We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner makes your stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Palomares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Palomares
Ranked #3 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Owner makes your stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a room with the window looking out over a small patio. It was quite which was great for our baby. In the morning we had breakfast, simple but good. There was always a chat with the owner in half Spanish, half English. It was fun and we could appreciate his way of communication. Jose Luis helped us with some information about restaurants and travelling info.

Room Tip: In the back rooms are quit when travelling with a child. On the first floor you have a patio to read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowmilesapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
56
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hostal Palomares. The owner was so friendly and welcoming, much appreciated thank you! Our room was lovely and bathroom clean. We did have a problem with a blocked shower, but that was quickly sorted without a problem. I always think that how a hotel deals with its problems, rather than the fact that the problems exist in the first place, is what matters!! Would stay here again without a problem, thankyou for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senorita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Hostal Palomares and could not have wished for better accommodation. The Palomares is a small, very traditional guest house, which is spotlessly clean throughout and very comfortable. The owner, Jose-Luis, is an amazing host. We were welcomed like old friends and nothing was too much trouble for him. He did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. He lent us books on the local area, including some amazing walks in the Sierra Nevada to suit all capabilities. Our room was very comfortable, and had a lovely terrace. Breakfast was hearty and extremely fresh - an excellent start to the day! We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PLJShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night and were made very welcome by our host who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Our room on the fourth floor was very clean and smart and had a nice terrace with great views. We had tapas at a bar recommended by the owner and were not disappointed. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Amongst other things we were served a platter of fresh fruit which was delicious. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I have just spent six days at the hostal Palomares. We arrived late evening after nine thirty to a welcoming smile from Jose.
We were shown our room (which was lovely) on the fourth floor. It had a small kitchen and a door which led onto a terrace which had lovely views across Salobrena and to the snow topped mountains.
Breakfast was served every morning between 8.30-10.30, a really nice start to the day. During one of the nights spent
there we had quite severe rain fall. Just as we were going out to eat Jose appeared with a rather large umbrella, a really thoughtful man.
If we ever return to Salobrena in the future I will not hesitate to return to this wonderful Hostal!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

So I booked this hotel based on the strength of its good reviews. Jose Luis , the owner, was wonderfully friendly and welcoming from the start, despite us arriving after ten pm! We managed to cross the language barrier with broken Spanish and English to communicate fairly well, he was able to recommend places to eat and to give us directions. He likes to chat! Breakfast was very simple toasted fresh bread jam cheese or Ham and fresh oranges but it was nice actually!

We had a choice of rooms as I think we were the only guests and he was accommodating and allowed us to switch to a twin room instead of a double.

Our rooms were super clean, and modern. We were freezing cold the first night tho due to bad weather but we told Jose
Luis about this and the next night he turned on the heating. Even when we lost our keys and had to wake him at midnight, Jose still smiled!

The town of Salobrena is ok, we constantly got lost so that put me off, however its a good base for everywhere else.

A nice family business which was passed down from his mother, his siblings all live nearby. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ZoeEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hostal through Expedia at quite short notice and also checked with other reviews in Trip Advisor. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment, as it is very clean, you get free wi-fi, parking in front of hotel on the street and free breakfast. Rooms fitted with en-suite shower and TV,although the rooms are not huge that does not detract from the overall value offered. The owner Senor Jose Luis is an extreemely nice man and will help with anything at all like beach towels or extra pillows, restaurant recommendations etc,. Jose speaks English, but if you also have a smattering of Spanish it works out pretty well. I would recommend this very friendly hostal. We stayed for 6 nights and there is plenty to see in the area, such as Granada, Al Hambra, Almunecar, Sierra Nevada mountains and Alpujerra region. All these areas with 1 to 1.5 hous' drive from Salobrena, which itself is a lovely little town and worth a day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: Rooms face front street or back of property. We had no problem with noise with our street-facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lfc4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena
2.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Hostal Jayma
Hostal Jayma
#2 of 6 in Salobrena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Juan
Hostal San Juan
#1 of 6 in Salobrena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Palomares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Palomares

Property: Hostal Palomares
Address: Lugar Fabrica Nueva 44 Junto El Mercado Nuevo), 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Palomares 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Costa Tropical in Salobrena and the province of Granada. If you are looking for a place to enjoy the sun on the beach or to take advantage of a variety of sports like golf, hiking, underwater sports, skiing, horse riding or if on the other hand you are looking for a quieter, cultural holiday, tasting new and interesting food from other places, then Salobrena is the place to go. Of course, to enjoy it all you will need a peaceful place to relax in a good location. A welcoming place with all kind of services and facilities. A place with history which at the same time offers you the quality holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Palomares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing