We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our second stay at this hotel which is remote but peaceful and on a lovely bay. This was our second stay here, and we had paid for an upgrade, which was well worth the extra. Unfortunately an influx of Spanish on special cheap deals totally ruined the hotel atmosphere with loud shouts and screams and children running around swinging on your chair. There was disgusting behaviour in the dining room with people grabbing food from the buffet. The hordes of people caused a lack of service at the bar due to undermanning, when preference service was usually given to the 'non all inclusive'.
Anybody considering this place should carefully check out whether you will be there during any Spanish holiday periods and avoid those times!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with views over Salobrena - these are usually bigger than the older blocks and offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 545 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had two weeks in this hotel 11th-26th June 2012. Was lovely for the first 10 days but were then invaded by lots of Spanish children who completely took over the pool & area making it impossible for us oldies to use these facilities.
This was ok as they are entitled as well as us, possibly more so, just wish we had gone a week earlier.
Bar staff were a little indifferent whether to serve you possibly as we were on all inclusive, had the same with restaurant staff but room maids were very good.
Food was fairly good & lots of variety.
Was quite secluded but we were aware of that on booking.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday & it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mvje11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Perched on top of the cliffs, some 3 km from Salobrena, the hotel is comfortable, if a little 'tired' in places but good 3 star value with mini-bar, air conditioning and room safe. Most of the rooms have balconies overlooking the sea and the swimming pool and gardens. The food is vary plentiful but you must pick and choose - go really early if you want it very hot ! Without doubt, the 'Stars' of this hotel are the staff - you sit down and within seconds there's a waiter or barman. You order wine and he sees that your glass is filled; you'd like food ? - he'll recommend the best dish...
The hoter being remote, you may wish to rent a car and go up the Sierra Nevada - breath-taking.
Have a good trip; Bon voyage; buen viaje...

Room Tip: Go for the sea view with super vistas overlooking the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tonyeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Have to agree mostly with AltalCymru. Have just spent 2 weeks there on a Saga all inc. deal - good value for money with trips etc plus various organised activities around the hotel. Location - stunning views, lack of anywhere to walk, except as stated in other reviews, down to the very small shingle beach and back again, or a canny hike into Salobrena. Hotel could do with a small shop selling papers, odds & ends as no shop anywhere in the vicinity of the hotel. Would be nice to have somewhere for an after dinner stroll. Food ok, limited choice, but always something edible, mostly well cooked, and reasonably hot. Sad lack of croissants or any other pastries at breakfast, and bread rolls etc. not always very fresh.
That said, many people return year on year, some have been coming for 14 or so years, so they must be doing something right! Hotel very clean, tired in places, but generally reasonably comfortable.
All in all, an enjoyable stay, but location a little too remote for our taste, so probably won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bucksfizzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Enjoyed a week here on a Saga all inclusive holiday for £554, from Birmingham airport. Generally very good value considering what was included: travel, insurance, hearty meals, snacks and packed lunches, generous table and bar drinks, room with balcony and coastal views, free trips to Frigiliana and Granada, complimentary bus to Salobrena and Almunecar, two fascinating cultural talks, wine tasting, and many other low key activities and entertainment though not to my taste. These comments on the hotel itself reflect this reasonably priced package, so don't expect five star facilities at three star tariff! Here goes...........
* Hotel location suits those valuing wide vistas but limits walking opportunities to a dull descent to nearby shingle cove and an hour-long, up-and-down hike to Salobrena suburbs.
* Exterior and surroundings require tlc in some areas. Pool was being renovated during our stay so central amenity area was out of bounds in parts, however weather did not encourage lounging out for long - except for towel wrapped hearties.
* Reception area all right with plenty of corners for reading and socialising bearing in mind that hotel was less then half full.
* Bedroom somewaht bare with dated decor and fittings; bed and bedding fine; lighting low for older folk; flat screen tv with 15+ channels in 6+ languages; bathroom suite has lost its gloss; bath marked in places with some mildew behind corner caulking; efficient shower..
* Restaurant has splendid setting and is well run but service tends to be reactive at times. Acceptable choice from the buffet: predictable if monotous salad bar, 3-4 meat dishes, 1-2 fish offers, tasty vegetarian choices for starter or main course, several desserts including a hot sweet, 6 wines generally on offer including sparkler with breakfast - spectacular hair of the dog!
* Very well located for discovering local/regional culture in Alpujarras and Axarquia.
So, despite a few shortcomings, Saga+Salobrena formula generally very good for the price. Don't let the occasional negative comments noted here and in earlier reviews deter you from choosing this hotel if you can get an advantageous deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AltalCymru_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed 4 weeks on a Saga deal. The food very poor. My wife found her chicken was uncooked and they seem unable to cook fish. After first week I went down with food poisoning, although the Saga doctor to whom I paid 120 euros, on no evidence stated I didn't have food poisoning, I had, he said an allergy to certain foods. This was news to me after 68 years of loving all I ate.He put me on a diet.For the remaining three weeks I was confined to the hotel and didn't recover until I got home.Saga say there is no evidence it was food poisoning, perhaps the Dr should have carried out some tests! At home no sign of the food allergies!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

First of all if your an easy traveller without any big demands or family that look out for a affordable stay. .. im sure this stay will suit you well. Its a compact resort style hotel with a larger pool and 2x sun terasses. The Pool was being remodelet at the time of our one night stay. The rooms are upgraded with some more updated furniture and the beds where comfortable for a good night rest. Now the view from the balcony ( lower building ) to the sea is simply wow factor amazing. with a sunny balcony already in the early morning. We stayed during March and the Hotelwas full of elderly visitors from the U.K. we had the feeling we where stuck in a retirement home ( God bless. . no mean to be discriminating) but being the youngest one with 40 years feels strange. According to the friendly and helpful lady at the reception during summer the Hotel is Buzzing with kids and young visitors. The food could and should get some more attention. Breakfast felt like being in England choice wise and coffee was terrible. .. really......
If the Hotel would invest and refurbish and restyle all rooms it could become a real gem and benefit the location.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor at the end of the corridor room. .... the choice is yours for a sunrise view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furrydandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
4.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
1,018 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
6.1 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#10 of 24 in Almunecar
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#6 of 24 in Almunecar
689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
4.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salobrena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salobrena

Address: Ctra. Malaga-Almeria Km 323, 18680 Salobrena, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Price Range: $47 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salobrena 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salobreña is situated on a headland with spectacular views of Salobreña and its beaches. Peaceful, unspoilt location situated at 3 km from the village of Salobreña.1.DOUBLE STANDARD ROOM: rooms with two single beds (90cm), complete bathroom with hairdryer and magnifying mirror, satellite TV international channels, telephone with answering machine, safety deposit boxes which are available for hire. There is central air-conditioning, warm or cold depending the season , most of the rooms have a balcony and view to the sea. Only some of the rooms have a queen size bed.2.DOUBLE CLUB ROOM: rooms of higher standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salobrena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salobrena Hotel Salobrena
Salobrena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing