We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Far View Lodge was a fantastic experience. The location is perfect for visiting the park - you're just minutes drive from the major sites such as Cliff Palace and Balcony House. The view of the stars at night was incredible. We originally planned to stay in Cortez and drive into the park but on a whim we decided to check room availability and rates at the lodge - I'm glad we did. We got a comfortable room at competitive prices, good food, and the staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian101967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the Kiva Rooms : the view was just extraordinary, as well as the location (since it is very close to both Mesas). Dinner was a wonderful experience : the restaurant is really one of the best in Colorado !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CH-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at Far View during my second trip to Mesa Verde this past August. During my first trip to Mesa Verde, I chose to stay at a low budget motel in Cortez and the drive from the motel to the ruins took a solid hour and a half each way. Far View's location is unbeatable; you're within 30 minutes of any destination within the park. The room I stayed in didn't have a television, a/c unit, or cell phone reception, but there was an excellent wifi connection. The beds, decor, and appliances were a bit outdated for the price of the room, but I was still comfortable. While I didn't dine in the lodge restaurant, I did stop by the upstairs lounge for a few drinks and appetizers. The service was excellent, food and drinks were great, and the bar tender was very social. I would highly recommend it to anyone spending the night in the park.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank 3flushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family stayed in one of the Kiva Rooms, but only for one night. While the room was rather basic, it was clean and nicely decorated. The view and outside balcony was spectacular! Staying inside the park is very convenient for the tours and visiting the park. As others have alluded, this is the reason why you stay here.
The Metate Room restaurant was excellent and a very short walk from our room which was very nice. Watching the stars at night was awesome! Even in August, we used the blanket provided in the room to keep us warm while outside. The only disappointment was the lack of wildlife we saw and there didn't seem to be many hiking trails, outside the guided areas. The $50 credit (History with a Mystery promotion) brought down the cost of the restaurant to where it was great value for the quality and ambience.
However it was a great day and night and we would definitely go back and surely stay at the Far View Lodge!

Room Tip: Stay in a Kiva Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Far View Lodge sits just outside the gate to both mesas where you can tour the cliff dwellings. We toured one mesa the day we got there and spent one night at Far View Lodge and toured the other mesa the following day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd level and we could not have asked for a better view. Our room had a king size bed and a small balcony. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was a bit on the small size, but functional. There is a restaurant in the main lodge where you check in and the food was excellent. They do not serve breakfast, however just across the parking lot is a gift shop, coffee bar and cafeteria. Unlike some of the other reviews, our windows did not rattle and we did not hear any other guests even though the unit appeared to be full. The small refrigerator chilled our drinks down nicely and the coffee maker worked great. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinBev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was a typical motel room, nothing fancy, nothing extra. We did not get a room with A/C and we did not need it even though we were travelling in mid-July. We stayed here for the location. It is right in the park and what a joy to wake up and not have to drive an hour or more to get to " the sights ". I would recommend staying in the park and would do it again.

Room Tip: It gets cool at night so don't spend more on one with A/C unless you really need it. It was mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylRickTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Expensive for what you get but location is convenient when visiting Mesa Verde. Kiva room was clean though not modern. Tiny refrigerator, no freezer. No pool on property - hot tub would have been nice after hiking around ruins!

Room Tip: Kiva room with balcony has air conditioning. Enjoyed watching deer at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEODayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing