We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better places for the price…pass on it”
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This lodge has the perfect location if you plan on visiting Mesa Verde, but that's where the positives end. The rooms have been remodeled, but poorly. Its like slapping lipstick on a pig. The bathroom is cramped and you will not have room to move around. The bathroom took me back to my college dorm shower, but sadly my dorm had more room. The bed was comfortable enough, but the walls are paper thin. We heard the family next to us all night. I feel sorry for the front desk staff. Our phone never worked so we couldn't call to alert them to our neighbor's noise. When we checked out, the front desk was apologizing to a guest and on the phone with another guest apologizing. It appears that problems are the norm here. We asked for the manager to call us because we had been double charged for our room. It wasn't worth the $150, definitely not worth $300! The manager was helpful and nice and helped resolve our problems.

Save yourself the headache and stay in Cortez while visiting Mesa Verde. The lodge is dated, small, and full of headaches. Not worth the convince at all!

Room Tip: Kiva rooms are updated and have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wmtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful setting and loved sitting on the balcony just looking. We saw wild horses and elk run past. It's not an attractive hotel - the rooms set out like a motel but inside they were clean. The bathroom was small not much room to move around in but it's where the hotel is that counts. There was free WiFi which worked well. It was fine dining in the restaurant which wasn't our thing but the cafe which you could walk to served breakfast and dinner - which was more to our taste. The staff were friendly. It wasn't the best hotel that we had stayed in but you are there for the National park and that was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ghiana8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's wonderful at the end of a National Park day to know that you don't have to leave the park to sleep. You can extend your time exploring, instead of driving. In this case, the Far View Lodge is right on the mark. Plus, even though I'd read that it was nearly impossible to get a last minute reservation, it was no problem to get a room booked 2 days in advance. We took the standard room, not the fancier Kiva, and were so glad we did. The rooms are very basic, but the views from the standard rooms are spectacular. Can't guarantee that there will be a stunning lightening storm for everyone, but we sure loved the one we were treated to!
One thing to note: the check-in clerk pushed the fine-dining Metate room pretty hard, and didn't tell us that the cafe up the road served dinner (he did say they served breakfast). Fortunately we discovered it on our own -- and enjoyed it very much. Besides the price, it's a kid-friendly place, unlike the fancy option.
Overall, it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Upstairs has the best views. Rooms in the front buildings, on the same level as the registration bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This lodge is located in the middle of the park so it is a perfect as a jumping off point to visit all the archaeological sites. However, the furnishings in the unit we stayed in was VERY dated and it was badly in need of maintenance, i.e. large hole cut in drywall under the sink exposing the plumbing in the wall, flaking drywall around shower stall, holes in the curtains and dirty window sills. No A/C but a oscillating fan was supplied. On a positive note...... the vistas from the balcony were spectacular, the staff was super friendly, Starbucks coffee was provided for in-room service, and the rooftop lounge and upscale restaurant was especially enjoyable. Would stay again but only in one of their newly remodeled and air conditioned rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bmd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Far View, with two rooms. Room 113 is on the second floor and offered excellent views of the distant high prairie, mesas, and even more distant mountains down in New Mexico ... including Shiprock. Room 110 was on the ground floor, but still offered great views, plus an opportunity to get some good photos of hummingbird moths feeding on musk thistle nectar, a field mouse with a penchant for kettle chips (yes ... we sinned. We fed this particular wildlife), and a couple of cottontails.

Room 113 had two doubles, while 110 had a queen. 110 also had a two-person 'breakfast nook' type table (less the nook). Both rooms, while not large, offered enough room for two or three people to move about without tripping over each othe.

The rooms were comfortable. Leaving the main door ajar and the window and balcony door open created a very pleasant breeze through the room. By early morning, we really needed a blanket. The lack of air conditioning is not a hardship in any sense. Nor was the lack of TV, and the lack of cell phone service could be considered a true blessing.

The rooms were very clean. This motel is dated; it looks to be from the 70's or even earlier with 70's remodeling. It was in fairly good repair. The main door on ours was sticky and required a bit of jiggling to pull shut and to unlock, but the place is hardly falling apart.

The beds were quite comfortable.

The bathroom was very clean, with some of the best towels we have seen outside of a high dollar resort type hotel. Good water pressure and plentiful hot water were quite welcome after our hikes up and down the mesas.

We did not use the restaurants, though they certainly looking inviting, and the smells from the kitchens were quite tempting. We brought our own 'fixin's' for sandwiches and snacks. The refrigerator kept our cold cuts and cheeses very well, relieving the load on our cooler.

The balcony was small but adequate. Ours was equipped with a couple of chairs and a small round table; the downstairs room had a couple of chairs. As mentioned above, both balconies offered excellent photo ops. See the photos we have attached.

The only fly in the ointment was some confusion over billing, which has still not been completely resolved. We made our reservations through the NPS reservations website, which shows the standard room at $106 per night, while the booking page shows at $139. We paid the first night for both rooms as the deposit, but have run into 'issues' with charges for the second night; charges posting to our credit card account, then being credited, and another charge for twenty bux more being posted. This is irksome, but is a separate matter than our actual stay and our experience at the hotel itself.

Consideration must be given to the logistics involved in maintaining this type of property in this location; it's in the 'middle of nowhere,' a long way from suppliers and support resources or alternative lodging options. It could be a Taj Mahal on the mesa, priced accordingly, but all things considered, it's good value for what is charged, even with the price increase.

We would stay here again, and would recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MikeSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Checking in was very organized and friendly. The setting is outstanding. However the facilities that house the house the accomodations are in dire need of renovation. Furnishings are rather basic, the bed was very comfortable. However i was awakened at 5:30 AM by the roar of the adjoining room's shower. In addition most of the porch lights were burned out or not in operation making it rather difficult to see the room entrance and a definite challenge unlocking the door. Really too bad, this could be an outstanding facility, but it seems the company that operates this lodge for the park service puts profits before basic services.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Samftla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Far View Hotel is located in and is the only hotel in Mesa Verde National Park, making its location excellent to seeing the cliff dwellings in the park. The visitors center is no longer located near the hotel, so be sure to get your tour tickets at the visitors center prior to driving into the park.

I had a Kiva Room which was good with a nice outdoor balcony, It also had air conditioning but it wasn't really needed, even in july. The bed was a bit on the soft side for my taste but after a long day of touring the national park, it was welcomed.

The hotel grounds sit atop a hill and hence the name of the hotel, since from the hill there are far views into the distance This hotel is really more like a motel, in several buildings scattered along the hilltop. While some of the rooms may have that far view, many, including the one I had, had a view into some shrubs and the parking area and backside of another motel building, not exactly what I was expecting from the name. Still, it was very quiet and the balcony was enjoyable.

The lobby for the hotel was nicely furnished and the restaurant was exceptional. Staying at this hotel will cut travel time to the sites in the park and therefore should be seriously considered.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank USACityPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range: $129 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing