We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a nice town.”
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Llanes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel was in a great location in the centre of Llanes. Nice and clean with a good breakfast. Perfect base for exploring the Picos and 'Green Spain'. Hotel a bit dated, but really didn't bother us as everything else was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my second stay here, the first in July 2010 also on a group biking holiday; only 2 nights this time, and I was in the same room overlooking the car park, which was fine as it was probably quieter than being at the front of the hotel. I'd like to endorse Yachties review without repeating everything; I enjoyed a salad meal in front of the tv one evening as I was watching Wimbledon, and they were quite happy to bring the food to the lounge area for me. If there is one small comment to make, it is that the public areas seem to have had a makeover more recently than the rooms, which have rather old-fashioned wardrobes and could do with a bit of modernizing. That said, they are still comfortable and perfectly adequate. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were on an inclusive break with Brittany Ferries. It was out of season so we chose this hotel because we have stayed there before and know that the town has plenty of good bars and restaurants. On arrival little seemed changed, free car parking and the same charming lady (we think owner) on reception. We were given a south facing room with views of the Picos mountains (snow capped at this time) with a small balcony which was warm in the mid day sun. Now for the changes which aren't fully documented in Brittany Ferries brochure. Firstly the breakfast which used to be a small affair, fresh orange juice, patisserie, toast and coffee now has all this plus Spanish omelette, local cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, fruit and tomato salad. All served as a buffet in the Cafeteria. The Cafeteria has a menu copy translated in to English in the room. In addition now there are special local style dishes and a superb menu of the day. We had this for lunch one day and for 12 euros including a very nice bottle of wine it was delicious and we defy anyone to eat it all! You do, however need some Spanish, a phrase book at least, as all except the basic menu is in Spanish and the staff don't seem to speak English (may be wrong but we speak enough to get by so they didn't have to). The whole town has a lot to offer, lovely bars many with their own "menu del dia" and everyone is so friendly! The hotel is a short walk from the harbour (now closed by a lock with new pontoons for local and visiting boats) and a lovely beach. Other beaches are within walking distance and there is a great walk on the cliffs overlooking the sea. Some very attractive towns are within easy driving distance along this now much improved road. This hotel is an ideal base to explore this lovely area of Spain which is so different from the Mediterranean "Costas".

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room for the mountain view and the sun. Some corner rooms have very large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yachties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed as part of a group of 6 motorcycling through Spain to France and then back to UK.
We used this as a base for touring the Picos. Llanes is a small vibrant town with lots of bars/cafes/restaurants, about 60 miles from Santander.
Montemar is situated within the town and has a large (free) carpark, I had a single room which had a double bed, warobe and space to put things, the room was big enough, the bathroom spacious, and very clean.
Breakfast was fairly standard with fresh orange juice, cerials, meats/cheeses/bread and cake & perc coffee - all you need.

This hotel is well placed, the staff all friendly and attentative, Wi-Fi is free, not always available in the room but always in the lounge and reception.

Oh and a bottle of red wine was 10 euro, small beer 1.8 euro.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Montemar is a fairly typical seaside hotel. The rooms are no frills, but big enough, clean and tidy. there's no air conditioning though, but this part of Spain rarely gets excessively hot. The hotel is close enough to the centre of Llanes, and everywhere is easily walkable. There's a large car park too. Trains and buses are within easy reach. There's plenty to see in Asutrias, with loads of excellent beaches, so you won't be spending too much time in the hotel, but it's fine for sleeping. A bit of modernisation to the bathrooms wouldn't be amiss.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Montemar for 4 nights as part of a package booked with Brittany Ferries which we considered to be very good value.
We were generally happy with the hotel. There were a few minor niggles - no hair dryer and no safe. The room was a little bit too warm and stuffy - the heating was on and there was no air conditioning. There was a large window you could open wide, but no smaller window to open just to let in air. We are not sure how bearable it would be in high summer. The plumbing was a bit quirky too, and there were only two electric sockets. The walls were not that thick, especially when the water in shower in the room next door was thumping through the pipes. Finally the rooms lacked character but we did not expect much character in a modern building.
But those were minor points. The room was clean, We slept extremely well as the beds were comfy . Our room was at the side of the building, looking out towards the sea, and there was no noise from the quiet side street. There was free Wifi. The public areas of the hotel were also clean and well cared for. The staff were very frendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine - typical Spanish serve-yourseff selection of cold meat, cheese, tomatoes, fruit, bread, toast, cakes, coffee and juice. There was a cafeteria which sold a small range of reasonably priced snacks, cooked to order. There's also a bar and two lounge areas, one with a wide screen TV, There was a free car park too, something you don't find too often in Spain. The location was great - just a 5 minute walk for the beach and the shops and restuarants in the centre of the town. We loved the town too, and enjoyed being so close to the centre.
We plan to go back to Llanes and would stay at the Hotel Montemar again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

This hotel is comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, situated where it is you can stroll to the town centre in five minutes, or you can stroll down to the harbour in a few minutes more. Peaceful location some rooms have views of picos de europa plus sea views. night porter and bar available for late drinks. Cafeteria does basic snacks and light bites.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank wingbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Paco
Hotel Don Paco
#2 of 53 in Llanes
591 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
3.6 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Hacienda de Don Juan
1 mi away
Hotel la Palma de Llanes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sablon
Hotel Sablon
#23 of 53 in Llanes
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Address: Calle Genaro Riestra 8, 33500, Llanes, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Llanes
Price Range: $59 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern to be enjoyed Charms Llanes Classic. Centrally located in the tourist heart of the town, but quiet and secluded. Just steps from the beach, the walls, the medieval town and the magical cliff above the sea forming the Paseo de San Pedro. And as in Llanes is difficult to park, we offer our free private parking. There is no cost wifi throughout the facility. Do not Miss New DOUBLE SUPERIOR rooms: designed for your rest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing