We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mediocre Thanksgiving”
Review of The Colonial Inn

The Colonial Inn
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Mediocre Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were very excited to spend Thanksgiving at the historic Colonial Inn. When we arrived to check in for our reservation, there were guests waiting for tables overflowing into the same area people were trying to serve themselves from the buffet. It was crowded and unorganized to say the least. The tables were so plain, no candles, flowers.. nothing.. kind of lacking the festive spirit of an old inn and the holiday itself. Our waiter was ok, kind of a smartass, but none the less served us our drinks in a timely manner. The buffet was messy, the salads table was a kind of yucky, salad dressing everywhere, stuff looked picked over and runny. The main buffet was fair... again disorganized, food caked all over the utensils, food everywhere. . The squash was soupy, the turkey kind of dry, the paella waaay too salty. The mashed potatoes and lobster bisque were good. They really needed staff stationed as servers to keep the food stocked and the areas cleaned.. It made me feel like I was could have been turned off from eating at any moment,, The desserts were again, just ok. Seemed like things were made too much in advance.. stuff was either melting, or hard.. I should note that I really am not a "foodie" or a picky eater, but at 55 dollars a person, I expected a little more. I am sad to report this.. my expectations were much higher than the quality of the meal..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    173
    69
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Brunch much better than expected but $$$”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable brunch today at The Colonial Inn. The food was well presented in the buffet rooms, the service was friendly and attentive, and the ambiance was just delightful. I had done a formal tea years ago, and this was far nicer. Really the only downside is the price. The offerings on the buffet may make that worthwhile; there was smoked salmon, shrimp, roast beef; for a vegetarian who doesn't really want to eat "all you can eat" anyway, it is not a value on the food end.
However, it was worth it as a " special treat" and I very much enjoyed the freshly cooked omelet. The maple vinaigrette salad dressing for the field greens salad was out of this world! And the dessert table was full of good things as well, including huge strawberries with whipped cream.
Not the sort of thing to do frequently, but to start off a grand day out in Concord, perhaps with out of town guests, it far exceeded my expectations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamelCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in wonderful setting”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Following our visit to Orchard House we were in need of sustenance. We made our way here and we were not disappointed. We had a glorious brunch which was tasty and abundant and great value. It's a really lovely building with a great atmosphere. The decor is great too

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sindo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday brunch with my wife and her family. Food was very good with excellent variety. Service was great for a brunch buffet never had to wait for beverages to be filled or empty plates to be taken away. If you are in the area recommend for brunch.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Greasy, bland and overpriced. Iced tea was watered down. Fish fry was greasy. French fries were not even comparable to fast food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing