We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here one nihght on our way to Almerimar. I loved the location of this hotel, quite peaceful and the price was excellent. I also found the staff very helpful. Would consider staying here again for a few days and exploring around. Very large clean room

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mrsdibsCoMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Salobrena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from the 21st to the 28th of December 2012. I went fully inclusive with SAGA.

First; I can confirm that the Hotel is isolated. There are however courtesy buses to Salobreňa (a rather dull town centre, but as it is Spanish still has much to offer) and a few to Almuňècar (a much more vibrant and well heeled town. It has, for example, a fine indoor food market). Taxis to Salobreňa cost 8 Euros one way and to Almuňècar 15 Euros. There is little opportunity to walk near the hotel. There is no beach. The views of the sea and countryside however are stunning.

The “public areas” of the hotel are probably of four star quality, with a homely atmosphere (sofas and armchairs).

The rooms however are only just of three star quality. I had a twin (= a single) and it was spacious; the bed was comfortable, the sheets crisp and clean. The overall impression however was of tiredness and a décor more suitable for those with late 1970s taste. The bathroom was not unclean but there were lime-scale stains in the toilet and a general run down feel. Full complimentary soaps, shampoos etc., and a full range of towels (changed efficiently) helped a little to take my mind off the overall need for modernisation. I always feel that “modern” hotels like this are far less acceptable in this state than (say) a faded Victorian hotel. In the latter case, the “tiredness” at least has a “period charm!”

The true single rooms are (as the SAGA brochure admits) very “compact” - they are not recommended at all.

The meals are buffet style. For breakfast the bread was excellent as was the choice and quality of food overall. For those who insist on the British breakfast, eggs were cooked to order. Fresh orange juice was squeezed from fresh oranges before your eyes – a contrast with the evil reconstituted urine served at most SAGA four star hotels. (How DO you make urine into a powder?). For the other meals the quality surpassed the usual SAGA four star quality (and this is a three star hotel). This is probably because the choice at this hotel is relatively limited – attention to detail is perhaps ensured. The standard is decent cafeteria standard, with occasionally, flashes of brilliance. The restaurant staff (who bring the wine and clear up) are exemplary.

The main problem I encountered were a number of SAGA holidaymakers who it would seem go on holiday to moan. Far too many have a hatred of “foreigners” (however well-behaved those foreigners might be; and they were well behaved, including their children). Indeed I would have liked more Spanish visitors during my visit – I really do not like to spend a week at the Tory conference with self-assured bigots who complain about the most peculiar things... and endlessly so. How the splendid SAGA rep' (Moses) copes with them, I do not know.

A homely hotel despite its modernity, but one which one would perhaps not elect to stay long term because of its isolation. In the nearby towns one could have Spanish hospitality and cuisine at half the cost – and without the endless drone of the SAGA Daily Mail reading control freaks who WILL intrude on you (even during dinner). “Do you know what, my bacon was not like it was at Hotel X just down the road” (and take half an hour ramming home their point).

A return flight to Malaga from the UK can cost very little – and what with the Spanish recession, hotels are very good value, as are restaurants. If you are an “active pensioner” and Internet equipped, I would strongly suggest that you go independently. Half the cost, without being incarcerated (without chance of change) with these people and this decent hotel

Spain is beautiful, the people entrancing, the food and the wine and the cigarettes very cheap. All the pleasures of life are there, in contrast to the UK. People may be committing suicide due to the recession in Spain, but it does not show in the Spaniards' attention to detail in service. A wonderful country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The overhead noise was terrible,every movement could heard..The doors slam very loudly and the corridor noise is horrendous..Very little sleep as a result..The hotel is not easily found from the road..36 Euros for a solo person in double room which was decent value as room was large.The bath was chipped in various places and the tiling everywhere made for a cold cave like atmosphere.The place was cleanish (but not spotless) and if you decide to eat there the buffet costs a cool 18 Euros..Instead l opted for a snack.It was an unbuttered mini bagette with dry (on the edges) cheese and cheap tasteless tomato..Price 3.5 Euros.This used to be a 5 star hotel that failed and is now a 3 star..It mainly caters for the aged folk who are seeking refuge from Northern Europe's cold weather and they seem to be getting ripped off with bar and food prices but are enjoying themselves..The view from the balcony is unbelievably beautiful,reminiscent of Monte Carlo etc..Overal it was okay but something phoney about the place

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as they do have rooms with views of the car park and a ditch..Also be careful they...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I don`t know what people expect from a 3 star hotel, but I feel this one is excellent. There was a good selection of food on the buffet and it was always fresh and hot. The breakfast choice was by far the best we have had in a 3* hotel, even including sparkling wine. The bedrooms were spacious and clean with spectacular views, the public rooms were comfortable with plenty of seating. The only negative is that it is too far to walk anywhere in the evening and due to a recent landslide the footpath to the village is partly blocked. However the courtesy buses during the daytime are very good. All members of staff were excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Salobreña on a one week all inclusive holiday booked with Saga. This is a really good hotel; the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We particularly liked the wide selection of fresh salad, fruit and vegetables that were available at all meal times. There was always a vegetarian main course, usually a fish dish and several meat dishes on offer. The soup of the day was freshly made and clearly not out of a can or packet. It was buffet service and there was always plenty of food available. It would be very hard to fault the catering, particularly when one bears in mind that this hotel is only rated 3 star. I can recommend the house red!

Moses, the Saga rep on duty at the hotel is a real star; he is helpful, friendly and pleased to organise trips out (you must go to the Alhambra Palace!) for guests, without giving the hard sell. One evening whilst we were there, we attended a Spanish wine tasting, hosted by the hotel manager, who did not speak a lot of English. Moses not only translated for the Saga guests, he also translated into German for a party of German guests; he’s pretty versatile!

We were there on Halloween and had a wonderful time in the evening, before dinner. The hotel had been decorated during the day and many of the staff had dressed up as various spooky characters. Some of the guests had likewise entered into the spirit (no pun intended) of the evening; Count Dracula himself turned up! Everyone present had a terrific time; thank you hotel Salobreña. It’s just a pity that I won’t be able to show my children the photographs!

I am pleased to report that the hotel was well patronised by the locals at the weekend; I think that this is always a sign of a decent hotel. We also had families with young children staying; I can only report that the children’s behaviour was faultless.

Although the hotel isn’t exactly in the town centre, there is a free shuttle bus that provides transport into Salobreña every day and Almuñecar on three days of the week. We did not feel that the location was a problem, particularly as we travelled further afield on several days of our short holiday.

To summarise, this hotel provides excellent accommodation, terrific food and polite attentive staff. It offers extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: I would go for one of the rooms on the front, with a balcony; the views are great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DrMichaelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely location ,I understand that it is only a 3 star hotel but the food needs to improve.
It is too inconsistent, you have a good meal one day, the next it is awful also it is not
always as hot as it should be.
If there had been bars serving tapas near by we would have had lunch out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reading some of the reviews on here worried me a little, but either people are confused by the star rating system, or they have done a lot to improve. The room we had was really nice, clean, comfortable, TV with English Channels,Tea and Coffee making facilities, we have travelled a lot and what we got was better than anticipated. The food was really nice, plenty of choice, with lots of fresh salad and fruit at every meal, breakfast was varied and there was alwasy fresh bread, you would have to be very picky to find fault, I have to say the waiting staff were excellent too, always there to clear away plates and serve wine and chilled water. The pool area was nice, the pool is not heated, but once you in your fine, and the all inclusive bar was well stocked with a good variety of drinks, the usual local spirits, but served in large measure....thanks to the polite and efficient barmen! There were lounges you could sit and be quiet and they supplied boardgames which was a nice touch. The Saga excursions were great, the ladies that ran these were always outstanding, and there is a courtesy bus running to the 2 villages nearby. There is not much to do at night, unless you take a taxi somewhere or just enjoy the musicians laid on by the hotel as it is in the middle of nowhere, but we liked this, the walk done to the beach is a must, its lovely stoney cove. The only drawback on the whole holiday was the SAGA rep in this hotel seems to be working for the hotel rather than SAGA, maybe he's been there too long, but he wasnt interested in listening to peoples issues, and we foten heard him speaking quite patronisingly to the older guests, SAGA need a secret shopper to audit this guy, he is not guest focussed. But despite that, its a great hotel and you will have a lovely holiday, just dont expect 5 star, your not paying for it after all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.0 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,772 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
893 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salobrena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salobrena

Address: Ctra. Malaga-Almeria Km 323, 18680 Salobrena, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Price Range: $47 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salobrena 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salobreña is situated on a headland with spectacular views of Salobreña and its beaches. Peaceful, unspoilt location situated at 3 km from the village of Salobreña.1.DOUBLE STANDARD ROOM: rooms with two single beds (90cm), complete bathroom with hairdryer and magnifying mirror, satellite TV international channels, telephone with answering machine, safety deposit boxes which are available for hire. There is central air-conditioning, warm or cold depending the season , most of the rooms have a balcony and view to the sea. Only some of the rooms have a queen size bed.2.DOUBLE CLUB ROOM: rooms of higher standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salobrena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salobrena Hotel Salobrena
Salobrena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing