We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REAL SPAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Mari Carmen
Ranked #6 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This guest house is mentioned in "The Rough Guide to Spain" (which providing it is positive is always a good indication) and it certainly lived up to its write up. Spotless clean and sooooo friendly I almost believed I knew the family. Even received a beer and coke plus a snack all for free on arrival, we were then given a choice of rooms. Very comfortable bed in a lovely room and the breakfast the following morning was excellent with far more than we could eat. Will most certainly be returning.
Marion & Mike
Aguilas

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a good value pension in a central location. Our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and a nice balcony that had good views over the town to the mountains. There is a also a great roof terrace. The landlady is welcoming but a bit of character - personally I found this good fun and quite entertaining but I can see that some may consider it as a little too informal and overbearing. She certainly made us feel welcome and served us a range of tapas plus beers on the roof terrace on arrival!

Note that you can't park nearby - you have to park at the bottom a steep hill so probably not ideal for anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas9717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Superb location, extremely clean and friendly. Very good price. Excellent quality orthopaedic beds. Will definitely return...and Salobrena is a lovely place to spend a few relaxing days. There is a safe in most rooms and the owner could not be more helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rallen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I really loved this place and it was the highlight of my trip. I was travelling alone and really felt so well with Mari Carmen's family who are so nice, helpful and easygoing. Really enjoyed the fantastic and superb balcony room with very clean bed and the bathroom spotless. Really like it. I am Spanish and have travelled extensively in my country and around the world, I know what to expect for the price and this is really unbeatable. good price and good service. Even the breakfast in the balcony room with a great view of mountains and sea. Back in Wales where I live I can assure yo I will go there as soon as I can and I highly reccomend to anyone. The silence is a good factor as well as I really don't want tourist places with drunk atmoshpere. A place where yo can go to sleep or be in your balcony reading a book enjoying the view. My neighbours were very nice, a Norewian man on the left balcony and a Swiss lady on the right one and it was great to have a talk with them and to find people who really like to be out of the mass tourism track. Salobrena is the place . And Mari Carmen pension was really being at home

Room Tip: the top floor rooms with balcony are magnificient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The boardinghouse is o.k., but the owner-lady not: excentric, moodie, obtrusive.
As long you do, what she wants, everything seems fine, otherwise it will cost yours nerves. At all - little privacy, the lady is permanent near. She never respects your desire, even until ignorance of allergy inconveniences which can't go with the extensive use of crappy cleaners. More over, behind the always smiling face is hidden an extrem profit-orientated attitude; agreements of prices at arrival shout be fixed written - if not, they will not be valid at departure.
Totaly: may be a kind of entertainment over one or two days, for longer stay absolutely unnbearable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank steeven-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Cheap, friendly and welcoming. If you find a better hostal - let me know.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnepre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

It appears that they change the price later, most of the time. Same thing they did to us. Please put them to write the price on a paper at the begining, may be with their signature .The lady Mari Carmen is is cunning and greedy under the disguise of friendlines.They keep sharp eyes on the people in such a way that the feeling is of that of lacking privacy. They use artificial aer odorisers indoors.The food is average, some junk type sometimes.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Service
29  Thank ourmail4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mary Tere
Hostal Mary Tere
#5 of 6 in Salobrena
17 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Munoz
Hotel Munoz
#8 of 9 in Motril
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miba
Hotel Miba
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Juan
Hostal San Juan
#2 of 6 in Salobrena
97 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Palomares
Hostal Palomares
#3 of 6 in Salobrena
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mari Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mari Carmen

Address: Calle Nueva 32, 18610 Salobrena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range: $36 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Mari Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing