We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Realy nice hotel owned by lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Jayma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Jayma
Ranked #1 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Realy nice hotel owned by lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We originally intended to stay at the hotel for 1 night but ended up staying for 3 because we liked it so much.
It is a realy nice place, very clean and the rooms are great .I realy do not see how you could do any better for the money.
Fantastic location, a nice walk to the castle or beach etc but most of all very pleasant, helpful owners which makes the stay so much more pleasant.
We would highly recommend to anyone and intend to go back next spring. We hardly ever revisit a place but in this case we will make an exception.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
65
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Decided to use this as a base for visits to Granada. And it worked well for us. 40 minutes to the Alhambra on an almost deserted motorway.....free parking by the hotel so you don't waste money garaging the car overnight as one would in the city centre hotels.....and great to be able to take in some fresh iodine seaside air (beach 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk) after tramping around the sights of Granada.

As stated in previous reviews, charming and helpful owners. As soon as we arrived, they gave us a local area map and marked places of interests as well as recommended cafes, bars and restaurants. Our room and bathroom were both very spacious and meticulously clean. Beds had a reasonable comfort factor. Fantastic value for the price. Infinitely better in terms of space and value than a comparable room in the centre of Granada. Two possible drawbacks. First soundproofing is not great so if you have noisy guests coming in late at night (happened briefly once during stay) or during siesta time you might be disturbed; however owners do try to make sure guests are aware of the need to be quiet around the hotel. Secondly while the rooms are all "non smoking" people are permitted to smoke on the balcony and if they do not close the balcony door, the smell of smoke can drift in to the corridors and into your room; it wasn't a huge problem but on occasion was noticeable.

We tend to prefer taking breakfast at nearby local cafes but for those who prefer not to wander out first thing in the morning, the owner informed us that they had just refurbished the dining room and were shortly to commence serving breakfasts at the hostel. Lots of good places to eat in town but do not under any circumstances miss out on the fantastically fresh seafood at the Restaurant Pena on the beach (Playa Pena)........the sardines and prawns grilled over a wood fire are to die for and very good value ( 5 euros for 6-8 plump sardines!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garsington2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Javier and Manuela were absolutely the most lovely, helpful and kind hoteliers we have met. The hotel is simple, spotless and comfortable and provides a perfect location to the old town and castle. The beach is a 20 minute walk but I preferred staying here than one closer. I really can't over-state what fantastic owners this place has. Nothing was too much trouble and they went to great lengths to assist with hire cars, suggestions for trips and restaurants. I would enthusiastically endorse this hotel as a fantastic place to base oneself for a few days in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wymondham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Loved this simple hostel with helpful owner. Was in great location to explore the lovely town of Salobrena which constantly surprised. Simply loved it and have to learn Spanish so I can come back and live here in the winter!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolehowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostaljayma, Owner at Hostal Jayma, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank`s for your coment, and stay here in Jayma.

Javier & Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hostal Jayma is one of the most pleasant hotels we have stayed at in Spain (of any rating) and tremendous value for money. It is well situated in a quiet street in the old part of town but only 15/20 minutes walk to the beach and to the castle. It is immaculately clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated with air conditioned and adequately spacious rooms. However, what makes Hostal Jayma outstanding are the proprietors, Javier and Manuela, who are a charming, friendly couple who take obvious pride in their Hostal and Salobreña. They were always happy to offer advice on places to see , bars, restaurants and cafes and were helpful in every possible way. The Hostal has a roof terrace, internet room, sitting area in the reception and we had a television in our room. We were also fortunate to find on-street parking right outside the door. Salobreña also is a lovely place to visit, away from the tourist trail, and the people are friendly and hospitable. We have no hesitation in recommending Hostal Jayma and we would certainly stay there again.

Hostal Jayma es uno de los hoteles más agradables que nos hemos alojado en España (de cualquier calificación) y un enorme valor para el dinero. Está bien situado en una tranquila calle en el casco antiguo de la ciudad, pero sólo 15-20 minutos andando de la playa y el castillo. Se está impecablemente limpio y confortable, decorado con buen gusto, con habitaciones con aire acondicionado y amplio de manera adecuada. Sin embargo, lo que hace que el Hostal Jayma destacados son los propietarios, Javier y Manuela, que son una pareja encantadora, amable que se enorgullecen evidente en su Hostal y Salobreña. Ellos siempre estaban dispuestos a ofrecer consejos sobre lugares a visitar, bares, restaurantes y cafés, y son útiles en todas las formas posibles. El Hostal dispone de una terraza, sala de Internet, sala de estar en la recepción y que tenían una televisión en nuestra habitación. También tuvimos la suerte de encontrar en la calle aparcamiento justo delante de la puerta. Salobreña también es un lugar encantador para visitar, fuera de la zona turística, y la gente es amable y hospitalaria. No tenemos ninguna duda en recomendar Hostal Jayma, y sin duda nos alojaríamos allí de nuevo.

Room Tip: When booking we requested a quiet room, on arrival Javier said was that in response our room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulu_Warrior77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This Hostal is a real gem, we were looking for place to stay and came across this hostal by chance, Our bedroom was spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated, the owners were very friendly and helpful and the whole hostal was 5 star, whilst on holiday we stayed in 8 different hotels as were touring around this part of Spain and this hostal was defintaely the best of them all - we would reccommned to anyone to come and stay here - A true gem of a place! - we will defintaely be returining.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in many hotels/motels over the years and Hostal Jayma would be one of the cleanest, nicest and friendliest places we have ever stayed. Our hosts were delightful and went out of their way to help us with information, directions or anything else we needed to know. Hostal Jayma does not provide breakfast but as the Hostal is situated in the old part of town, we were directed to some lovely cafes for coffee and rolls, as well as interesting restaurants for dinner. We would definitely stay there if we are ever in the part of Spain again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena
3.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
6.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miba
Hotel Miba
#1 of 4 in Salobrena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jayma

Property: Hostal Jayma
Address: Calle Cristo 24, 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Jayma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Jayma is a family-run boutique hotel, situated in the charming old town of Salobrena. Perfectly situated in the centre of town we are 5 minutes from the beach by car (15 minutes walk) and are close by everything that Salobrena has to offer.
 On arrival you can use our loading and unloading area and there is plenty of parking close by. All rooms at the Jayma are beautifully decorated and well appointed. Each has air conditioning, flat screen TV's, Free Wifi and spacious bathrooms which are equiped with the all important hairdryer. A private balcony or terrace adds a tranquil place to sit and relax without leaving your room. The Jayma also has a beautiful sun terrace where you can sit and relax and top up your tan or read a book in peace. There is a shower to cool down. We also have a lounge where you can meet an old friend or make new ones. We also offer breakfast to give you a great start to the day. As we are right in the centre of town it is just a 2 minute walk to the bank, post office, town hall, buses, taxis and tourist office. It also means we are so very close to some fantastic restaurants and tapas bars offering delicious food and atmosphere at very reasonable prices. With easy access to the N340 we are but 45 minutes drive from Granada's spectacular Alhambra to which we can book you tickets. For the more energetic, Skiing on the Sierra Nevada is only 1 hour away. For those wishing to play golf, Los Moriscos is 5 minutes drive as is the Port of Motril. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Jayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing