We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mesa Verde in the fall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mesa Verde in the fall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have been to Mesa Verde before and always enjoy the experience. Being able to stay at the lodge gives you more time to enjoy the park when its less crowded. The rooms are very nice with great views and usually a visit from a deer each morning. the dining is great . We enjoy both the cafeteria and the dining room--gives you more options. Definitely would recommend the experience.
Judy G

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    650
    400
    179
    83
See reviews for
518
814
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

As most know who are visiting Mesa Verde National Park, it is remotely located with few options on overnight lodging. We booked at Far View Lodge so that we would not have to make the 20+ mile drive (each way) from Cortez, CO. It was a good decision to avoid extra drive time, however, the lodging at Far View was quite average and the price was high. We stayed in recently renovated rooms called "Kiva" rooms. The first impression of the rooms was good, but we soon found that the quality of the renovations was below standards. With that said, the bed was comfortable and the view was expansive, both from the terrace and from the room! In this case, the location definitely outweighs the concerns about quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueRoadsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a very enjoyable two-night stay at Far View Lodge recently. This is the perfect place to stay when viviting Mesa Verde National Park. The room was simple but very clean and comfortable. The main restaurant can be recommended for choice, quality and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed in 200 series Kiva room. View was nice (but not as good as the 100 series rooms) and really enjoyed sitting on the patio in the evenings . Room was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathroom was tiny but adequate. Reason to stay here is location, super convenient for spending a day or two in Mesa Verde without the long drive in/out each day. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get 100 series room for a better view (less obstructed by other units)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's a good hour's drive out from Cortez, into the park and up the mountain to the main visitor's center.
If your time is limited, just stay at the Lodge. You can get up early and get directly about the business of exploring this magical place.

Rooms are dated, but clean and quite adequate given the location. It appears that all the room have balconies, and views are expansive, although there is so much to explore at Mesa Verde, you probably won't have much in room daylight time to take the view in. The rooms have good Wi-Fi, but no TV (at least ours was that way) which was fine with us. June-Aug visitors might want to upgrade to AC equipped room, in early Oct, we had no need for it.

For diner your options are the Metate Room (a bit pricey, but with excellent food well worth it). Or
a bar menu which looked pretty decent too. Breakfast was decent and reasonable at the cafeteria.

The main reason to stay here is just the hand proximity to all the tours and trails in the park. Why spend 2 hours of your vacation day driving mountain roads when you just wake up and be there. Even the camping areas in the park are a fair drive from the main events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

OK the hotel looks a little worn on the outside. Inside the rooms are comfortable. Our Kiva room had no AC but in August we did not even turn on the furnished fan. There was no TV but at twilight we enjoyed watching elk and bear graze below our balcony and we would have seen more it those in the room above us weren't noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Firstly, I would like to respond to those reviewers who comment on the fact that there are no TV's in the rooms. This is clearly stayed on Far Views web site when you book a reservation.

Secondly, if you are visiting Mesa Verde National Park I would recommend staying in the park as it's about 20 miles from both Cortez & Mancos, the nearest towns, to the centre of the park.

I understand all rooms have balconies, ours overlooked trees & shrubs so a good place to relax in the evening. Much better that the usual view from a hotel window of air conditioning units/car parks/ waste land!

The only down side is that the walls/ceilings in the lodge rooms rooms are rather thin & you can hear anyone above/next door moving around but saying that our neighbours were quiet after 10pm.

The restaurant is good and a short walk away but breakfast is now served at the Far View Terrace Cafe & that about 10-15 mnutes walk from the lodge.

All in all a good stay.

All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Property: Far View Lodge
Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing