We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just has that good National Parks Feel”
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just has that good National Parks Feel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rooms are nothing special, but they are comfortable. As in real estate, it's all about location, location, location. Sunset and sunrise on your own balcony with breathtaking views. They now offer wifi and bottles of wine delivered to your room. The Metate restaurant at the main building is excellent. They still have no TV and limited phone...which is great for this place.
If you like the parks, you won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    709
    424
    191
    86
See reviews for
572
869
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The picture on their web site is the registration building and not the inn/room. Room was clean and comfortable (small shower and no tub) but reminded us of a temporary school buildings. If you have not been to Mesa Verde be prepared--it is desolute. The Lodge rooms are separate from the dining and registration buildings. You are on your own. The staff was helpful and friendly. The view from the room is that you can see forever; maybe 50 miles. This is not a great lodge of the west. Primary upside here is the location; don't have to drive 30 miles from Cortez or Durnago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSF4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Given it takes 40 minutes or so from Cortez to get to the top of the Mesa I guess they have a monopoly on the accommodation. The good : Not having to go back down the mountain every night, the view, the food at the restaurant, the quality of the wireless internet (in my room anyway). The average : the room quality (we had a kiva room) is clearly not to a high standard although you can't expect too much from a National Park lodge that only opens for 6 months a year. It was also quite small but clean and functional. Why the basin was not in the bathroom was a mystery. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Note there is NO TV anywhere except in the bar area above the restaurant and if the barman chooses to watch baseball instead of the Obama v Romney debate then that is all you get (go back to the room and stream it on the internet). Ultimately if I were to return to Mesa Verde I would probably stay again. Note that as most of the park is over 8000 feet you may suffer some early altitude problems so proceed with caution on some of the hikes they offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The King Kiva room was furnished something like a very nice cabin with rustic accents of iron and copper, a Pendleton blanket, tile floors and a very cozy pillowtop mattress with fluffy comforter. The sink area is tiny with little space for more than drinking glasses. The shower was phonebooth size. The room was clean and the lighting was adequate. We had a fabulous view with no other units in front of us. From the balcony we watched elk and heard them bugling, and saw deer grazing. The sunrise, sunset and the starry sky is amazing to behold. Nature abounds here and staying within the park is the best way to have the full experience. Mesa Verde Lodge rooms compliment the wild outdoors with style and comfort in a modestly sized space. The food service varied from tolerably slow to terrible - recommend bringing some provisions so as to not be entirely dependant on the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When will they ever bring the Park Lodges into the 21st century??? Tiny bathrooms and meager furnishings...the only difference with this one was the amazing view!! And a balcony to sit out and enjoy it! It was a very convenient place to stay to enjoy all that Mesa Verde had to offer though, so until something better comes along, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the unit next to the restaurant building, and the views were awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great midwest
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

While the lodging here is not top notch, the view and peace and quiet are exceptional! My husband and I stayed here for two nights, while we visited the sites at Mesa Verde. It was perfect for that, as there was no need to travel into and out of the park. These rooms are basically blocks of small motel units, maybe 5 or 6 rooms, up on small "stilts" with low balconies facing an incredible view. We had a Kiva room, which had nicer decor and air conditioning. The room was nice, however it did lack some amenities found in other hotels, such as tv, cell phone service, multiple plug-ins, a closet. The walls are also quite thin and allow sounds of toilets flushing and showers, and when I turned on the ac to mask any noise, it is the type that loudly cycles on and off, which did not help. Our unit was on the edge of all of them, and had a great view. I did wonder about many units that are clustered back further, though, if they had nice views.
I was disappointed in the dinner options. We ate at the Metate Room, a gourmet restaurant which I must say does seem a bit out of place in a setting such as this, once. It was excellent, and pricey, as one would expect, but we enjoyed it. The following night, however, it turned out the more casual restaurant there that serves dinner had closed for the season, and we did not want to go back to the gourmet restaurant again. Luckily (?) we were able to purchase a pre-made sandwich, salad and bag of chips for $16 to eat at the room. I would suggest anyone staying there be sure what the meal options are for the time they are staying and plan accordingly. I would have appreciated it if someone had let us know when checking in.
I would definitely recommend that anyone visiting Mesa Verde stay here for a couple nights - we were also able to watch mule deer and wild horses from our room, and hear the elk bugling at night. Additionally, the sunrises and sunsets were incredible, as were the stars at night.

Room Tip: I would be sure to know what kind of a view you are getting, as it appeared that some blocks of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytotravel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort South Carolin
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose the Far View Lodge because it is THE place to stay if you're at Mesa Verde. As others have said, it takes 30 minutes (15 miles) from the gate to the hotel. Roads are twisty and turny, so if you can avoid doing it in the rain or the dark, that's the best idea.

The room was rustic, but clean. King size bed and decent drawer and closet storage. Small shower stall. The balcony in our Kiva room had two chairs and was on a little hill overlooking other cabins and mountains in the distance. The balcony was only two feet off the ground so imagine our surprise when a full-grown buck meandered by, almost close enough to touch. We liked the ability to open the windows because the September weather was pleasant.

Remember they have NO TV, but they do have wifi and a telephone.

We ate in the cafeteria at the Visitors Center because the menu in the Metate Room (fine dining) frankly seemed to be on the steep side. The first evening the cafeteria had run out of several items, so I'd suggest getting there early. Also, try to avoid arriving at the cafeteria when a tour bus arrives ... makes for a longgggg line :)

NOTE: My cell phone completely discharged and I thought the battery had died. Next morning we hit the Verizon store in Cortez and the tech immediately asked if we'd overnighted at Mesa Verde. Surprised, we said yes, and he said that he gets many many visitors with the same problem of battery discharging. He thinks it's because there's no cell reception at Mesa Verde and even if charging, the phone keeps trying to search for a signal and wears down the battery.

ANOTHER NOTE: Mesa Verde is at high altitude. No surprise there. But if you're not used to the elevation, please take note. You'll want to walk varying distances (and climb if you're doing a Ranger Tour) so just be aware. We are from the coast and our home is at 14 ft elevation above sea level. 8000 ft made us huff & puff.

AND THE LAST NOTE: We got out early in the morning to drive the loop and see the sights. That was such a great decision. We beat the crowds (and the tour buses) and in most places it was just us, Mother Nature, and the pure spirituality of Mesa Verde. Hauntingly beautiful ...a wonderful experience. As we drove back to the room, there were many more vehicles heading out to where we'd already been.

Room Tip: If you can try for a room with an unobstructed view (there are a few), that's a great idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Property: Far View Lodge
Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing