We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Siguenza
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,266)
Filter reviews
2,266 results
Traveler rating
1,069
810
255
87
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,069
810
255
87
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval castle superior room plaza mayor beautiful town open to the public worth a visit old town public areas rooms are comfortable cobbled streets room was large fantastic building large castle small city a wonderful place to stay food quality cup of tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,266 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in Sigüenza in the late afternoon of 5 January oblivious to the Spanish celebrations of Fiesta de los Reyes but thought that there was a surprising number of families with children checking in to the Parador...and looking slightly surprised to see a white haired couple with no visible children.
We went for a walk in the town and saw little groups of musicians on street corners and what seemed to be a general move in one direction. We had to follow, didn’t we? All was revealed when the three “kings” arrived by train - then mounted a tractor-pulled trailer to be paraded thought the town followed by an ever-growing crowd! We thought that that was all there was to it.
That night when we went to dine in the Parador we encountered swarms of little people in every direction - the impressively large dining room and the adjoining room was a seething mass of them. Notwithstanding this, we were efficiently served with courtesy and charm by the staff who had to cope with this seething mass, the parents, the appearance by the Kings (huge excitement), then a magic show and so on. We retired long before the littlest child was even starting to tire.
And, of course, breakfast the next morning was present-opening time with yet more excitement bordering on hysteria. One little chap latched on to my partner and took her away for some time, sharing his joy with her - she likes that sort of thing and returned aglow. We were then joined by his mother, a lovely lady who explained it all to us and who had been wondering what we were doing there and how we were reacting. Once again the staff excelled at coping with the crowd. One of your reception staff described it, very accurately, as being like “a small city of children”.
This was a wonderful start to our trip and a serendipitous introduction to another aspect of Spanish life: we were enriched by the whole thing. We have untold admiration for the staff and their organizational skills.
Oh yes.The hotel was lovely, as is it’s location; spacious, comfortable room with plenty of hotter and good pressure in the shower; we had the chance to do a little walking in the area and but to return for more; the food at both of the dinners we had was delicious and of high quality; the breakfasts were the usual buffets but better-than-average quality food.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ryetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadordeSiguenza, Dept. Recepción at Parador De Siguenza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ryetee,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your experience about El Parador de Turismo de Sigüenza via our TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you had a great weekend break with us and you appreciated our convenient location, friendly team members, and comfortable rooms.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Dpto. de recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on New Years Day having stayed with relatives who live in Spain. The setting is superb, can't fault the castle, town or room. However, the evening dinner, miserable service and follow up the next morning from the manager were poor.
The bread roll was very dry and there was no oil, vinegar or butter, although we later heard we should have been offered this. My wife ordered the Cod, I had the Lamb. Both are served without any vegetables or potatoes. I'm happy to accept this may be a traditional Spanish style, although I did question this with the miserable waitress. After ten minutes I was bought a saucer with 7 or 8 fries (although I hadn't ordered this). My wife was concerned at the freshness of the fish and the way it was cooked. I left some of my lamb, partly due to how fatty it was. A bill approaching 60 Euros is fine given the surroundings and how good the food should be, but this was one of the biggest dining disappointments ever.
We complained at the front desk and spoke to the manager the next morning. He dismissed our claims due to cultural expectations. He did refund the 3+ Euros for the fries!
We are happy, smiling people who eat just about everything, but this food and service was just rubbish, regardless of nationality. I wish we had taken note of similar comments and eaten in one of the restaurants in the town.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A7316DAdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandotizonhdo, Director Parador de Sigüenza at Parador De Siguenza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, which helps us to constantly improve. As for your words about your nationality and tastes, as I told you in person, Spanish cuisine has powerful flavors and your tastes may not be used to regional cuisines like Sigüenza. We hope to welcome you again and that you enjoy the Parador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Staff seemed miserable and not helpful. Meal was worst we have ever had at a Parador. Neither of us could eat the very fatty pork filet which was served with a small pile of overcooked cabbage. Replacement dish was not much better.
Room was nice and the bed comfortable.
Very impressive building.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank pthomp707778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadordeSiguenza, Manager at Parador De Siguenza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving us your comments. We are hospitality professionals who take pride in offering world-class customer service and regret not having achieved exemplary performance during your visit. Accept kindly our sincere apologies for any deficiencies you may have experienced.

I would like to assure you that we take your comments seriously and will do everything possible to ensure that similar incidents do not happen again in the future.

We hope that this incident does not prevent you from returning to our Parador and gives us the opportunity to show a true experience of Paradores de Turismo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Our stay in the Parador Castle, very exciting. Our bedroom was in a Tower, very spacious accommodation, of course the three windows were tiny but i could see out on tiptoe as im short but who cares. Lots of seating areas upstairs and down. Very friendly staff and the Manager was around quite a lot and very attentive. Stunning dining room for Christmas eve with lovely food, bar food was also really nice, try the pate and the queso cheesecake it was to die for. Walk down cobbled streets from the hotel into town, loads of walks from town, and we were lucky to see Storks on the Cathedral roof, plenty of restaurants within walking distance of hotel. Siguenza was a lovely place, we also went to Pelegrina 5 kilometre drive, did a 6 kilometre walk which was on the level beside the river saw lots of eagles and vultures overhead. Would definitely recommend a stay 10 out of 10 it was a very busy hotel but i guess everyone wants to stay in a castle.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadordeSiguenza, Manager at Parador De Siguenza, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

We can only thank you very much for the words you dedicate to this Parador and of course the team that forms the same, believe us that the greatest reward we can receive to our daily work is to verify that they are satisfied with our services.

We hope to welcome you again in this beautiful and magnificent Parador city. Best regards and we wish you a Happy New Year !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

This was to be our last night in Spain so decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the Parador de Siguenza. The hotel itself is impressive and tastefully styled to give a historic feel. The rooms are comfortable enough, though there are signs of offhand maintenance eg the bathroom door would not close, light bulbs spent, tissues stuffed into the air extractor in the toilet to keep it in place….
The staff we found to be inattentive, liked to keep you waiting, except for the barman in the bar who was excellent.
I have written a separate review of dinner in the restaurant which we thought was awful and would urge readers to take the advice to eat at one of the restaurants close by outside the hotel.
Breakfast was pretty dire too, everything on the hot buffet was swimming in oil and grease. The layout of the buffet had no "flow" so it was hard to find things. I think that the orange juice, in this country full of fresh oranges, was not freshly squeezed, but reconstituted!! Shameful!
This could be a dream hotel, the building is fabulous, but the staff and catering really let it down!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank polofeb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandotizonhdo, Director Parador de Sigüenza at Parador De Siguenza, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2019

We can't start without thanking you for reflecting your comments, which are the best tool we have for improvement. However, we would like to make a few small appreciations about your comments: The juice is squeezed every morning, I assure you that it is fresh and natural oranges, from this address before putting juice from other days or packed is not allowed to be put. The restaurant is based on a regional cuisine, and it is possible that your tastes are not in line with our offer that is very forceful. We will check the room where you are staying so that it is perfect.
Thank you very much for everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews