We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION - BETTER THAN MOST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helios Costa Tropical
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Didn't know what to expect when we booked but was pleasantly surprised by the hotels cleanliness and the friendliness of the reception staff and in fact all the staff. The location is great, a good safe area and very pretty, no beggers, don't expect golden sands though the sand is black. This was a budget holiday with Saga, we opted for full board the lunches were always better than the evening meal, the food is perhaps its let down, the food was cold and very repetitive some days it was good but mostly overcooked and cold, would come back but would opt for B and B if poss. Another niggle was the fact that although you can sit where you like for breakfast you have to conform and are given a table to sit at which you must adhere to for lunch and dinner, this means if there are two of you then you could be stuck with two other grumpy's for both lunch and dinner throughout the holiday.The hotel entertainment was very much like a bad holiday camp of days gone by luckily we met up with a good bunch of people and we decided to join in once the spanish knew we were game for a laugh we were accepted and it made a pleasant friendly holiday. The Flamenco night was good but went on for over two hours and we could not get up to buy a drink they certainly don't push you to buy drinks.
Word of warning if you go out on to the balcony of your room DO NOT CLOSE the patio door behind you as there is no handle on the outside and it is impossible to open, if I hadn't had my friend with me, I might still be there now. Saga did not live up to its reputation on this holiday as the trips all seemed to be on the same day, Thursday, so we were left with other days where we had to arrange our own trips we missed out on quite a bit..No hairdryer in the room and no toiletries, so remember your own when you go. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness and location but not for the food or entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beejay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 933 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

Travelled with Saga Holidays. Would definitely visit this hotel again, and found it to be one of the cleanest and brightest we have ever stayed in. The old town, is just a short walk away, and the bars in the plaza were really good value, and very friendly. One bar in particular, the waiter named Juan went out of his way to welcome you every day. The name of the bar is Solimar Plaza cafe bar,Plaza Constitucion./ It is still a very Spanish area, and therefore, we really felt as if we were having a real holiday abroad, and not a touristy affair. Absolutely marvellous holiday, and the Hotel was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. We were happy with the room, it was basic but very clean and the beds were comfy. All the rooms have sea facing balconies which give good views. The roof top terrace is nice and was always quiet when we went up. There is a large swimming pool and a smaller "basking" pool which were well maintained. For those who like reading there appears to be an informal book exchange taking place wih residents leaving finished books and taking other peoples on every floor.


The hotel is well situated and is a short walk into the town, alternatively the beach is over the road.

We had a B&B package and found the breakfast to fbe very nice and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daveandfran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The Helios could be a good hotel. It has an excellent location, the bus into town stops almost outside the door, the food is more than adequate, the restaurant staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, and it has an excellent Saga rep.
But then there is the NOISE level and the explosive manager. ( NOTE These comments are based on a February stay; it could be different in summer.)
The problem was two-fold and it may be unfair to blame the hotel for the first.. Apparently the Spanish government gives its old age pensioners subsidised holidays at hotels with unsold rooms - so bus-loads of them are constantly arriving or departing. It is obvious that many have never stayed in a hotel before - they are amazed at the winking lights on the lift button panel. Nor have they ever had the chance to serve themselves from a buffet offering a choice of meals - so they take everything, piling two plates with chicken on top of fried eggs on top of salad on top of spaghetti...and so on, which quickly depletes the food available to other guests. Worst, nearly all 'speak' in harsh tones with a loud voice. In fact, they converse by shouting at each other. But the Hotel Reception adds to the bedlam at meal times by playing loud music from the ceiling speakers; their favourites are a wailing adolescent and a screeching alto-sax player and these are played again and again. The Spanish OAPs respond to this competition by shouting still louder. This racket sends diners hurrying from the room but when I appealed to the manager to turn off his compulsory music he told me I should not have come to his hotel (he was right, there!) but gone instead to a monastery and emphasised his point by shrugging his jacket over his head to simulate a monk's cowl. Of course you can escape the hubbub in the public rooms by hiding in your bedroom where you will find the Spanish OAPs next door have turned up their TV sound to maximum volume at which pitch it stays until after midnight.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Al-Rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Almost on the front in the lovely town of Almunecar. Beaches perhaps not the best but miles of level promenade for walking. Some roadworks going on near the hotel but no noise.

Don't go if you expect to to find "little England" you'll certainly know you're abroad but most staff speak good English.

Free parking in a locked enclosure nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Been at the Helios for two nights, it is a straight-forward three star hotel - not more and not less. Double room facing the sea - Was on the first floor, meaning you hear the live entertainment (orchestra and dancing) until half an hour after midnight. Room was clean but really nothing abundant. A tip is to go to the rooftop with quiet and pleasant sunbathing terrace. On the ground floor there is a smoker's lounge.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Frequentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#11 of 24 in Almunecar
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#17 of 24 in Almunecar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Costa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Costa Tropical

Address: Paseo de San Cristobal, 12, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range: $57 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Costa Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Helios Costa Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Costa Tropical Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing