We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Spanish-focussed, too disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Came here to rest after a round trip in Andalusia last september. Unfortunately the Spanish people were still celebrating their holidays. And they wanted everybody to notice... It was still THEIR hotel. They behaved very loud, rude and greedy. Raiding the buffet, demanding every waiter's attention, yelling to each other from one side of the hotel to the other and so on.
This was nothing like we've seen on our round trip! The people we met were very friendly and willing to help us whenever we needed something.
Fortunately, our last 2 days were tranquil, since the Spanish' holiday had passed..

Apart from that, the hotel wasn't that satisfying at all. Food was repetitive (and we had to fight the Spanish for it).
The swimming pool was dirty. I wore a white bikini when I got in, but had a green one on when I got out.. The water was just stuffed with algae!
Staff wasn't friendly and only a small fraction of them spoke English or took an effort to it.
But the most frustrating thing to us had to be the distance we had to walk to get to our room! We were located on the 5th floor, on the other side of the hotel. It took us 15 minutes and 2 elevators to get to the café, pool, restaurant or reception.

All inclusive alcoholic drinks eased our pain. Too bad we couldn't enjoy it together with the promised animation. This turned out to be an improvised Spanish farce.

Altogether, we don't recommend this hotel. It is too Spanish-focussed and you don't get the service you deserve

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank critigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Playacalida Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went for a one week holiday. The hotel is at a really nice location but the city next to it (Almunecar) is totally dead. So if you just want to lay by the pool and do nothing and you speak spanish, than it is the place for you. Otherwise... stay away!

The beach is in walking distance (10 minutes). The water at the closest beach was kind of dirty but another ten minutes walking (sorry, climbing thorugh rocks) and you arrive to a nice beach!

The pool in the hotel is cool! You can see the whole bay when you're haveing your little body in the cool water. Now that was kind of a flash...

They have a so called animation, which was terrible. It is only for kids, but it was so stupid, it was even humiliating to watch.

The food offered was average. I've expected more spanish specialities. The waiters did not all speak english (I mean basic english, there were some who did not understand the word wine...).

If you want to visit famous cities in Andalusia you need to travel hours (yes! 2-3 hrs. Malaga is 1 hr. Almunecar has almost nothing. You can do it in 2 hours and you have seen everything).

I guess this place is designed for spanish people who want to do nothing but just relax by the pool!

So think twice before you book this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bumbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We have just returned from Playa Calida - unfortunately I have just read similar reviews, in that the food was basic, the same every day, and dished up for the masses without little thought for the 'customer'. The staff were not very helpful, and never went out of their way to help or be considerate (it was just a job for them !). The swimming pools were super, but I can only cringe at the cleanliness of them (don't put your goggles on and go under water - you'll think you've just shared the pool with the local sheep dip farm !!!).

The entertainment was the worst we've seen, we went out most nights to some nice local areas (Nerja/Frigliani/Almuneca) - to be honest this hotel was being run on a shoe string budget, it was obvious, with the 'punter' getting a raw deal.

If you're used to Pontins holidays then you'll be fine. If you expect more then avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Northowram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Hotelrooms are spacious and ok. we had room with seaview which was nice. The food in the restaurant was terrible, no taste, cold, not well prepared and old (blue boiled eggs, old croissants etc.). Staff was not really friendly and looked like they where just paid to do their work without the additional smile, or a friendly hello. Pools where nice but not cleaned very well and bird poop on edges of outdoor restaurant stayed there for days (or maybe weeks as we left). We (as other guest we spoke to) would not recommend this hotel as you can get for sure better value for money at other locations.
Beach was closeby but there was a lot of plastic and other garbage in the water.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank like2travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Spent a week at the hotel all inclusive. At first, I was worried that the hotel is up on a cliff instead of right on the beach, but after seeing the views from the swimming pool on edge of the cliff - WOW !!!
Food was ok - typical buffet stuff. Drinks were good. The entertainment was a bit cheesy - but typical.
The winding river pool, slides, etc were great.
Make sure you get a rental car in advance, there is not much near the hotel, but all the major cities and sites are an easy drive away.
Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank American_abroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I come out to Spain quite regularly on business and have stayed at many of the hotels in ths area. My stay at this hotel was exceedingly short (1 night) and it was good.

The room was large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It's also very handy for the beach - although sadly I didn't have time to make use of that.

The lifts however, were rather slow, particularly for those on the higher floors. The food, as will all hotels of this ilk in this part of Spain, was all rather greasy.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Wonderfull swimming pools and gorgeous views!!
At the buffet meals watch out the quantity of food you eat, because it is very easy to over eat!!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SofiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.6 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
649 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#11 of 24 in Almunecar
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacalida Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacalida Spa Hotel

Address: Urb. Torregalera, S/N, 18690, Almunecar, Spain (Formerly lti Playacalida Spa)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Almunecar
#2 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range: $63 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacalida Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granada's Costa Tropical is characterised by having a warm climate all year round, abundant natural resources, kind, friendly locals and excellent connections with the rest of Andalusia and the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playacalida Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playacalida Hotel Almunecar
Playacalida Hotel Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing