We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were only able to stay here one night but will definitely be back! The campground was very clean and quiet. Every camp spot seemed interesting and special. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were nice and private. The camp store was fully stocked. The drive to the ruins was beautiful and did not take as long as we were told at the visitor's center. We went to the Far Lodge for dinner and drinks and to watch the NBA finals game. Everyone was super nice and let us sit there until the game was over. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed two nights tent camping. It was a great advantage being inside the National Park as it takes a lot of time to drive around to the different areas of interest and being in park starts you out that much closer.

Our site was fairly small but partially shaded with shrubs. After registering you just drive around to claim a site, no reserving a particular spot in advance. We chose a site close to the walking path that cuts through to the shower/cafe/store area and had reasonable wi-fi and good visual privacy from other sites.

The individual showers were set up nicely for families as there was a large bench to hold clothes or for a child small enough to need assistance, also plenty of hot water. Toilets, water spigots and dumpsters were handy. Showers and toilets were functional and in reasonable repair but not super clean (thus 4 instead of 5 stars).

Tents must be set up on a level gravel pad which we could hardly get our tent stakes into, the ground was so hard. Campfire ring had a grate for cooking. We had the cash-only pancake breakfast one morning; food was fine but nothing special. They do serve Starbucks coffee for $1.75, so that was a nice treat after drinking a lot of instant coffee on the earlier part of our trip. Cafe staff were friendly and helpful.

A couple hiking paths leave from the campground. Knife Edge trail was a beautiful, easy hike with lovely views and a helpful plant identification guide. Mesa Verde NP is a pretty strenuous place to visit, so a leisurely hike to watch the sunset was a lovely way to wind down the day.

I would love to return to Mesa Verde again and would stay at Morefield again for sure!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bookmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are not in an RV or using a generator, avoid the electric hook up loops. The tent only area is less congested, much quieter and roomy. We screwed up and set up our pop up across from hook up sites...mistake. The campground is very nice and the showers are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PCflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We made an unplanned stop in Mesa Verde and were very pleased with the campgrounds. There was a semi-long wait to check in (but the women working the desk were very nice and friendly) and the nightly cost was slightly higher than average for NPS campgrounds, but it was made up for in the pretty sites and free hot showers. We had an awesome site that had a parking space by the road and a little path into a more secluded area with room for a tent and a picnic table and fire grate. We were right across from the bathrooms but it was still private thanks to all the trees. The free showers were amazing with a lot of room to leave your dry clothes and towel. They ran very warm and were clean. The store had a great selection of pretty reasonably priced food and gear with a microwave available as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We did book in advance but I noticed most people just arrived and checked in, it is first come first serve and you pick you own spot. It seems less than 20% full for us so we had plenty of places to choose from so you are definitely not on top of one another. We were welcomed with deer walking and eating casually through the campground. The store is fully stocked with everything you could need, even tents if you didn't bring them. What I found most amazing is that wi-fi here was better than any other campground or RV park that we have stayed in previously. Small thing but makes a difference. We would have liked to stay longer but had to move onto the next park.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

we spent one night in the park. We have read some of the reviews and we're not sure what to expect. What we found was quite delightful. The campground has 4 different areas all somewhat adjacent to each other. There are a few hookups which are hard to come by. the showers were free hot and clean. the Rangers were especially nice and the people who checked us in we're extremely helpful. We were here in May so it was quite green with shrubbery and well shaded from our fellow campers. It is a 16 mile drive to the ruins and a ranger station is next to the store and gas station for tour tickets. They provide a Golden Age Pass discount for camping sites which was great. Overall this was a great experience for a National Park Campground. Reading the poor reviews, we can only say that this is a good campground - it is not a 5 star resort or a back country secluded spot - maybe the poor reviewers were looking for one or the other?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent a night in our RV at Morefield, then visited Balcony House the next morning. We were able to park our trailer next to the gas station while we drove out to the ruins. Morefield is a great place to stay but is beginning to show its age. Bathrooms are clean and staff at the store were very friendly and helpful. Saw deer both days. Certainly its the closest camping to Mesa Verde and one of the better campsites for Mancos. The new visitor center is spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morefield Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Campground

Address: Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morefield Campground offers Single & Group Camping. The 267 Morefield Campground sites are located amid native Gambel oaks and wild flowers in a spectacular wooded canyon that’s popular with deer and wild turkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing