We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights in our class c motorhome. We stayed in the corner of the Apache Loop and enjoyed quiet campsites with a need for only a little leveling. The showers were clean and very basic, but nice after 4 days on the road. The store has a bit of everything that you would need and the staff were super friendly. I appreciate that they have dump stations with fresh water to refill. Really enjoyed the campground and the park.

Room Tip: The Ute loop has full hookups but it seemed a little RV Park ish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank redjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are many loops and almost 400 sites in Morefield Village Campground. I get the feeling that the park is far less occupied and busy than it used to be at its peak, whenever that was, since we were there in July up to the weekend and it was probably not even 1/3 full. This is also obvious by the vast number of uninhabited sites, many of which are overgrown/unused or even "abandoned" looking. These sites tend to be the totally exposed, small and close together spots near the beginning of the loops, and likely due to lack of demand have become overgrown as they are the least desirable. The nice thing about that is you have your pick of the more separated and or shaded sites with more vegetation, and can space yourself out among your neighbors. Some of the loops restrict your tent to a specific area, which in my opinion was a little small and restrictive but again, you can pick and choose spots depending on the size of your tent. Flush toilets that were stocked with toilet paper regularly, and faucet outside each building. Deer come visit frequently to snack on wild berry bushes growing around.

The campground store was perfect. Cute giftshop, good selection of beer, snacks and any other creature comforts you may have forgotten or didnt realize you would need (for a high markup of course). Showers and laundry - at least when we went - was free, which is very nice. But there is just the one location for them; next to the store. Also a cafe with seasonal pancake breakfast which we did not have the opportunity to check out.

The campground is the furthest away from the actual sites and ruins which was a little bit of a pain - driving 30 min to get to each place each day we were there, then back at the end, but what can you do about that? There is a gas station by the store which is great if you are staying there for multiple days burning gas and dont want to run out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loralyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were only here for one night but happened to have secured one of the very few campsites with full hookups for our RV. I understand that there are only 15 such sites in the entire campground. We did not use the showers at the park but understand that they are nice and clean, albeit, a drive from most sites as they are at the top of the hill by the entrance to the campground. There were flush toilets in good proximity to our campsite however, and we did use those as they were very clean. We saw several deer just feet away from our campsite. It was very nice to be right inside the national park and have such a nice campsite. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Even though you're inside a national park, you don't quite feel like you're in nature when you can take a short trail up a low hill and find a large paved parking area surrounded by a general store, restaurant, laundromat . . . even a gas station! A short trail in the other direction leads to a huge amphitheater that looks like it could seat a thousand! The tent sites at Morefield are really a mixed bag. Some are completely exposed and look like only the most desperate would ever consider them. Others, however, are surrounded by gambel oak, providing lots of shade and privacy. We arrived late in the day but ended up with a pretty good site, if a bit too small. In the quiet morning, we enjoyed watching muledeer wander into the meadows inside the campground and browse. In the evening, we ended up heading over to the oversized amphitheater and enjoyed an excellent presentation by Ranger PT Lathrop on the perils facing our national parks.
Of course, visiting the spectacular cliff dwellings is the main event for anyone coming to Mesa Verde and Morefield Campground does make a convenient jumping off point for the drive up the hill. The extensive fire damage on both Weatherill Mesa and Chapin Mesa, mostly from the 2002 blaze, is a bit sobering, but cliff dwellings themselves are so beautiful and mind-boggling that your visit will be very thought-provoking and memorable. For taking in a truly unique national park, Morefield Campground will do.

Room Tip: Whatever site you choose, be sure to not leave unattended any cooler, stove, utensil, or other item...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtimothyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staying here two nights. After checking in, you go around and choose your site. The woman at the check in counter gave us a few tips for secluded, shady, not too far from the bathroom tent sites. One of her suggestions was perfect. The weather was cool and windy in the evening with great star viewing, and beautiful during the day. Showers are clean, bathrooms are numerous. I'm really surprised this place isn't completely filled up, as it was definitely the best campground we stayed in over our 3 week across America trip.

Room Tip: You can choose your own tent site -- take your time and look around. There are so many options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were only able to stay here one night but will definitely be back! The campground was very clean and quiet. Every camp spot seemed interesting and special. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were nice and private. The camp store was fully stocked. The drive to the ruins was beautiful and did not take as long as we were told at the visitor's center. We went to the Far Lodge for dinner and drinks and to watch the NBA finals game. Everyone was super nice and let us sit there until the game was over. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed two nights tent camping. It was a great advantage being inside the National Park as it takes a lot of time to drive around to the different areas of interest and being in park starts you out that much closer.

Our site was fairly small but partially shaded with shrubs. After registering you just drive around to claim a site, no reserving a particular spot in advance. We chose a site close to the walking path that cuts through to the shower/cafe/store area and had reasonable wi-fi and good visual privacy from other sites.

The individual showers were set up nicely for families as there was a large bench to hold clothes or for a child small enough to need assistance, also plenty of hot water. Toilets, water spigots and dumpsters were handy. Showers and toilets were functional and in reasonable repair but not super clean (thus 4 instead of 5 stars).

Tents must be set up on a level gravel pad which we could hardly get our tent stakes into, the ground was so hard. Campfire ring had a grate for cooking. We had the cash-only pancake breakfast one morning; food was fine but nothing special. They do serve Starbucks coffee for $1.75, so that was a nice treat after drinking a lot of instant coffee on the earlier part of our trip. Cafe staff were friendly and helpful.

A couple hiking paths leave from the campground. Knife Edge trail was a beautiful, easy hike with lovely views and a helpful plant identification guide. Mesa Verde NP is a pretty strenuous place to visit, so a leisurely hike to watch the sunset was a lovely way to wind down the day.

I would love to return to Mesa Verde again and would stay at Morefield again for sure!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bookmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morefield Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Campground

Address: Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morefield Campground offers Single & Group Camping. The 267 Morefield Campground sites are located amid native Gambel oaks and wild flowers in a spectacular wooded canyon that’s popular with deer and wild turkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing