We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Bondir Concord - CLOSED

Bondir Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bondir Concord is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings-vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats-will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Bondir has 12-14 items on a menu that changes frequently. You can order 1/2 portion or a full portion. It's fun to share 1/2 portions. Last night my husband and I shared 4 and it was just right. There are great surprises in every dish - whether nettles, fava leaf pappardelle or halibut with shaved fennel, baby artichokes, mussels, saffron and absinthe. The service is friendly and attentive and the dining room is in a former fire station. Eat at the bar too. This would be a hit in NYC.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    25
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will go again!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A new experience in a new restaurant in town. Nice inside arrangement with a full view of the kitchen at work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

After several try's for a reservation we finally were able to secure a table on a Sunday evening. The food was way too busy and for us and the ingredients did not match up. Soup was bland. Pappardelle entre was minuscule with no sauce and piece of pork belly. Rhubarb
desert was a mishmash with rhubarb was undercooked and not helped by the various
other ingredients. Way overpriced all around. Friendly if pretentious service. Restuarant was about half full but noise level quite high. It was nice to try but will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAMXJER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
481 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good food for special occasions.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Okay, the menu is a bit pretentious, but the food is delicious and beautifully presented. The menu changes daily, and everything we had was tasty and well prepared. We each chose two small plates, and split a salad and dessert. Entrees are certainly unique, with a variety of ingredients, A pleasant atmosphere, with very attentive service. On par with 80 Thoreau, another fine Concord restaurant. Not inexpensive, so probably a restaurant for special occasions or an infrequent dinner. One complaint - the choices for wines by the glass are extremely limited.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Way over priced food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

While the food was delicious, my husband and I spent $125 on the food, not including drinks, and went home and had to eat leftovers; we were that hungry after we left. Yes, these are small portions (yes, to say the least) and you are supposed to order at least 4 of them... Our waitress did not explain any of this to us until we complained about the size of the portions, i.e. many portions are just 4 fabulous bites. The food WAS good, but we would have had to spend $$$$ to be satisfied. Wish we had known before we went there. It is for special occasions only, not a place where you make a regular stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bondir Concord also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing