We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Campground
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good times!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We camped one night in the campground. We loved how beautiful the night sky was from our tent site. We had a picnic table and a fire pit right near our tent. We were able to roast marshmallows and look at the stars. It was wonderful.
There were only 2 drawbacks to camping at this park. The first is that it's really close to the park entrance, but not very close to anything else except for a couple of trail heads. So you definitely have to factor in drive time to any of the tours. The second issue was that the restroom area (while better than most campgrounds) still could use a little updating, especially in the showers. We did have hot water and it was fairly clean.
I recommend camping at least one night just to experience the quiet, the stars and getting to roast marshmallows and make s'mores with your family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wow, a National Park Service Campground with full hookups! We stayed here in June 2012 and it exceeded our expectations. Our site was in the Ute Loop, #165, which had great privacy (not all of them do) and was close to the bathroom. The sites are pretty well spaced out (compared to newer "tract campgrounds" that seem to be everywhere). Lots of native trees and large as well. The advantage about staying here was it saves you 10-15 minutes to get to the cliff dwellings. The bathrooms in the campground loops are typical NPS bathrooms- no hot water or soap- just sinks and toilets. That's OK with us as we have hot water and soap in our pop-up. The showers near the general store are old, but free. The General store is pretty minimalistic- just the basic things in case of emergency. They also had a on site cafe, but we did not eat there. The best part is that you actually feel like you're out in the wilderness- fantastic night sky, lots of mule deer all around, no cell phone or WIFI and the always popular Ranger led amphitheater talks in the evening. Also, you can buy your cliff dwelling tix directly from the on-site ranger station from 5-8pm, instead of driving 30 minutes to the Far View Visitor Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mountainscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
397 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The best part about staying at the campground is that you don't have to drive in and out of the park, which can take some time. We made a reservation for tent camping, but you basically just check in and then pick your camp site. It pays to come early as possible, because the camp sites are small and many do not have shade, so the good ones are picked off early. The campground has a general store, gas station, free showers, flush toilets, hiking trails, and an amphitheater. The showers were fine except not very hot, and there was no time limit on them. The toilets have paper but no soap or towels. We were lucky to have some violinists in the camp site across from us, so we were serenaded in the evening, and we took a sunset hike.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I really liked my 1-night stay at this campground. The bathrooms were clean with flush toilets and cold water, and there were plenty of them. Laundry facilities were great. The showers were so-so, but I took one at a heavy-use time, so that's understandable. They do have a grocery store, but the items are pricey and they might not have the variety you are looking for. This campground is about a 20-minute drive from both the restaurant at Far View and Cortez, so be prepared to make a long drive if you want something other than the basics in the grocery store, especially if you don't want to cook. Also be aware that there is no ATM near the campground either.

As far as the sites go, there's a good variety. I reserved my site online and then when you arrive, you get to drive around all the loops and pick a site you like. They do have black bears in the park, so proper food storage is necessary.

Probably the best thing about staying here is that the night sky is so, so dark. I've been to Alaska and the Yukon and other dark places, but the stars here were amazing. Also, the evening ranger program at the amphitheater is a must-do, no matter what the topic.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you visit MVNP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Facilities here are really great! Flush toilets throughout the campground with running water sinks and plenty of TP.

Showers are clean. There's a laundry mat. Grocery store is nicely appointed and even carries some camping gear you might near (particularly cooking stuff). There's also a gift shop (but all the gift shops in the park carry the same items). There's even a nice little cafe here that serves an all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast (with choice os turkey or pork sausage side) and starbuck's coffee.

Only problem: there doesn't seem to be a noise curfew. People were being loud all over the campground well after dark. There's no ranger patrolling here either, so if you have any problems, you'll need to drive down to the ranger station at the entrance (which didn't appear to be open at all during our stay).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lthornton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just spent one night at this campground last week and really enjoyed it. You are able to reserve a site online and once you arrive they let you drive around and pick out which site you want, which I love. There are a ton of sites - from fairly open ones with great mountain views to private sites completely enclosed in the trees. A lot to choose from really. The bathrooms were decently cleaned and had electrical outlets. Also at the entrance to the campground there's a great general store that sells everything from postcards to vodka, a laundry area, and a few rows of hot shower stalls.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We got a great site at this campground, very private, trees, we had a small open bluff where mule deer would come through for a walk and chew.

The campground staff were so friendly, which made me wish we had spent more time at the park.

The sites at the park are a really neat attraction for adults and I think kids could enjoy themselves as well.

Shower and bathrooms show their age, but then, if that is a concern, a hotel may be a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frugal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
5.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
8.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
9.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Campground

Property: Morefield Campground
Address: Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morefield Campground offers Single & Group Camping. The 267 Morefield Campground sites are located amid native Gambel oaks and wild flowers in a spectacular wooded canyon that’s popular with deer and wild turkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing