We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views all around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This lodge is in Mesa Verde National Park and is the perfect place to stop and rest after a day of cimbing and viewing the Pueblo Cliff Dwellings. The room was quiet, well furnished, and restful. We could look out the window and see the beautiful views. The lodge staff were wonderful and the Metate Room resturant served delicious food with great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    650
    400
    179
    83
See reviews for
518
814
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pros
Great location, right in the park
Reasonable prices for location $125ish
Comfortable bed, great water pressure
Great staff, very helpful
Great bartender, excellent beer selection

Cons
Rooms arent as stylishly appointed as they appear on the website
Internet was non existent, even in the lobby
Restaurant was expensive, all entrees were $24-35
Far View from our room was blocked by ornamental trees

Note on the bartender, I'm one picky dude when it comes to cocktails. The tequilla, prickly pear martini was perfectly balanced, slightly sweet and powerful, and yes, I know a real martini is with Gin or even Vodka.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Room is comfy and deer graze through the park at dusk. Yes, there is no TV, so be prepared. The cost is in line with nearby Cortez and you get to stay in the park. The entry to the park is a long way from cliff dwellers sites, so being right there is very convenient. By the way, the stars at night are spectacular her at the top of the mesa. I'd stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the wild horses and deer and the endless sky, to the plain clean and quiet rooms with no cell phone reception or TV - this is a calming retreat. Add the fabulous Metate Room restaurant and the excellent National Park it made for a rejuvenating weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of our favorite places to stay! The folks at Far View Lodge are friendly and helpful, but the locale does all the talking -- staying in Mesa Verde is an exceptional experience and worth the effort. Rustic lodge has nice, recently updated rooms with good beds, bedding. It's a 60's era lodge so our room was small but well done and nicely appointed with an excellent bath, thick towels and the best view.... spent hours sitting on our little balcony watching the deer and elk and just soaking up the silence. No TV, No cell phone service (for us - others said they got service) which was fine by us. Wifi worked well.
My only complaint was the restaurant - the wait staff is wonderful - very very friendly and professional, but the dinners we had there (4 dinners, one of which was appetizers/ soup) were only average though the prices were not. They are the only supper place unless you want to drive 25 miles, so we made the best of it -- even dessert (brownie and ice cream) was bland/ dry. The good news - breakfast (only served during the spring/ fall months - overwise they serve breakfast at another venue down the road) was good. Again, the wait staff is wonderful... only wish our food had been! They had only been open a couple of weeks when we stayed so perhaps their food game will step up as the summer progresses.....
Mesa Verde is an exceptional place worth taking your family to see -- stay in the park, camp or drive in - it doesn't matter - just make sure you see this treasure.... it's eye opening and magical.

Room Tip: Ask for a Kiva room or one of the newly remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A pure for-profit resort functions very differently from a Nat'l Park Lodge -- and Far View illustrates it. The NPS directs much of what the concessionaire has to do, what rates can be charged, and what maintenance has to be done. Many aspects are simply not at the concessionaire's discretion. But, every American wants to stay in the NPS Lodges; there's just something ingrained in our psyches that makes us want to return -- perhaps it's as simple as "America's Best Idea."
So, Far View -- a great local, a lodge that shows its age (partially due to the harsh climate in winter), with a young staff that is exceptionally mobile, willing to move from park to park, from job to job.
The Recommendation: of course, GO! If you aren't willing to sleep on the ground, this is the only "lodging" in Mesa Verde; you don't have any other choice (and it's a VERY long drive back and forth, up and down the mountain). Will you enjoy it? Yes, if you're willing to overlook a few things you might complain about at a different resort.
What counts -- the towels, linens and beds were clean -- the water was hot. The dining room was excellent. That's enough at a Nat'l Park to make it memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

You should expect rustic in a National Park Service facility, and the winters here are severe, but you should be able to expect a clean, well maintained facility. However, these dated units are being poorly maintained or neglected by Aramark, the private contractor that maintains them.
Aramark’s first goal is to make a profit. One way it does this is by skimping on maintenance. We stayed a few days into the season, so the problems we saw should have been taken care of in the off season before they opened.
In our unit, there were dark spots on the rug and it was gritty in places. The porch entry bulb was burnt out. Linoleum had been inexpertly laid to cover a depression in the floor and tacked down along the tub with a piece of unpainted molding. That, and the other molding installed in the bath looked like a DIY job to repair or conceal dry rot. The door sill was unpainted and starting to decay. On the sink, the faucet was leaking at the base. The heater was malfunctioning, and we couldn’t turn it off. The closet lacked hangers.
There are pluses. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and it’s covered by a white duvet. The towels are large and comfortable. The coffee is Starbucks. The view, of course, is “far,” and it’s a good one. In addition, it’s quiet. The walls are thin, but there are no TV’s and no upstairs rooms. Finally, the staff is first rate, especially the front desk staff.
Other—Expect poor to non-existent cell service. Broadband wireless is spotty. Both could be pluses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mesa Verde National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Property: Far View Lodge
Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing