We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victoria Playa
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

we stayed 1 night here and as you can see we found the hotel very very good and catyered to all our need , my wife is disabled an they were very help-full and made sure we had the correct type of room to sute her needs .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    113
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
106
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Victoria Playa is tucked away from the main distractions of the resort and benefits greatly from its near perfect location. close enough to be close to pretty much all Almunecar has to offer, but not so close as you cannot remove yourself to the sanctuary of the hotel when required.
Our room was perfectly adequate for our 10 day stay, and was spotlessly clean when we arrived. It was kept spotlessly clean by an excellent and very thorough cleaning regime and some fabulous cleaning staff.
The entertainment offered in the hotel is "dated", though mercifully it is generally over by midnight. It was however very popular with the spanish pensioners who form the backbone of the hotels customers.
The evening meals on offer are not the best we have ever had, but 1 review described the meals as basically several versions of chicken. This is not the situation we found. Lots of excellent salads are on offer and each evening meal had a variety of fish, meats, poultry and at least 1 vegatarian option although the buffet (all you can eat) style of service was off putting at first. Breakfast was served in a similar style, and did include bacon, egg and toast (great british breakfast staples) as well as all that you could require for continental or fruit based breakfasts. The bar service is terrific and the waiting staff are keen to do all they can to help.
The pool was small for this size of hotel, but on the whole the spanish didnt really use it and so we found that there was always a suffiency of sunbeds and plenty of room in the pool.
The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi throughout, but this is only really available on the lower floors as the signal strength is poor above the 3rd floor

Room Tip: rooms number ending 01 have larger balconies, and pool side rooms are cooler in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ianj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have just stayed 5 days in this hotel and I am quite satisfied. The only real downside was the beds. They were too hard for me and I sufferd a back ache through out the stay, something I normally do not do.

The room was of good size, so was the bathroom. The balcony actually had sea view in the distance. The balcony is also built in a way that makes it possible to keep the dor open all day and night. You do not have to worry about anyone getting in.

The rest of the hotel is quite nice, clean, friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant was exellent and we also liked the small bar very much.

We could have wised the hotel to be a bit closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mengha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for 1 week in August 2011 with my 10 year old son. It was the base for an activity holiday based in the surrounding hills and coastline. Only a 1 hour drive from Malaga airport, Almunecar is a nice little town. Not too busy or overdeveloped like some of the others on this coast. The hotel itself was nice, clean and functional. Not 5 star luxury by any stretch of the imaginiation but for this type of holiday when you don't really spend too much time at the hotel it was ideal. Almunecar, as a resort , and this hotel is one favoured by Spanish families so if you don't like being surrounded by Brits while on holiday this could be ideal. Hotel food was OK , buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I must admit I would have soon got bored if I was eating in too often so was glad to be out and about most lunch times and there are plenty of nice Spanish, and other resturants, within walking distance for dinner.
Depending on the activity we had planned we got back to the hotel in the late afternoon or had a morning by the pool before heading off. The pool was nice and due to the fact it is locked and not open until 10am .....there's no towels on sunbeds at 6am. Only downside was the pool was built facing East so by late afternoon the pool and most of the beds were in shade which was a shame as was the best time to be there chilling out.
All in all a good stay, the staff are friendly, rooms were clean so not much to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I spent 10 days based at this hotel in mid November participating with the Imserso Spanish resident pensioner breaks that are organised throughout Spain.
The hotel was excellent. Large en-suite bedrooms kept immaculately clean and all rooms have balconys. Room walls are thin so your luck depends on any noisy neighbours, but we were lucky. The TV was small and aging and only has Spanish and German programmes. There is free WiFi if you bring your laptop/notebook, and pay PCs in the common area. All the staff were welcoming and helpful. English is spoken by receptionists.
In general, food in the large restaurant is buffet style with sufficient choice to suit most tastes. It seems usual practice to heap as many choices as you like onto one plate – so join in, and trays of food are quickly replenished when they run low. Considering the high volume of guests, food quality was surprisingly good at most meals. Food tends to be lukewarm as is common to almost all hotels in Spain, but on the last two days the fried eggs at breakfast were positively cold.
Entertainment at this period of low season was geared towards Spanish pensioners – they enjoyed it – personally I am an aging rocker. As the entertainment is located at basement level, sound does not permeate to bedroom level and stops anyway before midnight.
There is a good outdoor pool with plenty of sunbeds, just a little chilly at this time of year. The beach is one block away and is grey gravel and pebble throughout this area. It is a pretty location and has a border on three sides with a huge chirimoya (custard apple) plantation. It is a 15 minute walk into the town centre but there are a few shops en route that sell English newspapers if you must have this fix at inflated prices. The castle is worth a visit for the views – but the history museum is hardly worth the effort containing just a few shards of broken pots; entry fee to one also covers the other.
There is limited free car parking directly outside the hotel and pay parking in the basement at €12 per day. It seems perfectly safe outside. Overall the hotel was well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Better views from upper floors in rooms with odd numbers - they view towards the town and castle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed 4 nights but were tempted to change our plans and stay longer, however sorting hired car and trying to re-arrange next hotel put us off.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, beautiful pool and surroundings, super views of old town from balcony fabulous food, very pleasant staf etc etc etc.
Would love to return to Almunecar and would definitely stay at the Victoria Playa if I ever do.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Victoria Playa. The rooms are basic (no tv, tea/coffee facilities etc) but very clean and nice. The staff at the hotel and very helpful and the restaurant staff love the kids! Food was excellent, best we've had in a hotel. Can get towels from reception for pool so saves packing space! Entertainment staff are superb. Lovely beach just 1 min walk away. Would highly recommend. Not much outside of hotel apart from a few restaurants but hotel catered for everything we wanted anyway. Only downside was the lifts - only 3 and if you need a life (eg wheelchair or buggy) then you may wait a while. Can hire a fridge for your room too. They have a laundry room with washer/ dryer & iron and board too. We hired car and went all round the island which is recommended. Check whether hotel are running kids club for 18-36 months as advertised in brochure though as when we got there it was cancelled and we had to entertain our 2.5 year old!!!

  • Liked — The hotel entertainment/ staff
  • Disliked — The lifts !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
#14 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria Playa

Property: Hotel Victoria Playa
Address: Avenida Amelia Sanchez de Alcazar s/n, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing