We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Stay Only If Going On An Early Tour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Would Stay Only If Going On An Early Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

After a very long drive 15 miles / 30-35 minutes to Far View Lodge from the main gate of
Mesa Verde National Park we finally arrived. I was glad we made it to Far View Lodge before sunset for two reasons…the road leading to the lodge is narrow, windy and some areas have no guard rails and the sunset from the lodge is beautiful!

The Far View Lodge has 150 rooms on two floors with breathtaking views of four states. The front desk reception was pleasant and helpful. The lobby and restaurant was decorated in Western motif. There is solitude all around.

The carpeted room is approximately 350 square feet and includes

• a key verses a card key
• a king size bed with king sized pillows
• single sheets
• floor lamp on one side of the bed and a table
• lamp and regular clock radio (does not charge iElectronics) on the other side of the bed
• table and two chairs
• mini refrigerator / freezer
• dresser with six drawers
• separate area with a five foot rod for hanging clothes with attached hangers and extra pillow and blanket
• Formica topped sink with some extra countertop space opposite the clothes rod area
• coffee maker and supplies
• oscillating fan and since it was a nice cool night, having the windows open with the fan going was enough (good thing because there is no air conditioning).
• another separate extremely small room - about 30” x 30” of floor space + toilet and small shower. The toilet / shower room is so small that one person can barely maneuver in it.
To get to the shower you have to squeeze past the bathroom door. There is some mold in the shower.
• vent in shower room
• private balcony that runs the length of the room and has two plastic chairs
• hair dryer
• iron / ironing board
• pet friendly rooms
• smoke free rooms
• free parking (not necessarily at your door)
• free WiFi

The Far View Lodge does NOT have

• bottles of soap and shampoo but they do have dispensers with hand soap, lotion, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in them (unknown brand and had a certain yuk factor).
• TV
• night table on both sides of the bed
• clock radio that recharges iElectronics
• air conditioning in standard rooms (available only in the Kiva rooms)
• triple sheets
• cell phone service
• pool / hot tub

There is a restaurant at Far View Lodge; however, we did not eat in it. The gift shop is stocked with all the usual necessities and souvenirs.

It would have been nice to stay another night in Mesa Verde (total of 3 nights). We had planned on touring the Anasazi Heritage Center; however, we didn’t have enough time. There is enough to do to stay a total of three nights in Mesa Verde.

We would stay at the Far View Lodge again only if we were taking an early tour; otherwise, we’d opt for the Best Western - Turquoise Inn & Suites. If you have an early tour and are an early riser you can also spare yourself from staying at the Fair View Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peachessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    650
    400
    179
    83
See reviews for
518
814
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, OH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The staff were very courteous, helpful and informed about their property as well as Mesa Verde Park. The views from our private balcony are SPECTACULAR and make any other inconvenience worth it as far as we are concerned. This was a last minute choice for us so we were lucky they had a room available for us and we are so glad they did! This became a highlight of our trip!

There are 10 or so buildings with a few units in each building all with private balconies overlooking the great views of Mesa Verde park. The rooms are rather small, sparingly decorated and functional but to be able to enjoy the dark skies, lightning storms in the distance, deer and other wildlife walking 4' below your feet while sitting on your balcony makes the room amenities an unnecessary thought. They are well maintained and functional, that was our only concern. We enjoyed the first night so much, we booked a second night even though it was inconvenient for our driving plans.

Our ONLY complaint is that sitting on our balcony during the night, the porch lights from the other units were slightly disturbing to the views. We live in the city so enjoying the dark skies was a true treat for us and the porch lights, however necessary for safety, were slightly irritating. We would return in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: If you can get a building with no other buildings in the foreground, the views of the dark skies at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

you dont have another option in the park unless you camp, which i would love to do next time. the hotel rooms have really nice decor but are a bit dated. the hardest part about staying at the hotel for me was the dining options, or lack thereof and the strict feeding times. but the main reason we came to the park was too see cliff palace and see a bit of nature which i can tell you we certainly achieved. on our last morning when we went to park our car there were two huge reindeer just a few metres away from our door and i got to see my first ever double rainbow from the balcony at the far view terrace restaurant.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed one night, Oct 2. Had a room with a balcony and a great night sky view. The bathrooms are a shower and toilet, the sink is in the room entrance. A bit strange but not a big deal. Room was clean. The inroom phone didn't work, and no cell phone coverage. The restuarant and bar were so crowded that there were no seats, I had to just buy some fridge food from the gift shop and take it back to my room, but with the great balcony night sky view, I didn't mind.
To the best of my knowledge, if you want to stay in the park this is the only hotel. It was a bit more expensive than I wanted, but It was dark and I was tired and didn't want to drive out of the park to the surrounding towns. Overall, though, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The drive up to Far View is exciting with the quick and winding turns was well worth long drive. Once up the plateau, the views are too beautiful to describe. Our room had a small balcony, wifi and coffeepot. Great place to enjoy the changing colors of Fall and wild horses. The restaurant a bit pricey for the amount of food you get; BUT the hamburgers are great!
To avoid disappointment, always research before booking a NP room. I do so I'm always prepared with staples (bread, P&B, granola bars) milk & luchmeat (if a refrigerator is available), when there is a coffee pot for hot water take dry soups/noodles.
The tours are a great option, if you're not familiar with the park history or you don't want to drive.
Warning, don't buy the "Balcony" tour, if you aren't agile; plenty of people backed out after arriving and finding out about the steep steps and health precautions given by the ranger .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patti52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

In late May, my wife and I stayed at Far View for 7 days as our "base" for our Four Corners trip. Explored Mesa Verde NP, Silverton, Durango, Cortez, Moab/Arches NP, Canyon De Cheley and Hovenweep NM. Loved the trip, lots of driving. Mesa Verde NP is very nice, especially the ranger tours down into the ruins. Arches and Canyon De Cheley were the highlights. The on-site reaustrants/cafes are very good. The rooms are very small and uncomfortable. For a one nighter it would be o.k., otherwise its not much fun. If we had to do it over, we might of stayed in Cortez or Moab

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mesa Verde National Park hotels

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

"Basic" is being kind in describing the only real lodging choice in Mesa Verde National Park. We realized that we were not going to be at a Hilton or Holiday Inn, but we were not expecting Motel 6 either. The room was just that - a room with a very small bathroom. So small that the sink and only mirror were in the main part of the room. A piece of unfinished plywood covered the pipes under the sink. There was only one chair in the room and no other sitting space. We brought in a plastic chair from the balcony and made do. The saving grace of this place is the restaurant. We had two very nice meals from a menu that included several unexpected and higher end offerings. The second night we were very tired and just ate in the bar. The small plate "bar food" menu was different and we were quite satisfied. Although the food was very good, the restaurant and bar seemed understaffed. While we are reluctant to give high ratings for very basic accommodations, we understand that this is a park setting and we just recommend you adjust your expectations accordingly.

Room Tip: If you want a "view", be sure to mention it when making the reservation. We were unaware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_and_Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Property: Far View Lodge
Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing