We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and atmosphere”
Review of The Colonial Inn

The Colonial Inn
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great experience and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful fall day in Concord so stopped in here for our 1st time. Lobster roll for my wife was awesome. The roasted chicken I had was great and filling.
Sitting on the veranda made the overall experience great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnZOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    164
    67
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This 1700s inn was top drawer! My husband and I both had the arugula salad with butternut squash and blue cheese-excellent! My husband had the scallops and I had the haddock with fingerling potatoes-- delicious and succulent! Then we topped it off with the bread pudding with salt caramel ice cream-- extraordinary! We will make it a point to come back here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveAGreatBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
381 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Colonial charm and ambiance”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Colonial Inn provides lodging as well as dining in a historic old building in the heart of downtown Concord, MA. There are two distinctly different restaurants and we much prefer the Liberty for its unique Colonial charm and ambiance. There are a couple of taverns associated with the Liberty. One in particular gives you the feeling you have stepped back in time 200 years. The other restaurant, located at the rear of the property, is much more formal and contemporary. There is also some outdoor seating for dining on the front porch at the Colonial Inn. Menu items are a bit on the expensive side but perhaps the charm of Colonial dining will outweigh that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern American dining in the middle of history.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We dropped in without a reservation on a Sunday mid-day in early autumn. There was a long wait for a table indoors, so we opted to sit on the porch in the brisk but not cold weather. Watching the people was part of the fun.

Our server was busy but efficient, and knew his menu. My friend enjoyed a glorious 8-ounce burger and I had a sandwich called "The Alcott", both delicious with sweet-potato fries. And we topped it off with a spiked coffee for dessert--perfect against the fall weather.

It was a good deal of food, in a comfortable, family atmosphere. Recommend a walk south to the Emerson and Alcott houses and the Concord Museum after.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruno1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Higher end restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited this place for lunch during the summer. The building is really historic and wandering through the hallways reminded me of visiting an old well maintained museum. Eventually, we reached the restaurant area. I found the service to be pretty good and the food was worth the price. Something interesting was that there appeared to be a bullet hole in the painting behind our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing