mas Pou in Palau Sator.For Italian in the village of Begur there is also a good one.

With these recommendations, I would NEVER recoment our restaurant to have an exclusively Italian or Spanish meal.

It would be kind of you if you could let me know with more detail your deception of our restaurant to try to improve our business. With negative opinions we can try to make things go better.

So it would be of great help if you could reply to tell me which dishes you actually eat to understand your opinion (we have a good name for serving generous helpins and a good cuality/cuantity/price). That is why we are supprised of your opinion.

Awaiting for your awnser, thank-you again,

Xavier Lladó Feliu (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have eaten here three years in a row several times, each time sitting outside in the square. Cannot fault the service and how friendly the staff are.
Very child friendly.
Definitely the best restaurant in Peratallada, we have eaten in a few! Recommend anyone who is visiting this area to talk a walk around this beautiful village and sample this lovely restaurant. Can't wait to eat there this year!
Last year twice we hadn't booked and turned up and they seated 10 of us and nothing was too much of a problem. 10 out of 10!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sykesy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Coques del Pss also viewed

Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing