We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of our vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 80 Thoreau

80 Thoreau
Reserve with OpenTable
80 Thoreau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Thoreau and Sudbury
Transit: Take the Commuter Rail to Concord on the Fitchburg Line. 80 Thoreau is located on the 2nd Floor of the Concord Depot.
Description: 80 Thoreau is a progressive fine dining restaurant set in the beautiful New England town of Concord, sourcing from local farms and offering genuine hospitality.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal of our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had the chef's special, all courses centered around corn and heirloom tomatoes. Wonderful. Our only problem is 80 Thoreau is 3000 miles from home so we won't be returning anytime soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    61
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu at the Chef's Counter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I went to 80 Thoreau at celebrate a birthday. We chose to have the tasting menu at the chef's counter. The tasting menu was 5-courses of delicious, expertly prepared food which included an amuse bouche with an accompanying mini-cocktail, an asparagus appetizer, a grilled sea scallop appetizer, followed by roast rabbit loin and grilled venison main coursed then a mini-dessert of mint ice cream with chocolate sauce ending with a panna cotta with strawberries, rhubarb and rhubarb gelato. Each course had delicious sauces which were highlighted with local ingredients. My wife had the wine tasting that accompanied the tasting menu while I had two excellent craft beers. The service was excellent..always there when needed but not hovering. The chef explained each dish and answered all of our questions. It was truly an outstanding dining experience which I would recommend to all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gem in concord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very popular hot spot in concord. If reservations unavailable try sitting at the bar same menu and great service. The burger is amazing and the appetizers are creative and beautifully presented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluedog38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, elegant, romantic, tasteful, understated...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had an amazing meal here on our anniversary. The staff is professional, friendly and perfectly attentive. The decor is beautiful. the food was totally outstanding. It was also nice to have an adult meal without any children running wild in the restaurant (almost impossible to find this atmosphere nowadays). My husband and I LOVED this place and cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Business Conversation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We needed a place to do some negotiating and found the bar seating area at 80 Thoreau to be a very good choice. The service was attentive without being nosy and the meal we ordered, from a combination of the regular menu and the bar snacks, was actually quite good. The noise level allowed for a conversation but the room still had that friendly and busy ambience to it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seadog14926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 80 Thoreau also viewed

 

Been to 80 Thoreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing