We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities but small camp sites”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The best part about staying at the campground is that you don't have to drive in and out of the park, which can take some time. We made a reservation for tent camping, but you basically just check in and then pick your camp site. It pays to come early as possible, because the camp sites are small and many do not have shade, so the good ones are picked off early. The campground has a general store, gas station, free showers, flush toilets, hiking trails, and an amphitheater. The showers were fine except not very hot, and there was no time limit on them. The toilets have paper but no soap or towels. We were lucky to have some violinists in the camp site across from us, so we were serenaded in the evening, and we took a sunset hike.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Morefield Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

I really liked my 1-night stay at this campground. The bathrooms were clean with flush toilets and cold water, and there were plenty of them. Laundry facilities were great. The showers were so-so, but I took one at a heavy-use time, so that's understandable. They do have a grocery store, but the items are pricey and they might not have the variety you are looking for. This campground is about a 20-minute drive from both the restaurant at Far View and Cortez, so be prepared to make a long drive if you want something other than the basics in the grocery store, especially if you don't want to cook. Also be aware that there is no ATM near the campground either.

As far as the sites go, there's a good variety. I reserved my site online and then when you arrive, you get to drive around all the loops and pick a site you like. They do have black bears in the park, so proper food storage is necessary.

Probably the best thing about staying here is that the night sky is so, so dark. I've been to Alaska and the Yukon and other dark places, but the stars here were amazing. Also, the evening ranger program at the amphitheater is a must-do, no matter what the topic.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you visit MVNP.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Facilities here are really great! Flush toilets throughout the campground with running water sinks and plenty of TP.

Showers are clean. There's a laundry mat. Grocery store is nicely appointed and even carries some camping gear you might near (particularly cooking stuff). There's also a gift shop (but all the gift shops in the park carry the same items). There's even a nice little cafe here that serves an all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast (with choice os turkey or pork sausage side) and starbuck's coffee.

Only problem: there doesn't seem to be a noise curfew. People were being loud all over the campground well after dark. There's no ranger patrolling here either, so if you have any problems, you'll need to drive down to the ranger station at the entrance (which didn't appear to be open at all during our stay).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lthornton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just spent one night at this campground last week and really enjoyed it. You are able to reserve a site online and once you arrive they let you drive around and pick out which site you want, which I love. There are a ton of sites - from fairly open ones with great mountain views to private sites completely enclosed in the trees. A lot to choose from really. The bathrooms were decently cleaned and had electrical outlets. Also at the entrance to the campground there's a great general store that sells everything from postcards to vodka, a laundry area, and a few rows of hot shower stalls.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We got a great site at this campground, very private, trees, we had a small open bluff where mule deer would come through for a walk and chew.

The campground staff were so friendly, which made me wish we had spent more time at the park.

The sites at the park are a really neat attraction for adults and I think kids could enjoy themselves as well.

Shower and bathrooms show their age, but then, if that is a concern, a hotel may be a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frugal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is what a National Park campgound should be. Friendly staff, large site, full hookups and abundant wild life. Although we had to make a short hike to showers, they were clean and plentiful. An out of the way destination, Mesa Verde and the surrounding area is WELL worth the drive. We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location inside Mesa Verde NP was convenient for seeing the sights, and breathtakingly beautiful in its own right. However, the design of this campground is a bit odd. The sites are kind of small, with only a few big enough to accommodate a family size tent and a sun shelter, and natural shading is lacking. There is also a lack of trails connecting different portions of the campground, so it becomes necessary to drive to amenities like the amphitheater and camp store.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minivandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
5.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,796 reviews
8.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
8.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
9.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
10.5 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Campground

Address: Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morefield Campground offers Single & Group Camping. The 267 Morefield Campground sites are located amid native Gambel oaks and wild flowers in a spectacular wooded canyon that’s popular with deer and wild turkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing