We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in the park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metate Room

Metate Room
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food in the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We ate here two nights in a row. The first night in the dining room which was fine but with a family of four we could not sit by the windows with the great view because those were only tables for 2. The next night the wait was a bit longer so we went upstairs to wait for our table in lounge. We discovered they served the the same full dinner menu upstairs and we were able to sit outside with an incredible view. We enjoyed our meal upstairs more than in the dining room plus the added bonus of a great guitarist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    148
    76
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Southwestern restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

One of the best meals we have ever had! The chef they have for the restaurant is amazing. We have been here before but never had this experience before. My husband had the cinnamon pork tenderloin which was so tender and flavorful . I tasted it, also. Our waitress recommended it. I had the corn dusted trout which was good. The food was placed on the plate like the expensive restaurants in Las Vegas and the view and the service was very attentive. The manager even comes around and asks where you are from and if you enjoyed your meal. Also, I would recommend the prickly pear margaritas. Can't wait to go back tonight for another meal to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in the National Parks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I were delighted by the excellent dinner we ate here's during our visit to Mesa Verde. The chef combines unexpected flavors in all his dishes making it an original dining experience in a lovely ambience with a view to match the name of the Far View Lodge where the restaurant is located. The service was warm, and attentive. Quite out of the ordinary for a national park meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aedesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kneeland, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pressure cooker host. Be firm fair traveller!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Six of us went to dinner here last week as we were staying at the lodge for a night. When we finally got seated (they weren't using all the tables because the kitchen couldn't keep up with the meals ordered by what looked like about half the tables being occupied) the host or manager immediately began pressuring us to order the most expensive meal. Seriously, he was like a stereotypically bad used car salesman. We chose a wine that we were familiar with and liked and he told us that it wasn't a very good choice that we should order the much more expensive bottle. I've been around the world to 25 countries and have rarely seen such a disgusting and shameless display of greed and poor tact. We complained to him about his poor taste and he sent another waiter over to finish our order! Aside from this buffoon, the meal was really good and the support staff were friendly but the start really soured the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best dinner in any National Park system”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have eaten at many of our wonderful National Park Lodge restaurants and found them only average until we experienced the Metate Room at the Far View Lodge, Mesa Verde. The whole meal was excellent! The atmosphere with Native American Artwork decorating the walls and view out the wall of windows was wonderful. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. We both had a nice glass of wine. My husband had the Cinnamon chili Pork Tenderloin and I had the Beef Tender Medallions...both so tender and delicious! We agreed it was one of the best meals of our 2 week trip! My advice is to have at least one meal at the Metate Room when visiting Mesa Verda.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metate Room also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO

Been to Metate Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing