We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay & centrally located”
Review of Hotel Don Paco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Don Paco
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Llanes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hotel Don Paco hotel for a 2 day break visiting friends. I would highly reccomend this hotel if staying the Llanes area and will be returning hopefully to the hotel next year on my next visit to the area.

I beleive the hotel used to be a monastry, so the decor reflects this "rustic" feel. Although I didnt reseach the locations of other hotels in Llannes, I would imagine It would be difficult to beat this hotel on its central location alone. As other reviewers mentioned it is on the centre of town and just a 5 minute walk away to all the restaurants, cafes, bars etc

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, and the check in was smooth and found all the staff we encountered during our stay to be polite and helpful.

The room we stayed in was very clean & of a resonable size, the style again is quite traditional with dark furniture. The bathrooms on the other hand are modern, and bright and the shower was excellent and very powerful. The only think I would say that could improve the room slightly would be to install a safety deposit box in the room and have a larger size television, as I found the current one way to small to watch from the bed.

We didnt dine in the hotel during our stay, as we were out all day visiting, however previous reviews have said the breakfast is good. Also I must say that also previous reviews have stated that they found the traffic noise excessive. we stayed on the first floor on the road side of the hotel, and had a comfortable nights sleep and wasnt effected by any noise in the slightest. I enquired about this to a local who said that the road has recently changed from being a 2 way system to just a one way street. Perhaps this would account for the improvement.

All in all, a very pleasent stay and will be returning and staying at the Hotel Don Paco again the near future, and would highly reccomend to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattitouk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 591 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

A really nice hotel right in the centre of Llanes. We didn't eat at the hotel, except for breakfast which was very good. The staff were friendly enough and the accommodation was clean and spacious.Our room did not have aircon, but it was cool enough. Parking is free at their sister hotel ,which is only a few hundred yards away. There are lots of restaurants nearby with many offering a 3 course menu of the day for 10-12 euros. The only downside is if you do not speak Spanish;as very few have English translations. Llanes is a lovely,busy little town with nice beaches nearby.We would definitely use the Don Paco again if we re-visit Llanes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tottiescone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked via Brittany Ferries - a very good way to get to Northern Spain, but this time a strike meant our return trip was cancelled and forced a drive to Calais from Santander - 850 miles! The hotel was really pleasant - in the centre of Llanes but quiet, lovely to look at and with a good room and immaculate bathroom at the rear of the hotel. Fixed price lunch or dinner (same menu) at first looked a little expensive at 25 euros, but was four courses and included a bottle of very acceptable wine and a bottle of water. Even better - if you weren't quite so hungry and dropped one of the first 3 courses, the price came down to 16! Compared to prices on our drive through France, this was remarkable value and the quality of food was very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheltonianCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and is a very interesting building with some history. If you dont like character then you may not like this hotel but it is as described on the booking sites. The room furnishing is traditional and fairly basic but the bathroom was surprisingly modern. Parking is a short walk up the road but it is easy enough to wheel cases down to the hotel. Only downside is that there is no air conditioning. However, we were not as uncomfortable in this hotel as we were in some which did have air conditioning. Our experience of hotels in northern Spain from this trip is that those that do have air con do not allow guests any control over it. The old thick walls of the Don Paco must help to keep the rooms a bit cooler naturally. The terrace is a lovely place to sit of an evening and free wi fi was a real plus for us. Llanes itself is an interesting stop over for a couple of nights. The town beach is very nice but small. The Toro beach is fantastic with its rock formations and only a short walk along the coast. It would be great for kids. We also went along to Ribadasella which has a fantastic beach so I expect all the beaches along this coast are of a high standard. There are some nice walks around the town and along the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CamandJacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had made a reservation directly with the Don Paco Hotel for a double room. When we arrived on the 21st of July after a 5 hour drive, we checked in and went to our room to discover it was a twin room. We went to the receptionist who appeared unfriendly and told us that there was a festival that weekend, that they were full and there was no alternative.

The bedroom looked a little drab but the bathroom was modern and everything was very clean.

We found the staff at reception unfriendly and unwelcoming.

Breakfasts were good.

Llanes is an ideal place to stop before getting the ferry at Santander.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BennAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A beautiful building where they have luckily converted the bedrooms too!

We had a two bedroom modern suite on the top floor. Our daughter was delighted to have her own room . One of the rooms was slightly on the small side with low sloping ceiling on one side. The air conditioning wasn 't working however , I prefer to open the windows anyway.

The main bedroom had a lovely view of the Picos mountains. Good ensuite with good size shower but no bath.

The staff were generally helpful with one lady in particular being very helpful . This lady worked on reception but also in the restaurant! They appeared to be short staffed - this was the same at the next hotel we stayed at - a sign of the times?

We ate in the lanes in the tapas bars on the first night and then in the hotel the next couple of nights.

The food was good and the restaurant ( the converted chapel of the convent ) a stunning setting.

We enjoyed our stay - very relaxed - although we felt that so much more could be done with this amazing place.

The carpark was at the top of the road shared with another hotel . It was a bit of a treck with heavy bags and up stone steps to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We needed a one night stay within easy driving distance of Santander, and decided that Llanes was the ideal location.

A quick search for local hotels resulted in lots of choice, and the swirling finger settled on the Don Paco, which on paper seemed reasonable.

We found it a bit difficult to find in the narrow streets, but once there we were pleasantly surprised. We had booked a double and single room, and our daughter was delighted to get a small double room to herself with a newly refurbished bathroom, our large double down the corridor was also spacious and comfortable, with one of the most comfortable beds we had during our entire holiday.

We ate out for dinner, the alleyway across the street opens into a small square with half a dozen restaurants all serving delicious food at less than half the hotel restaurant prices, but we chose the great value breakfast buffet in house the next morning.

The staff were helpful, and we wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending the hotel to others.

Our only complaint was the lack of air conditioning of any sort in our room. We gathered that they are in the process of installing it, some rooms have functioning a/c, some have the machinery installed but not yet working, and others have nothing at all. Our room was one of the latter, and as it was on the front of the hotel, we found the street noise which went on until 2am a bit irritating, as the only cool air available to us came from the open window.

Room Tip: Front rooms without air conditioning are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanes hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montemar
Hotel Montemar
#8 of 53 in Llanes
164 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Valleoscuru
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sablon
Hotel Sablon
#24 of 53 in Llanes
140 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel la Palma de Llanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paco

Address: Calle Colegio de la Encarnacion n0 1, 33500, Llanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Llanes
Price Range: $60 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paco 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Posada Herrera gardens, in the very centre of the town of Llanes, very few metres away from Sablon beach, from the maritime San Pedro walk and from the historic-artistic set of the Basilica and the Walls of the old town, the hotel is installed with all the comfort ofmodern hotel in a beautiful Baroque convent of the XVII th century.49 exterior rooms with full bathroom, telephone, lounge with a chimmey, gardened terrace, restaurant of specialities in the old chapel, closed and surveilled parking, municipal golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing