We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Enchantment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Concord's Colonial Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Enchantment”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip as all the chain hotels were sold out due to the Stanley cup playoffs. The location is rich in history and the Inn was very enchanting. My co-workers were skeptical but I believe they also enjoyed the place. One co-worker stayed in room 27 which was used as a morgue during the battle of April 19, 1775. It was pretty funny when we found out his room was the morgue. We stayed three nights during the week. My room was on the second floor and was clean and spacious. The bathroom was updated. The queen bed was very comfortable. The room overlooked the square and since the weather was nice, I opened the window and enjoyed the cool evening breeze. After a long day of business, I especially enjoyed having a glass of wine on the Inn's front porch and just watching the world go by.

I would like to go back to visit on vacation with my husband and we certainly want to stay at the Colonial Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    181
    80
    31
    40
See reviews for
144
168
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very welcoming friendly staff. Some areas of the Inn are a little tired but it has a nice comfortable feel about it. Room was a little on the small side but ok as we were only stopping overnight. The less formal eatery was fine but I little pricey for what was on offer. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent with a wide range of food on offer sensibly priced. Stay again, yes if in the area.

Room Tip: Check location of room, street rooms could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tthis is a beautiful building with an incredible historic background. The front desk staff was very welcoming and kind, and helped me bring my luggage to my 2nd floor room (no elevator). As I got to the second landing, though, there was a "urine-like" smell- horrible. My room was spacious, with a very large wall mounted flat screen TV and the bathroom was updated with a black marble sink top and fixtures. Everything was very clean. The headboard and footboard of the bed were quite worn and the 4 posts were missing the finials, but the bed & linens were comfortable. I have to say, the AC was fantastic - it didn't cycle on/off all night and was quiet. There was a small vintage desk in the room(the finish was worn off in most spots-looked like they purchased it at a yard sale). There were 2 upholstered barrel-like chairs that were in need of a cleaning. The Inn had a nice feature for the restaurants- you could get take-out. I did and ordered the parmesan encrusted chicken breast, clam chowder and salad. All were delicious. I might stay there again, but I don't think I would recommend to any one who had difficulty going up stairs or any business travelers. I paid extra for a breakfast voucher, but breakfast started at 7:00 and I had to be on the road by then. The "Grab & Go" cafe offered coffee (pots were not marked- didn't know what was water, decaf, etc.) whole fruit, yogurt and tiny lemon poppyseed muffins. There were no napkins to be found.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a charming kind of person but there is no other way to describe this hotel. Located on the main square in Concord, close to Main Street. This hotel is a series of beautiful old homes that have been converted. It has a pretty nice restaurant. No room service. Free wifi. Plenty of parking. The rooms are small but well appointed. My bath only had a shower. Try to avoid staying on the parking lot side of the hotel. It's less scenic and the shipping trucks will wake you at 6am withe beeping of the deliveries. It's an old building so the walls are very thin. Try to get the 2nd floor as the first feels like your in a basement. Live music in the evenings rounds out with more charming.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The small and picturesque town of Concord in Massachusetts (not to be confused with the city in New Hampshire) owns a key role in the history of the United States of America. Only spent 1 night here (on a drive tour in New England), well worth it - very pleasant town, clean, pretty and people we talked to were friendly, and generally welcoming.

Although I've travelled in Europe extensively, this hotel was the oldest building I've ever stayed in - the main building build in 1716 (!!! This place was old when the American Revolution was taking place). Both as a type of hospital and an arms store (not quite 'legit' these days). The room was large (although the bathroom a little on the small size), well equipped and wonderfully comfortable bed. The only odd thing - was the floor not quite even (rare in hotels these days but so too is a 1716 built date), not a problem but I'm glad I did not have any more to drink.

The major plus here (apart from the history which permeates the whole Inn / Town), is the restaurant (in fact I see the same place listed in tripadvisor as a restaurant). The service was excellent, the food great and the atmosphere make a enjoyable dining experience - highly recommended.

First the

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Erding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having visited literally hundreds of hotels in cities and villages, over 40 countries in 5 continents, I now place the multitude lodging alternatives under a critic's magnifying glass, basing my selection purely on personality and the gracious resources available through TripAdvisor.

What a pleasant surprise it has been to find this hidden jewel, now in the Historic Hotels of America Directory, rather than lodging at your standard cardboard carbon-copy, ho-hum chain hotels.

The moment you walk into the lobby, you find yourself greeted with a sincere smile and a "what can I do for you" attitude beyond the standard check-in procedure. The rooms are fantastic (specially appreciated details such as the Starbucks coffeemaker), exquisitely decorated and the facilites, dating back to 1716, operated as a hotel since 1889, breathe history in a geographic spot that screams "location, location, LOCATION!" Not one but two very amenable restaurants and a well-stocked bar complement the facilities.

I lodged at the Prescott wing and slept like a baby, waking early to a vibrant cup of coffee, ready to walk Americana in the flowery streets of Concord. Excellent for a week-end getaway or a business trip to Boston (it's only 20 miles away). Enjoy the gusto of la joie de vivre!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaimeF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are not many hotels available in Concord, but that is okay because this place is quite a gem. It located at the center, a quick walk from the downtown with many restaurant options, as well as around the corner from the gorgeous and endless Sleepy Hollow cemetery. We stayed in a ground floor suite that was big enough for Lincoln. The rooms themselves are bit antiquated, but the bathrooms were very modern and wonderfully comfortable. It gets quiet at night, and they have the best breakfast in their restaurant. You can sit out front on the porch and feel like you're just passing the time in the 1700s. Its a great little place and I do plan to return to this amazing little town, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCOOL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
2.0 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
487 reviews
4.7 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
444 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concord's Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concord's Colonial Inn

Property: Concord's Colonial Inn
Address: 48 Monument Sq, Concord, MA 01742-1875
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Concord's Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord's Colonial Inn is a full-service hotel in the heart of the quaint, charming town of Concord, MA. Nestled between historic sites of the North Bridge and Walden Pond, the Inn features 56 hotel rooms, two restaurants, and several small function spaces. The Inn is dedicated to preserving the rich New England history of the area, while providing the highest level of comfort and service to its guests. Concord's Colonial Inn features fully modern amenities, a 24 hour desk, daily housekeeping services and private baths in all of its rooms and suites to accommodate both the business and leisure traveler. The inn features multiple function rooms ideal for corporate meetings, weddings and small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Concord's Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concord`s Colonial Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing