We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for experiencing this part of Spain”
Review of Hostal Jayma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Jayma
Ranked #1 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in many hotels/motels over the years and Hostal Jayma would be one of the cleanest, nicest and friendliest places we have ever stayed. Our hosts were delightful and went out of their way to help us with information, directions or anything else we needed to know. Hostal Jayma does not provide breakfast but as the Hostal is situated in the old part of town, we were directed to some lovely cafes for coffee and rolls, as well as interesting restaurants for dinner. We would definitely stay there if we are ever in the part of Spain again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coral18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in October 2009. I was attending a wedding in town and most hotels were booked out so I was very surprised to find such a good deal. My room was Andalusian -style. It was simple but very clean and atmospheric. The hotel is in a good location just at the bottom of the hill on the northern side of town so the old town is above you (which makes the roof top terrace great to hang out on). There is probably a better chance of finding street parking here than in many places in town. Considering that other wedding guests were a little disappointed with their hotels I feel lucky to have stayed here particularly as the family who run it are so friendly as well. My favourite hotel during the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

An immaculate hotel, very friendly helpful owners, genuinely welcoming, full of recommendations for best eating spots in and around town. Rooms are simple and straightforward, not full of character, just comfortable, clean and well equipped. A lovely place to stay, everything you need and a great location for the Alpujarras, the Costa Tropical and a day trip to Granada. Well placed in the town too, a winding street walk to the castle and some great bars. Loved it, wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This was a great little place to stay. The room was lovely and was cleaned ever day. There was a roof solarium which we took advantage off everyday.
The owners were wonderful and so helpful, especially with my 'broken' Spanish!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The owners are lovey and welcoming and in general nothing could be faulted about this hostal. The location, rooms, service etc were spot on. In fact the only down side was that there weren't any glasses in the room to drink from, but one trip to reception and we had them. Hardly a chore on our behalf at all and certainly not a complaint.
It's a great place and must stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccbloom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Excellent place to stay. Clean, friendly feel, good beds and owners that will make you feel at home and give you tips for the best food, beaches and places to hang out.

Thank Marthaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

This is our fourth stay in Hostal Jayma and the service gets better every year. If you are looking for a base to travel around Andalucia then this is the place to stay. The owners Javier and Manuela are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and they provide accommodation of superior quality reasonably priced with a very personal touch. If its cleanliness you are looking for Manuela can spot a speck of dust at 20 meters . She is constantly cleaning the place...... it is the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed in.
The hostal is centrally placed with excellent restaurants, bars and other services close at hand and is within walking distance to the beach.
Jim and Anne Glasgow, Scotland

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jimboanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Almunecar
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
6.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Juan
Hostal San Juan
#2 of 6 in Salobrena
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jayma

Address: Calle Cristo 24, 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range: $49 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Jayma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Jayma is a family-run boutique hotel, situated in the charming old town of Salobrena. Perfectly situated in the centre of town we are 5 minutes from the beach by car (15 minutes walk) and are close by everything that Salobrena has to offer. On arrival you can use our loading and unloading area and there is plenty of parking close by. All rooms at the Jayma are beautifully decorated and well appointed. Each has air conditioning, flat screen TV's, Free Wifi and spacious bathrooms which are equiped with the all important hairdryer. A private balcony or terrace adds a tranquil place to sit and relax without leaving your room. The Jayma also has a beautiful sun terrace where you can sit and relax and top up your tan or read a book in peace. There is a shower to cool down. We also have a lounge where you can meet an old friend or make new ones. We also offer breakfast to give you a great start to the day. As we are right in the centre of town it is just a 2 minute walk to the bank, post office, town hall, buses, taxis and tourist office. It also means we are so very close to some fantastic restaurants and tapas bars offering delicious food and atmosphere at very reasonable prices. With easy access to the N340 we are but 45 minutes drive from Granada's spectacular Alhambra to which we can book you tickets. For the more energetic, Skiing on the Sierra Nevada is only 1 hour away. For those wishing to play golf, Los Moriscos is 5 minutes drive as is the Port of Motril. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Jayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing