We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!”
Review of Hotel Aatu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aatu
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Peratallada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were really disappointed by Hotel Aatu. Hotel Aatu is located very close to a country road with traffic at night. It resembles more a motel than a hotel. Rooms are not very hygenic (we found larger insects several times) and dark (hardly any natural light). The pool is spartanic. The location is very noisy. The quality of the food served at the hotel is average at best. Management is not very professional (on our departure, the manager was working at the reception still dressed in a bathrobe at 9 a.m.) and complicated. All in all: a rip-off! Should you decide to stay there after all: dont forget your earplugs - you will need them at night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank SAppel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelaatu, Gerente at Hotel Aatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

This is not a review; this is a full attack in order to damage our business and therefore has an explanation, a plain explanation.
These clients had booked with us for 6 nights in august. On the night of the second day they said to us they had to leave early next morning and go back to Liechtenstein, but that they were very happy with everything and would come back.
This sudden decision left us with no time to react in order to sell the room for the remaining 4 days; we have to say august is our most important season and the fact that they were leaving all of a sudden 4 nights before the end of the booking was a real harm for us.
With the legal regulation of the issue (Decree 53/1994, 8th of February, article 21) we were able to charge 40% of the 4 days they were not willing to fulfil. We always try to act in a fair and calm way and decided to give them a better treatment and charge only one extra day, so that both parts should loose with the unpleasant situation.
From the very first moment they didn´t accept any solution different than to pay what they wanted to pay, not one euro more of the two nights they had enjoyed, in a completely rigid approach and unwilling to accept they were getting a generous deal from us. When we showed them the legal regulation of the matter and understood they were wrong, went completely mad with words and behaviour we can´t describe here for respect. We understood this stupid thing could develop into a serious affair and when they heard we were calling the police they finally paid the bill.
This review comes from anger and resentment and for this reason can´t help anyone to know our place and our work. We fully reject these opinions that have nothing to do with our small hotel and just show of the people from where they come. Of course we are not perfect and completely accept criticism but this review only intends to make harm.
We’ve had a summer full with happy, kind, polite, generous, understanding, nice, good, lively, cheerful, warm, easy-going and uncomplicated people to whom we take advantage to greet and thank. BESOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Dear all,

We went with a few friends on a roadtrip to Spain. So we were looking for a hotel that offers clean rooms, a good breakfest and helpful staff. This you will find all in hotel Aatu. The hotel keepers are very friendly and give lots of information about the surrounding area. Although you can have a fantastic dinner in the hotel restaurant, they also suggest you some very nice restaurants in the surrounding villages. In that way, we had some greet experiences with local cuisine. Another benefit was that with their good advice, we were visiting places, a common tourist never would see or be...

The rooms are modern, big and comfortable. They bring fresh towels everyday and you even get slippers for the swimming pools. There are two swimming pools, surrounded by a nice garden. During summertime, this is a welcoming refreshment!

After all, I just want to say that if you are visiting the region of Girona/Barcelona, Pals, Costa Brava in common, this hotel would be a perfect choice!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartsaerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my parents. It was a wonderful experience. Bernat and Rune could not have been more accommodating, caring or helpful. The rooms were extremely clean and we all slept very well. (I am sensitive to dirty spaces, so I was particularly impressed with the level of care and pride afforded to the maintenance of the hotel.) Comfortable beds in a peaceful, quiet environment.

Breakfast was delicious. Great options, with yummy bread made by Rune. It was warm when he brought it out!

Rune and Bernat are happy to offer suggestions of villages to see in the area, as well as restaurants at which to eat. (They also have an Italian restaurant onsite.) Their English is superb.

(They have a wonderful dog, and we were extremely pleased to know they adopt from a shelter. The dog is happy to visit with guests, but also very unintrusive, if you're not a dog person.)

The hotel has 2 pools, set in beautiful surroundings. It is about a 5 minute walk along a quiet lane to the village of Peratallada. The walk and village are both charming.

The hotel is well situated to easily access a number of medieval villages, the Costa Brava, and Girona. It was the best of all possible worlds, with the peace of the country, but the location to access everything.

I can't say enough positive things about all of our experience. It was such a pleasure talking with Bernat and Rune. When we left, it felt like we were saying goodbye to friends. We will absolutely return some day, and won't have to give a moment's thought about where to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carribur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and found it really nice. I really can recommend it as a point of departure to see the Costa Brava and the surrounding area of Baix Emporda. The hotel is located only 10 minutes car trip from the sea and within walking distance from the beautiful little village of Peratallada, which was perfect for us.

The surroundings of the hotel are really quiet and relaxing. The hotel has extensive gardens with two swimming pools.

We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms with terrace which was very nice. The room was top clean and beds very comfortable. Both owners speak perfect English and helped us plenty with recommendations of what to do in the area. Best of all was the delicious breakfast buffee - great coffee, nice bread, ham, omelette, cakes etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soniko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rodolfo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank IvanaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La cama era un poco dura.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peratallada
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mas Rabiol
Hotel Mas Rabiol
#2 of 3 in Peratallada
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
#1 of 3 in Peratallada
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castell d'Emporda
Hotel Castell d'Emporda
#1 of 1 in la Bisbal d'Emporda
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
URH Moli del Mig
URH Moli del Mig
#1 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aatu

Address: C/ Afueras, s/n, 17113 Peratallada, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Peratallada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Peratallada
Price Range: $118 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aatu 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aatu, rural hotel in the Empordà-Costa Brava area, in the famous medieval village of Peratallada, close to the beaches and coves of Costa Brava. Ideal for golf, cycling, horse-riding, trekking; enjoy the recognized gastronomy, the beautiful landscape, the medieval architecture, and the life and works of surrealist painter Salvador Dalí. Aatu has a 7 acres plot, with gardens and terraces, 2 swimming pools,13 rooms, restaurant with open fire, bar, parking, 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing