We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful village”
Review of Long House

Long House
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Most beautiful village”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Long house is less restored than cliff palace, and is in a quieter part of the park. This is a great place to feel you have gone back in time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Artaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is my third favorite of the cliff dwellings (Cliff Palace being the first, and Balcony House the second). Very beautiful, and easy to get around. There is a short ladder (10 feet if I remember right), a very easy climb. We really enjoyed our tour guide, Byron. He obviously knew his subject and had a good sense of humor. After the tour my husband and I got confused and got on the wrong tram back to the parking lot. Another tram will take you to Badger House. Back at the parking area, you can take a self-guided tour to Step House. It's a bit of a walk (not too horribly bad but steep in places) and has some of the most breathtaking scenery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eirlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This tour is on Wetherill Mesa and worth the drive. The look out points on the way back are worth stopping for as well (you can see neighboring states). This is a 90 minute tour so you don't feel rushed. We did a morning tour and it was beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was our favorite in Mesa Verde. The way down is a bit steep but the dwelling is amazing! There is a water source inside which was really neat and some awesome original art. Our ranger was really wonderful as well - we later ran into him at the Step House as well. This one shouldn't be missed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anniechapel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth seeing if you have more than one day at the park.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The road to Long House is away from the main attractions, but if you have time it is well worth the visit. Plan on taking your time to drive the winding roads carefully & at the end of the road you will park & get on a tram which takes you the rest of the way.
There is a long winding path down to Long House as well as some stairs but it was not a difficult entry. There were a few ladders in the Long House, but even a traveler with a baby in a backpack was able to navigate them easily.
The great thing about Long House is not only that it is a fascinating historical place to visit, but it seems that the tour is designed to allow you more access than many of the others. You can sit in the ruins & imagine what it would have been like to be there when it was a thriving community.
The hike back out was strenuous, but we were able to take our time & go at our own pace. When you're finished, you can choose to board a tram that takes you to other sites, or just return to the parking area. We were tired, so we returned to the parking lot. I would definitely do the tour again. Don't forget to carry water with you on the tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Travel10069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long House also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Long House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing