We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$25 a pound cheese... if they deign to serve you.”

The Concord Cheese Shop
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“$25 a pound cheese... if they deign to serve you.”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

As a strong believer in buying local, I started patronizing this shop when we moved to Concord. When they feel like it, their service can be good and you can sample many of the cheeses. Other times it would be charitable to say they are indifferent. On my last visit, and it may literally be my last, I got to wait over ten minutes for service while five employees milled about.

When I came in, there were two clerks behind the cheese counter. One was busy with a paying customer. The other spent five minutes with a customer who bought nothing, and then walked away to make a telephone call rather than wait on me. Another clerk spent her time filling a cooler with sodas. A third clerk came from the back, walked several times behind the cheese counter, ignoring me each time. The clerk serving the customer several times asked for someone to come help me and he was ignored. Only when several other customers were waiting as well did a fourth clerk think it was worth coming to serve us. It was ten minutes before someone finally deigned to serve me, as the soda girl finally put sodas down..

The moral of the story is that if they don't care about my business, then neither do I. I will be buying my cheese elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thereyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    34
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“No seating, but a great split deli counter and extensive cheese counter”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

You can sample exotic cheeses and patés, and write a record of you favorites, which they keep on file. Great fresh cornichons and a variety of local bakery breads. The deli counter makes sandwiches to order. An extensive wine section, with a large section of teas, pastas, mustards, and cookies/chocolates.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LDSPd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great assortment”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This might be the best place to grab lunch in Concord. Unfortunately there are only a few small tables and you have to wait for the warmer new england months to have a picnic outside. There's a great wine selection along with their fabulous cheeses and pates and the staff are most generous about letting the customers try whatever they like. There is also a small deli that serves great food including a Friday night dinner for two including a wine selection. I wish they would figure out a way to sell this for one person since many town folk are single and would certainly be interested. It's amazing to me how many great little treats they can pack into such a small space.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodforthought66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Veggie Jamies Garden sandwich and a hunk of goat cheese to go...”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Just the coolest little place in Concord. They have award wining cheese (unbelievable assortment). They know their cheese! This is the type of place you can pick up the perfect picnic basket supplies, homemade seasonal sandwiches, salads, desserts, wine, cheese and hard to find gourmet ingredients. I love getting a sandwich and finding a place to sit to people watch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2sisterstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Concord Cheese Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Concord Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing