We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of 80 Thoreau

80 Thoreau
Reserve with OpenTable
80 Thoreau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Thoreau and Sudbury
Transit: Take the Commuter Rail to Concord on the Fitchburg Line. 80 Thoreau is located on the 2nd Floor of the Concord Depot.
Description: 80 Thoreau is a progressive fine dining restaurant set in the beautiful New England town of Concord, sourcing from local farms and offering genuine hospitality.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went for our anniversary, on a weeknight. It was crowded at the bar and noisy in the restaurant. We were squeezed into a tiny table where I ended up chatting with the people on either side of me because there was about an inch between tables. My salad was very salty...something so basic is hard to mess up but they did. My entree was better but was about $15 more than I should have had to pay for that quality and size entree. We probably won't go back

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tmini2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    64
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chic and trendy, yes, but also very noisy, expensive, unappealing food choices and indifferent staff. Once was enough. The experience made it easy to choose to go elsewhere in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kinma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Will return”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Based on a personal recommendation and the Trip Advisor reviews I booked in to the restaurant for the first of two nights we were in town. We enjoyed the room, our dinners, and the service so much I booked us in for the second night, where I opted for the more casual room and menu. I found the staff professional and the owners friendly and accommodating. I'm confident we will return over the next few years while we have a child in a Concord school.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanCareerExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved every bite”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were offered a 7:45 reservation on a Monday night. When we arrived early, we were seated right away at a lovely table. Our server made excellent recommendations, including a fantastic lamb confit appetizer that was not on the dining room menu. Definitely try the scallop crudo app and hanger steak entree. Yum! Even the chicken was delicious. Our server was very professional - there when we needed him, invisible when we didn't. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank acksummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food ba attitude”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times and the food was very good. However the management has become arrogant and seems to forget that they are located near a city and suburbs with outstanding dining options. Apparently the customer isn't always right nor even sometimes. While the food is very good we have not returned nor will we. Perhaps attitude will change if new competition comes to town but maybe not. We now vote with our $$ and go elsewhere

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 80 Thoreau also viewed

 

Been to 80 Thoreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing