We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Avenida Tropical(Salobrena)(Great Value!)
$56
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$90
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Andalucia(Almunecar)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Carmen(Almunecar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
106
177
152
66
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
177
152
66
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpudsfantastic viewsevening entertainmentlate septembertired hotelsmall beachall inclusive dealhard working staffbuffet foodno troublesuperior roomlast monthrooms are clean and comfortablelovely roomcosta tropicalyour eyes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 555 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very good value for money.Hotel is a bit dated and could do with an update.On the plus side food is good ,plentiful with lots of choice.Even gluten free and veggie options available.Everywhere is clean with maid service daily.we found the staff very helpful.Free bus into Salobrena and Salobrena beach several times a day.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view and bath.It,s a very large hotel over several floors and three buildings .Be sure to ask if you need to be on the ground floor.Rooms 104 to 109 are in a good spot for all amenities.Just one floor up in main building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Pro:
.great view on the mediterranean due to unique location on cliff
.clean
.helpful staff
.world's best aquarobics trainer :)
.special team on site to entertain children / guests
.enough free parking place
.good value for money

Con:
.no ventilation in shower / bath room
.unpractical design of shower / bath room

beware:
.hotel full of children
.beach 3km away

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aashsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There is one reason to come to this hotel: the incredible view it offers from its privileged position just on the top of a cliff with a vertical descent down to the sea. Second thing, the swimming pool area is also really nice (big, not crowded, with some green areas and surrounded by a bar and a restaurant).
All the rest is rather average or not so much worth noticing: the structure is rather old, the rooms are OK (clean and tidy and big enough) but not special, and it is rather noisy in the corridors as the hotel can accommodate a very large amount of guests.

As for the location, the hotel is some 3-4 km away from the town of Salobreña. Do not come here unless you have a car, otherwise you will hardly be able to go out for dinner in Salobreña and explore the coast in the nearby bays. There is a small beach at a 20min walking distance from the hotel, but it is rather tiny and hardly suitable to swim as there are big rocks, deep waters and rather strong currents.

If you have a car and are travelling around this area, make sure you spend a day here to admire the view and you will not regret it!

Make sure you ask for a sea-view room!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea-view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We returned to salobrena again in june for a weeks stay.The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and hard working, nothing is too much trouble if you ask for anything.
The rooms are very comfortable with clean starched linen and there is always plenty of hot water at anytime for a shower or bath.
If you want a quiet peaceful holiday to chill out then this is the place for you.
We both work full time and we enjoy the relaxing holiday we always have at this hotel.
The views from the balcony are spectacular over the sea and you can see the coast line and salobrena town which is lit up and very pretty at night.
The hotel is slightly isolated and you cannot walk to any bars or nightlife but for us that is why we love it ( For the peace and rest) .
The food is very good with a selection of local fruit and often we had advocados for breakfast.
There are plenty of places to visit and the sierra nevada trip to the mountains is always superb.
We are always sad to leave when it is time to go home. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in the annexe which is lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katnip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My heart absolutely sunk as we approached - parts of the exterior are seriously worn by the elements, being on the coast as they are located. The reception area quickly informs you that much of their trade is holiday package and coach tours, though it was clean and quiet. Check-in was uneventful though we were somewhat concerned that the desk manager was having a row on the phone with someone - usually a bad sign.

Our room was in the main, original building. A decent space, clean and simple. There was a slight but distinct pong off the plumbing that was not fixed by filling all the traps with water, but quickly sorted with a small gel deodoriser and open doors. The furniture is worn and ready for an update. Beds firm and ok. The iron headboards and accessory furniture were charming, but everything else needed a re-face or replace. Housekeeping does work hard on this property, the floors were very clean and so was the bath. The balcony was clean and straighforward, let down by the deteriorating railings and thick painted building exterior. The view however - lovely. The pool area and garden is well kept - neat but not overly formal. Out to the med is a nice view and a lovely sunrise each morning. Our room also had a sliding plantation shutter set of doors which was great for sleeping as the night time temps didn't warrant the AC. No mossie problem either.

I think a car is very important here. We did enjoy exploring down to the little beach below the hotel on foot. It's an easy walk down the road that wends its way around the back of the hotel. There are stairs, but it was far easier to follow the road. Its not a flat walk but really not too difficult.

We were on breakfast only, and while it didn't wow us it was fine. Possibly more directed at a British clientelle than anything else. Eggs and omlettes are cooked fresh in the dining room. The big disappoinment - we love a cafe con leche as the locals make it but their coffee is from a catering machine. Just not the same. A highlight though - on the one morning a tray of mini avocados were on offer. Perfectly formed, perfectly ripe but about 1/3 the size of a normal haas. Loved them. The next morning, one of the gentlemen working in the dining room brought me a few at the table, which was very considerate. I am impressed that he went out of his way.

It does look like they are undertaking some maintenance and upgrades in the original building. We really liked the gardens and the birds and we enjoyed ourselves relaxing at the pool area. Thier rescue squirrel is adorable, though I worry he might be lonely (better lonely than deceased though....). We did have a quiet break and found our overall experience to be pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JadedButPractical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews