We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming seaside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Certificate of Excellence
Perigueux, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming seaside hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having travelled the length of Spain to Granada we wanted to spend one night by the sea before heading north again. This hotel was a lucky find, in a charming unspoilt small seaside town.
The historic steep and narrow old town is on a hill nearby and can be viewed from the hotel roof terrace. The seafront is only a five minute walk away. Our room was clean and comfortable with pleasantly traditional Spanish decor, both shutters and curtains serving to keep the room quiet and cool. We slept well. Breakfast was OK. The spa pool/jacuzzis on the roof were tiny and did not tempt, particularly as the beach is so close by. The proprietors and staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel, sandwiched between petrol station and supermarket, didn't look very inviting from the outside. This impression changed once we entered the lobby, it was calm and homely, the receptionist was very friendly, we asked for a quiet room and were given a lovely, spacious room with big bathroom and a patio. It was located about 5-10 minutes easy walk from the beach and across the street were many bars and restaurants. It also had a very nice roof top terrace with amazing views of the mountains, sea and sunsets. There was a solarium with 2 jacuzzi tubs on the terrace, but we couldn't switch them on. Also the radio was constantly on and annoying, so we didn't spend much time enjoying the terrace.

We booked breakfast for our first morning, but the choice was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cytryna_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We didn't know what to expect as this hotel was just a stop over but we couldn't believe the standard. It is a beautiful hotel with brilliant views of the old town. The staff were lovely. Will be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed with family for 1 night in October, good quality clean room with attention to detail, well situated on main road into the town, with on-street parking available nearby- excellent buffet breakfast, great roof-top terrace with views to the old town and to the mountains towards Granada - Only issue was the water in the spa pools was a little too cool to be comfortable.

Room Tip: Room overlooking main road fine, but may be an issue for road noise in busier season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have stayed twice at this friendly, family-run hotel. It is in a very good situation to explore Salobreña and the Costa Tropical. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandkers Ford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We spent Christmas at the Hotel Avenida - it had been recommended by friends that had stayed in the summer. As we did not want a car it seemed like it was in a good location.
We found it on the Hotels Association website www.salobrenahotels.com which has a really good map showing all the member hotels locations.
The staff did not speak much english which was a bit of a problem at first however we did manage quite well using "international sign language". The choice of hotel was perfect for us as it is close to the town and there were lots of good places to eat nearby.
The interior decoration is a real treat, very Spanish and very high quality - we will stay there again.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Typical Spanish
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I stayed in the city unexpectedely. There is a lot of traffic in the street so we decided to take a room on the other side. Good choice. The room was big with twin beds.Very nice and clean bathroom. Brightness and quiet. Room number 203. We were dissapointed of the view down you have a construction office with cement equipment. We didn' have noise at all, UNREAL !!! But it was very curious for our eyes. At the oof we enjoyed the view on the historic site and the jacuzzi !!! But we were travelling out of the usual vacation time so that we had the jacuzzi only for us !! Breakfast is expensive because coffee wasn't good and and we felt hungry after taking it ! Internet but you have to pay...Supermarket, restaurants, beach are close. We enjoyed very much our stay.

  • Liked — QUIET, GOOD ROOM, CLEAN, LOCATION AND THE TERRASSE
  • Disliked — OUR VIEW, BREAKFAST
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KARMENParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
2.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
6.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,716 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#15 of 24 in Almunecar
76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Tropical

Property: Hotel Avenida Tropical
Address: Avenida Mediterraneo 35, 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Tropical Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing