We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the Plus”
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Far View Lodge is a 15 mile drive into Mesa Verde Park and that is the first sign of civilization you see. It is the perfect place to stay as it puts you closer to all the hikes and sites than if one stays in town. Our room was very small and had paper thin walls so I see why TVs are not in the rooms. In fact the man in the next room was snoring so loudly that he kept us awake all night! The next night all we heard were the calls of the mule deer and that was wonderful. The positives far outweigh the negatives and it is totally because it puts you right there in the park. Two places for dinner are located in the main building but for breakfasat and lunch, you must drive a mile or two up the road to another location in the park. The views from your balcony are amazing and often wildlife is directly below you. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: You want a top floor room so you can see the expanse of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulldog44240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The main reason we stayed here was that it's in the park. It takes 30 minutes just to drive to the Visitors Center from the front park entrance so this is a great location. We had a balcony facing the cliffs and saw the sun rise with pastel colors All the rooms look to have a great balcony view as they are staggered up a sloped hill. Starbucks coffee and coffee pot were in our room and were enjoyed. Our room was basic, bathroom a little dated, but warm. We came for the view and to tour Mesa Verde. The biggest surprise was the restaurant in the same building as the lobby. It was fine dining with an executive chef and a sous chef. It was fabulous!

Room Tip: Could ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room has an awesome view out over the park. The Lodge is 15 miles inside Mesa Verde National Park which is itself a wonder, so the location is incomparable. The negatives are that the walls are thin with poor sound insulation and the light over our bathroom mirror did not work. Those are greatly outweighed by the positives, but prevented me from giving it a "5".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielsGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Far View in mid-September. In looking at the pictures posted by other travelers, you'll see a wide range of rooms: some nicely updated with a western and/or Native American theme, others that are more standard hotel fair. Our room felt like it came straight out of the 1970s with sloped ceilings, angled wood below the sink counter, and even gold/yellow tiles in the shower. And, yes, the chairs on the balcon are plastic. Who cares? The place was clean and tidy despite the datedness and, frankly, decor is not why you stay here.

If you stay at Far View, it should be for its location and for the view. Far View is well inside the park. Staying here will save you the 20-30 minute+ drive from the park entrance to the visitor center (note: the new visitor center at the park entry is about to open if it has not already...but you STILL want to stay at Far View because of the time it cuts off to get to the park highlights and tours which are still 10-15 minutes deeper into the park!). Location is everything.

The second main reason to stay at the Far View is for fabulous views at sunrise and sunset. That being said, make sure you get a room that takes advantages of the view! The "lodge" is not one building but many. Each building maybe has 4-6 rooms, so there are a lot of buildings arranged on the side of the hill, amphitheater style. Some look over only the mesa while some look over the other buildings and then the mesa. You want to be looking over the mesa, not over the other buildings! Ask! The views are lovely in the early morning and late afternoon. During the day time, when the light gets flat, I would suspect the view would not be so breathtaking. I am not sure...were were out touring Balcony House and Cliff Palace! (Ranger lead tours are highly recommended...best $6 I have ever spent!).

We ate at the Metate Room for dinner while we were there. There were some guest comments that the food in Metate was expensive and average. Maybe we lucked out. We had fabulous food: my husband had wild boar and I had trout. We really enjoyed out meal and since we were eating about an hour and a half before sunset, we were greated with spectacular views. If you don't want to eat at the Metate Room, you might at least go in for a glass of wine to enjoy the late afternoon view!

Breakfast you can take in your room if you bring food for the little fridge...or if you want you can take the 1/4 mile trip down the road and eat park-buffet style food at the little restaurant/shop across from the now old visitor center. We had OK buscuits and gravy and breakfast burritos.

Overall, I gave Far View a pretty good rating. Yes, the room we were in was dated and threadbare, but it was clean and maintained. Yes, thre was no tv (thank goodness! really, you want to watch tv at Mesa Verde?). Yes, the cell phone reception was spotty (again, really?). But, the staff were friendly and helpful; the views were fabulous; and the LOCATION made it THE place to stay for a Mesa Verde. We'd come again in a heartbeat. Would not even think twice about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed one night, very comfortable and in a good location. Allow at least one full day (2 would be better) to take in all Mesa Verde has to offer. We wnt in May of 2011. It was a litlle cool, but very comfortable. .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Arrived around 13.30 too late to book on a guided tour not a good start. Rooms are of a cabin range. We were in a kira room quite small but had a balcony.
Restaurant in the main building prices were over the top and the place had a strange smell about it. We chose to eat in the fear view terrace cafe which had run out if pizza and fries, do settled for burger and salad
We loved the balcony with a bottle of wine purchased from the shop at 8 dollars as appossed to 35 dollars from room service . We never saw any wildlife in this park . If you are into ancient cultures then this might be the place for you but I wod give this a miss next time
.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fairview lodge does need some updating but area is breathtaking and staff was great. Before booking try to get a room close to the front. Our balcony view was somewhat blocked, but we still had a great experience viewing several mule deers up close, what a thrill! I did read the reviews before booking and they did help in our choice. Loved sitting in the lounge in the evening. Be sure to take advantage of the ranger talks in the evening, learned alot about the park and the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range: $123 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing