We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metate Room

Metate Room
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very surprised to find such a fine dining experience inside a national park. Ate here two nights, great selection and all the food was wonderful. Combined with the extraordinary view, an experience that my wife and I will not soon forget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    150
    76
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whow would have thought”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent food in the middle of a National Park. Terrific service, and friendly neighbors. Reminded my of good cruise ship dining. Well worth it. Try the medallions of beef!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Whilst this restaurant is probably more expensive that those in Mancos & Cortez, the nearest towns, unless you want to drive 20+ miles this is your only choice. Saying that the food & service was excellent. You could not fault our waiter - he was attentive, friendly & efficient without being pushy. The food was cooked & presented well & a fairly good choice of main & dessert courses.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache Valley, UT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Prickly Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fine dining. Delicious food. Our favorite was the Prickly Turkey appetizer. If the lodge is full, you need to be in line before they open at 5:00, since they don't take reservations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SKJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutain West
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous, gourmet food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic dinner. I had the stuffed poblano pepper and he had a chicken dish. Both were gourmet dishes. The service was excellent, food was hot, wine selection good. The only issue is in getting a table at a reasonable hour since they do not take reservations. I recommend that you put your name on the list apx. 45 minutes before your desired dining time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snow_is_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metate Room also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Metate Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing