We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel overlooking the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wandering around Spain we stopped in Motril for one night en route to Estepona. Lovely rooms, comfortable, clean, and wifi available everywhere. I think we paid 60 euros but didn't book. Great swimming pool next to the hotel. They spoke English which was helpful, but not necessary.

There's nothing in Motril itself apart from a very good tapas bar and restaurant which was 5 minute's walk turning left outside the from door of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrystiannehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 595 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

One night stay here during a motorcycle trip, The hotel has large airy rooms that were very clean and comfortable.
They place does look slightly tatty in places but nothing that would be a problem. Staff very helpful, food was also very good.
I'd happily use this place again.

Room Tip: Can't help here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really don't know how this can be a 4 star hotel. The staff we found were unhelpful and rude, the hotel itself is old and very dated. The pool area was dirty, I wouldn't actually go in the water it was so bad. As for Motril itself I wouldn't recommend going as there is nothing of any interest there, the beach was pretty awful too. We drove to Salobreña and found it was much nicer so would recommend looking for a hotel in that area if you want to visit this area of Spain. We won't be going back to this hotel or Motril again. Couldn't wait to come home after staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_82_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a four star hotel although it feels more like a three star. However, the price and location are very good. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean. The extra 6 euro per day for the parking was worth as on street parking is not easy to find plus the car will stay in the shade at the hotel´s parking lot. On the contrary, I´m not sure it is worth to pay the extra money for a sea view room as there are some shabby garages/units between the hotel and the beach which slightly ruin the view. The breakfast was ok, not a superb quality but varied and tasty. All in all, if you don´t expect the luxury of a 4-star hotel and are happy with the quality of a 3-star one, this hotel will be a good option.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Young_couple-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had been staying at Sierra Nevada for skiing for 4 days and wanted a 1 night stay before continuing to Marbella for the rest of our holiday. We found the hotel very comfortable although the surrounding area was a little strange with a modern promenade and huge expanse of sandy beach but no-one about. I think maybe we could have found more if we had explored, and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dickharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We first stayed in this hotel in June 2010 and gave it a great review on trip adviser , we stayed again in may this year, all was good apart from the reception staff , three girls at the desk were the most surly, unhelpful and aloof hotel staff that I have ever encountered on all my
travels. What a pity all the other staff were great.
b

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

great location rooms comfortable and clean, freindly staff,good value

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motril
1.4 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
8.9 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
965 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estrella del Mar
6.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Almunecar
1,818 reviews
11 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 6 in La Herradura
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Motril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Motril

Address: Lugar Playa de Poniente S/N, 18613 Motril, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Motril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motril
Price Range: $67 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Elba Motril 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Motril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Motril Spain - Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing