We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"God's eye:" A Natural Gem for any Season”

Walden Pond State Reservation
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In order to preserve the natural environment, visitors are limited at this site, where Thoreau wrote his famous essays.
Concord, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"God's eye:" A Natural Gem for any Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Walden Pond is the goal of literary and environmental pilgrims from all over the world. Henry Thoreau's two year sojourn in a cabin on the Pond in the 1840's produced his blockbuster "Walden." I go to Walden to swim in the summer, to hike in the fall and spring and to ski in the winter. You can visit the site of Thoreau's cabin, go inside a replica of his 10 x 15 foot hut, or visit the Thoreau Society Book Store to shop for hundreds of books by Concord's world-famous authors: Thoreau, Emerson, the Alcotts, Hawthorne and Fuller.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel_Andrews28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    137
    43
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
239 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Just overrun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Its sad, but Walden Pond is simply overrun by its own popularity. Weekend days, even late in the fall, the trails are busy, the waters edge is populated and you never achieve the solitude that Thoreau wrote about.
The pond is still beautiful and wonderful swimming in the season, and the trails that leave the pond are worthwhile, but Walden Pond is no longer the place for a nice afternoon walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Live Deliberately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

As a booklover, a visit to Walden Pond was a must-do pilgrimmage for me when we were in the Boston area.

It was pouring the day we visited, but the other family members graciously hopped out of the car with me and sprinted across the parking lot and down the bank to look at the pond. It is just a pond, but my familiarity with Thoreau made it a spiritual experience for me.

If you've never read Thoreau, the park is probably still enjoyable . . . especially when it's not raining :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, not exactly peaceful at peak season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Walden Pond is a lovely spot, once you get out of a humungous parking lot, and has an easy trail that takes you all around the water, plus other trails winding away. We happened to be there at peak fall season, and a Saturday no less, so it wasn't what you'd call peaceful. Lots of chattering walkers, bagpipe players on the beach, and so on. We did get into the spirit and enjoyed seeing the original site of the cabin. My husband was amused to learn that Thoreau used to walk home every few days so that his mom could do his laundry. Anyway the pond is certainly worth a visit, but I'd try a weekday next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The "pond" is actually quite large, though you can walk around it in about 45 minutes. The parking lot is across the highway, so be careful crossing the street. There is a beach at the bottom of the hill that kids can enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bondoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walden Pond State Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Walden Pond State Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing